We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great seaside location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Windsor House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Borth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Cas B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great seaside location”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Windsor House in Borth was a great seaside experience in a really lovely house. It ranges up over four floors so not for the unfit but well worth the effort. It is well equipped and nicely refurbished while still maintaining bags of the character of the old house. we really loved the fact that you entered off the main street through the front door but the back door led out to a small decking area and then straight down onto the beach. It was great for the dog and we went for good long walks every day. If you turn left out of the back door and walk to the end of the beach you can climb up a narrow path to the war memorial. The views from up there of the whole of Cardigan Bay are just fabulous. Take a walk out at low tide to view the tree stumps of a primeval forest on the beach - each one over four thousand years old. A few doors along from Windsor House is The Victoria pub which serves great food - but at weekends or in busy times you need to book. Within a short walk of the house is the train station with a regular service into Aberystwyth - and also to Birmingham New Street. Borth is a great place to unwind and blow away the cobwebs and Windsor House is a brilliant place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Downstairs loo/shower needs a refit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becs2401
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved Windsor House and so did our dog! So lovely to have a house that accepts well behaved dogs. Nice little utility for the dogs to stay and get dry!
We stayed for a long weekend and although the weather wasnt great we had some great times on the beach.
All the beds are lovely with high quality bedding, lovely treat to get into each night.
The house was spotless when we arrived and Shan was just great.

For a little place Borth has everything you need and is only a short drive to Aber. The house owners sent us a list of things to do which was just fantastic.

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca J
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect break with partner”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful, beautiful get away with my husband. We couldnt have asked for better weather and the setting was like an idylic postcard.

We will be back. Not one negative can be said about Windsor house, worth every penny and left thoroghly relaxed.

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanPickle...
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our third stay at Windsor house and as always an absolute pleasure the house was immaculate on arrival and ready for a great holiday. Can not wait to book for next year already counting the days. Gorgeous attic room fantastic views and falling asleep to the sound of the sea can't beat it.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attic room
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had glorious sunshine and it was wonderful to be able to watch the kids play safely on their own on the beach. The house was very comfortable and in a great location (opposite the ice-cream shop :). Can't recommend it enough!

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinamapp
1 review
“Everything you could wish for in an amazing spot”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from a short break here and all I can say is wow! Didn't want to leave. The position of the property is perfect being right on the beach. The house is huge with every little touch being catered for. The attic room especially is a real treat. The sound of the waves as you fall asleep are blissful. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montserra...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not many places like this”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Try it for yourselves!
After too many over worked weeks we arrived in Borth, funny place, like it was fifty years ago and entered Windsor House. Fantastic!
Let's just say it's home from home! This is clearly a well loved, well used holiday home, there is coffee, tea, olive oil, vintage balsamic, posh pasta, herbs, spices, ketchup! all with a help yourself and replace attitude, not precious, but great quality and friendly.
We were so relaxed within 5 hours, almost flatlining within 24 hours. Best nights sleep this year!
Thank you we shall be back

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.