We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Autum Break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Windsor House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
1st Floor sitting room
Bunkbed room.
Ground floor sitting room to kitchen.
Petrified Forest
Certificate of Excellence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Borth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave B
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Autum Break”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just got back from Windsor House Borth, and all we can say is WOW ! What a House !! My wife and I have been holidaying in Borth for years and always wanted to stay on the Sea Front and this house was perfect. Veiws from each floor are stunning and for October the weather was kind. Will be using this house again next year...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor R
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seaside house that provides everything for a brilliant stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from Windsor House Borth after a long weekend break. We were in a large party with age range of 18 months to 65 years and Windsor House and Borth provided everything we needed for a perfect holiday. The house is well equipped with excellent rooms with 4 looking out over Cardigan Bay, the house is tastefully decorated with a beautiful contrast of old and modern. The house is situated in the heart of Borth Town with access to great pubs, cafe's and quaint shops. If you enjoy golf, Borth Golf Course is a must play and the 19th hole is a friendly welcoming watering hole after a hard round.
Will definitely be returning to Windsor House and Borth hopefully for a longer stay.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G
2 reviews
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Have just spent four nights at Windsor House and it was wonderful.The location was amazing with the beach literally on it door step.The house is homely and huge with views that take your breath away.Not having to bring your own towels was such a bonus with three boys! Will be returning. If I had to make slight criticism it's that the house probably could do with a bit of tlc.Can highly recommend Ultra Comdia in Aber for fabulous food

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Hi Amanda
Thanks for your kind review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
I completely understand your comments on needing a little TLC, as you know Windsor House is a big old place and only 25 metres from the Irish Sea and sometimes we fight.... the sea and wind always win! Last winter we had the producers and directors of Hilterland the police drama that was filmed in the area for nearly nine months, this stopped our usual winter paint job. It will be done this winter, so please do come back and see us in the New Year.
Thanks again for staying and hope to see you soon
Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss Wend...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family weekend at Windsor House!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just arrived home from a wonderful long weekend at Windsor House with my sister and her family!What an amazing house!!Loved it!!We all felt so much at home there!What an impressive house!!Especially the top bedroom with the amazing views(from the bed,bath or throne!!),and the top quality duvets & bed linen,and piles of freshly laundered towels!!!Wow!!!The kids were in their element using the body boards & did plenty of surfing!!Can't fault Windsor House and will definitely be returning next year!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna R
1 review
“Fabulous house in a fabulous location!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is my fourth visit to Windsor House. It is so lovely and homely and just perfect for playing on the beach and the sea. Shan was great in sorting out the hot water issue.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Have just returned from the most relaxing family holiday. The house is absolutely stunning and views are out of this world. Loved waking up and going to sleep with the sound of the sea, loved eating breakfast dinner and tea outside on the decking, loved being 10 steps to the beach. Our little girl enjoyed pottering about on the beach while we had a cup of tea whist watching her play from afar! The house is gorgeous and very spacious set over 3 floors, the attic room is amazing loved bathing whilst watching the waves. The kitchen is well equipped. Location is great and ice cream shop directly opposite was a personal favourite with our 4 year old girl!! Spent every day on the beach, until 7 pm at night! We all had the most relaxing holiday and can't wait to book for next year!!! So in with Windsor house x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thanks guys. Secretly we do have another holiday home The Church in Oswestry, Shropshire. Very different to Borth, but a lot of fun!
Thanks for staying with us and please do come again
Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One would have difficulty finding a nicer property to rent!”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful few grey December days in this lovely house, It was immaculately presented, beautifully appointed and very warm and cosy despite being a very spacious house. Wonderful ,sometimes quirky artwork on the walls, a top floor bedroom from which one could watch the waves whilst lying in bed and French doors from the kitchen leading out to the decking and beach makes it very special. The fact that we were able to bring our spaniel was an added bonus. There is a great pub within a minute's walk and excellent restaurants in Aberystwyth. Highly recommende and we will certainly be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its unique situation and the way it is presented.
Liked least: You have to be fit if you want to climb the stairs to the top floor bedroom (but worth it!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing