We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and very hospitable. Thanks for a great stay :)”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Penryn B&B and Inns
Prenton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and very hospitable. Thanks for a great stay :)”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Definitely recommend this very old hotel, built around 1350... wow! If you are looking for somewhere good value for money this is it! Good breakfast included, great home cooked meals by Tracey landlady/chef... friendly, fun place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya198726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We rang to book just a room for one night with no breakfast as family live locally. We were rudely told they were too busy to discuss a price without breakfast. We've stayed before and it is convenient for us but management is miserable and rude. I would not recommend if you want a pleasant welcome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcatville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
In response to this mean review! Firstly never heard of this person but in saying that a gent phoned us at the Kings Arms asking for a price for one night only! for both him and I assume the bitter lady who kindly left this very unreasonable review! We told him the price inclusive of breakfast, the gent responded by saying they were visiting family nearby and did not require breakfast so could we do it any cheaper we gave the price for bed only! he continued is that the best price? We replied that unfortunately we could not as it is a busy period for us...and... the then response to that was to hang up the phone on us! We were not rude, you were! They obviously wanted something for nothing and the lady that left this review threw her rattle out of her cot when she couldn't get it... Sorry we do are best but some people like this rude, unreasonable lady! Ha! are beyond pleasing! Sorry to all our past and present guests, we never respond like this usually but we are not about to suffer fools - like these - gladly! P.S. thank you for taking time to leave a review madam, especially as you never even stayed...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penryn hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at the pub for two nights in September very pleased with the welcome from the staff and the locals lovely clean room £35 p.n with breakfast. There wasn't a en suite with my room not a Sind in the room but that didn't bother me in the slightest. Rooms are spacious and clean with tea and coffee making facilities and telly vision. Would highly recommend as I know I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

If I was grading this room on the room alone then it would probably warrant a rating of Very Good rather than Average as the room was clean, comfortable, very spacious and well presented with refreshments, TV and a decent shower and sink. It was also a good price (£30 a night without breakfast) and was surprisingly still available despite being booked only a month out for August.

You can tell there's a but coming, and they are two big buts. The first is that there is no en suite toilet (although my room did have a shower and sink) and so if that matters to you then you won't like it. However, two clean toilets are available just down the corridor. The second but is that because the accommodation is accessed through the pub you don't get a key to the front door, and so it is almost impossible to get to your room when the pub is shut. There's also effectively a midnight curfew as the owners of the pub go to bed once the pub shuts at night.

These pubs are a minor irritation, especially if you want a late night or want to pop back to your room in the morning. When I stayed there was one noisy night when a band was playing but it was all wrapped up by midnight so not too much of an issue.

So all in all. Very nice rooms (as long as you aren't bothered by the lack of a toilet), a very good price, a handy location (just outside Falmouth on the road towards Truro), and friendly staff. The only real downside is the accessibility if you want to come and go or plan a late night.

Room Tip: The rooms here seem quite variable in quality and noise levels, but if possible ask for room three a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penryn
1.3 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,082 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#11 of 23 in Falmouth
350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 23 in Falmouth
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 23 in Falmouth
282 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jacobs Ladder Inn
Jacobs Ladder Inn
#48 of 82 in Falmouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 3 Broad Street, Penryn, Falmouth TR10 8JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Penryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Penryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic town of Penryn, Cornwall the Kings Arms Hotel is not only a Hotel but one of the main Public Houses in the Town.The Kings Arms offers a full menu and is renowned for its Sunday Roasts.If you have any questions please contact us and we will be happy to discuss your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Penryn, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing