We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most quaint & gorgeous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Copper Canyon Riverside Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batopilas
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The most quaint & gorgeous hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Riverside Lodge in Batopilas on our 8 day trip to the Copper Canyon. This hotel absolutely just takes your breath away. Its decor takes you on a trip back in time. Each room is totally unique and has an old fashioned bath tub. All the rooms are lit with candle light and each room leads off onto it own little pateo. It is so peaceful and its quite hard to actually leave the hotel and explor the town. It is situated in the centre of town in walking distance to the town square, museum and local resaurants. The friendliness of the staff and excellent service made you fee right at home especially with the fresh brewed coffee in the morning. They even gave us a farewell party to Batopilas with live music, cocktail and great dancing. We were sad to leave this little treasure in the bottom of the canyon. I can definately recomend staying here to make your trip an unforgetable experince.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Celeste W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia E, Director of Sales at Copper Canyon Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
We are very thankful for your words, we are still keeping the Hacienda to its best for the enjoyment of our visitors. Martin and the rest of the Staff send you their greetings. I inform you that the road to Batopilas just got paved and it takes only one hour to descend from the top of the mountain to the bottom of the canyon. That means 1500 meters in only 16 kms. The views are still amazing and the winter's subtropical weater as nice as ever. Batopilas was also recognized as a Magic Town and that made all neighbours and residents very pleased. So, we just wanted you to have some news from our litle paradise. Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This would be the best hotel in Batopilas. From the moment you walk in the door, the serenity surrounds you. Every room is unique - there are no bad rooms. Yes, its a basic hotel, but in this part of the world its 5 star. Each room is individually decorated with interesting and historic tit bits. A coffee awaits first thing in the morning, and a warm welcome when you return.

The hotel knows how to look after weary travellers, and is like a home away from home!

Room Tip: If there is a festival going on, choose a room further back to protect you from the usual Mexican ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeschwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia E, Director of Sales at Copper Canyon Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Our most sincere thanks for your kind words. We just want you to know that Batopilas was recognized as a Magic Town, and that the road just got paved all the way down, one will only have the right time to admire Mother's Nature at all its grandeur. There are a couple of miradors along the descent. Our property is still kept as you left it, and we will be delighted to have you back in our little paradise.
Warmest Regards from Martin and the rest of the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Our two day stay at the Riverside Lodge and with Martin, the manager, was exceptional. The entire hacienda experience was very special and relaxing and complements the atmosphere of Batopilas. Don't worry about the extra cost which really isn't that much over regular motel rooms in Batopilas. The experience will remain with you forever.

I would also like to say Ivan and Yolanda at Tres Amigos in Creel were very helpful with our trip. Their information about the area and places to see and do were spot on. We rode our motorcycle down to Batopilas and their information was very valuable.

We were warned of security issue by everyone who has never been down there but I can say there was not one time or instance where we felt uncomfortable during our two week ride to the Copper Canyon area.

Scott and Laurie

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottandLor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia E, Director of Sales at Copper Canyon Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
We are very proud of a recent recognition to our beloved Batopilas as a Magic Town. The road to the bottom of the Batopilas CAnyon got compeleted, and without a doubht it is still one of the most spectacular in the American Continent. The descent takes only one hour, and the fun is till there; along with the gorgeous views one can only admire the magnificent natural scenarios and Mother's Nature grandeour. Greetings and Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

As many others have said, this is an incredibly special place, I doubt more than a few of these exist anywhere. The property is remarkable, I've spent several hours just wandering through it and enjoying all the little areas. As a landscape designer, I so appreciate the thought, and fun, and folly, and touches that have gone into this property. Just when you think it ends, there is another corner, or stairway, or sitting area, or special place. The rooms are ALL wonderful, all very unique. And I know, because we are the only guests here just now, and we looked in every single one. All the staff is so very wonderful, I've been touched by their care and attentiveness. If you love special places, something like you may never see again, this is the place. Oh, and it's clean, the bathrooms are very nice - ours is huge, the size of a regular room - the beds are very comfortable, and we could easily stay here a week to further enjoy this.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have the bath inside the bedroom.,. separated by wonderful 7' paneled walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank timetoexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, NM
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is one of the most beautiful small boutique hotels I've ever stayed at or seen. The ceilings in the salon are painted as are the walls throughout the hotel. The manager is attentive, the breakfast good and after a long day of hiking we were greeted with cold naranjito juice freshly sqeezed from fruit on their trees.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryHardage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapala, mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

It's a long and beautiful drive on a rough road to Batopilas. What a marvel to find the colourful Riverside Lodge and the most charming of all Managers. Martín Alcaraz Gastelum was always on hand to give us a wonderful stay. Caring to see that we made nice and safe excursions.
Gracias Amigo Martín

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zapomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Riverside Lodge is located in a deep canyon that takes a bit of effort to get to, but it is totally worth the effort. Batopilas is 5-6 hours on a long winding road from Creel, deep into the canyon and silver mining history. The hotel is really a grand casa set back in time with all the history and nooks and crannies to explore. It may be hard to reserve, but request this hotel through Tres Amigos is the best bet, rather than pay a 15 percent service charge though a site in the US, Martin, the host, was totally amazing, sending us on walks or rides, but then mysteriously being near the end of our route to see if we were fine. Settle into a claw foot tub full of bubbles and listen to the past in a room of antiques and fine linens. Total atmosphere!

Room Tip: Alberto upstairs with windows to the street and tub is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batopilas
0.0 mi away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#2 of 20 in Copper Canyon
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#2 of 2 in Batopilas
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel
0.0 mi away
Casa Margarita's
Casa Margarita's
#8 of 12 in Creel
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Canyon Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Canyon Riverside Lodge

Property: Copper Canyon Riverside Lodge
Address: Main Street, Batopilas 33400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon > Batopilas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Batopilas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Lodge in Batopilas is a 19th century restored hacienda. Batopilas, once a major supplier of silver worldwide during the late 19th century, was an opulent silver mining town.The shady courtyards invite relaxation after a day out on the trails. Guests can also relax and visit with friends in the elegantly appointed salon, filled with Victorian-inspired furnishings; crystal chandelier, hand painted wall stencils, gorgeous paintings and a huge ceiling mural are all reminiscent of a bygone Victorian era.Guest rooms are furnished with antique beds and claw foot tubs, and Moorish style windows look out into the cobbled street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Copper Canyon Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing