We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed!!”
Review of Hunter Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunter Homestead
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed in the Cottage over Easter and were very disappointed!! The cottage is very old and tired. Bed sags in the middle and is not comfortable. The cutlery falls apart when you use it and the glasses are chipped. The coffee mugs are chipped and not washed properly. they are seriously stained. It is like several construction shed stuck together with paper thin walls. When people are in the Homestead it is like they are in your backyard. Yelling and crying kids destroy the peace and tranquility of the place. Had to keep the curtains shut to have any privacy. We would not stay here again and would not recommend the cottage to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill1950_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed in the big house for a Day on the Green Weekend. Did not spent much time in the actual house as they have a big covered area out the back which is perfect for relaxing and eating meals. BBQ good and house comfortable. Owners are very nice and very accommodating. They were very generous with the supplies they left for breakfast, really plenty for more than one breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineAvalon_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was our second time staying at the main house at the Hunter Homestead and had just as good a time. The house is clean and tidy and perfect for our needs.

The Hunter Homestead team are great. They never hesitated to let us have a longer checkout time at short notice and their cleaner found a very precious piece of jewellery we had left behind.

Thank you Hunter Homestead :D

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We loved our stay at the cottage at Hunter Homestead. The cottage was clean and tidy, roomy enough for us and had everything you needed. The cottage also has a great verandah were you can sit in the sun and enjoy the surrounding countryside. We stayed for 4 nights while we minded our grandkids and they loved feeding the horses and having space to run around. The owners were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The bacon, eggs etc was a nice surprise and the lovely bottle of red that they gave us was beautiful. We would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Potato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just what we were looking for,ticks all the boxes & big enough to accommodate our large family group.
The breakfast provisions were a nice surprise, bacon & eggs etc & the complimentary wine was great.
The weather was not the best but the large covered entertainingt area kept us all nice & dry while we had our BBQ.
When we go away we look for a place that is clean & comfortable & doesnt break the budget & this place fits the bill, it is well equiped & located in a beautiful area this was a bonus, would definitely recommend this property as good value for money.
The bbest nights sleep I've had in years.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

First pulled up and my thoughts were , surely not. Broken pots , weeds growing in the gutters, untidy gardens and yard. Main entry was through the laundry. Kitchen was old and smelt damp. It had no atmosphere and was quite a let down. To be honest the second night I ended up sleeping on the floor more comfortable than the horrible trundle bed I got stuck with on the first night. I was looking forward to the "gourmet breakfast" which was Aldi bacon eggs and juice. So still disappointed. I certainly wouldn't recommended staying at hunter homestead if u have a taste or desire for quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tayannhar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I took a recent weekend trip to the Hunter Homestead with a group of girlfriends in search of fu n , relaxation and luxury.... well have to say the location was lovely and I had a nice early morning walk. The property itself is disppointing. Broken plastic pots, a broom propped at the back door, some mud swallow nests covering the back of the home and a welcome sign that was so old half the letters have fallen off. Yeah it was kind of clean but the kitchen cupboards were musty. I got stuck in a single bed and my friend in a trundle that was so uncomfortable she spent the next night sleeping downstairs on the floor and had a better sleep - seriously if you get a big bed you are lucky !! If you are fussy with decor then you will be disappointed with the dated 80/90's presentaion. Thank god the weather was good...

Room Tip: Get in early and choose a big bed !! The single , trundle and sofa bed are awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lovedale hotels
4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Cottages on Lovedale
Cottages on Lovedale
#10 of 16 in Lovedale
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Vineyard Hill Resort
Vineyard Hill Resort
#3 of 3 in Lovedale
17 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bluebush Estate
Bluebush Estate
#2 of 16 in Lovedale
157 reviews
5.3 mi away
Woodlane Cottages
Woodlane Cottages
#4 of 16 in Lovedale
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Homestead

Address: 348 Talga Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range: £89 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hunter Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Homestead Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing