We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful and approachable!”
Review of Hunter Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunter Homestead
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful and approachable!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here with a large group of friends. It was a perfect location and the house was very comfortable with all the facilities needed to sleep 12 people and cook up a big bbq. We did a wine tour during the day and the homestead was very easy for the shuttle service to pick us up from. The owners of this property were incredibly friendly and helpful with all our requests- even going to the trouble to find us a HDMI cable so the boys could watch a "very important" rugby game. We have stayed at the homestead twice now and will continue to book it for all our hunter valley visits!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterHomestead, Owner at Hunter Homestead, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing Hunter Homestead and good to hear that your weekend went so well. After your group was here we decided to put Foxtel into the Homestead so that no ' very important ' games will be missed.
Hope to see you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed in the cottage with 3 children and it was great. It was so peaceful and an escape from everyday life. The couch on the front veranda was perfect to relax and watch kids run around and feed the horses. There were adequate facilities to prepare breakfasts ( the provided bacon, eggs and juice were a nice touch), lunches and dinners. Close enough to local attractions but so secluded with great country views. We will be back, hopefully with friends to try the larger house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunthome, Owner at Hunter Homestead, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and review of our property. Hunter Homestead is now under new ownership we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Hunter Homestead is a dilapidated filthy house where no one should be expected to stay. The owner should be forced to spend a night there herself then the excuse of " not realising " or "new cleaner " would not roll off her tongue so easily. When we first arrived the smell in the house was overpowering so we opened all the windows which was a bad move as most of the screens were ripped and we soon had a massive insect problem. The windows themselves looked as if they had not been cleaned in 10 years and the screens were encrusted with dirt. Lamps did not work, plastic flowers covered in dust and spider webs hung from every corner of the ceilings. Our arms literally struck to the dining room table and the kitchen cupboards smelt of mildew. We cleaned up as best we could and loaded the dishwasher with enough crockery for breakfast. Then went to check out the beds. The main bedroom, blood stains on the mattress cover, urine stains on the mattress ( does the owner actually think people who travel don't check) bed 2 the window frame was coming away from the wall and there was a steady march of some kind of beetle from the opening of which the bed was close to. Bedroom 3 screen door was coming of its hinges and banged continually, bedroom 4, the window and screen were so filthy the occupant was going to sleep with her head at the foot of the bed. We all decided that we would rather sleep in the cars than spend a night in this so called " holiday rental " we demanded and got our money back. Thank you so much to the Mecure in Maitland for taking us in at 1am and overlooking our late checkout and shame shame shame to the owner of the Hunter Homestead for ruining our stay in the lovely Hunter Vally. I hope our overseas guests will remember the finer side of Aussie hospitality and not this disaster.

Room Tip: Do not consider staying here. It is filthy and dilapidated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 506Wilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunthome, Owner at Hunter Homestead, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property. We are the new owners of Hunter Homestead and plan to significantly upgrade the accommodation and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here recently with a group of friends! What a great location!
We were visiting the Hunter to see Bruce Springsteen at Hope Estate.
Hunter homestead is located in Lovedale but the concert shuttle bus stopped right outside!

The house was great, we stayed in the bigger house that fits 12 guests, and there was more than enough room for 6 of us!
The lady who runs this is so nice and was very helpful!
We were running late due to traffic and she was very understanding. She left us two bottles of red for the wkend! The fridge was also filled with bacon and eggs for brekkie!

If you want to stay in a relaxed environment with good facilities and a good location- this is the place for you!
Large outdoor area for entertaining and the place is perfect for big groups and family get togethers!
Great views from the house also!

Will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterHomestead, Owner at Hunter Homestead, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Amy,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Hunter Homestead. We hope to see you here in Lovedale again soon.

Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great location amoungst the wineries! Hunter homestead is perfect for group accomodation or families. The accomodation was very clean and spacious, plently of kitchen utensils. Large outdoor area for entertaining. Overall great weekend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 281TSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterHomestead, Owner at Hunter Homestead, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the Hunter Homestead. We hope to see you here in Lovedale again soon.

Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannering Park, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you want to stay in a relaxed environment with good clean amenities this is a great choice. This isn't the ritz but is great value for money . It's hard to believe anyone could criticise the cleanliness
or suggest any misrepresentation via the website which says it all,ie clean comfortable and affordable. If you want 5 star try the crown plaza and pay the price. Owners were full of local knowledge and eager to please in any way possible. We'll be back!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterHomestead, Owner at Hunter Homestead, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Robert,

Thank you for you wonderful review of Hunter Homestead. We hope to see you here at Hunter Homestead again soon.

Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 and loved the location but what you get is certainly not what is on the website! The photos were obviously taken at least 10 years ago which is possibly the last time it had a good clean! We didn't cook as everything was so dirty and smelled yucky! The bathroom is a breeding ground for germs - not good at all! if you're looking for fluffy white towels and crisp white sheets you're not going to find it here!
The property is on the market so perhaps the care factor has slipped? It could be really good after a good scrub, a lick of paint and replace the dirty, chipped crockery etc.

Room Tip: pay a bit more for something better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
2.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge
1.2 mi away
Bluebush Estate
Bluebush Estate
#1 of 15 in Lovedale
152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovedale Cottages
Lovedale Cottages
#2 of 15 in Lovedale
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Homestead

Property: Hunter Homestead
Address: 348 Talga Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Homestead Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing