We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lovedale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Truly relaxing”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We spent the long weekend at Blackwattle & had the most amazing weekend away. So much thought has gone into the cottages with fabulous views from every window while still maintaining privacy. Every possible comfort has been thought of from the cd's, magazines, through to the kitchen & heavenly bed.
Highly recommend the gourmet breakfast package with more than enough food for our 3 days.
BBQ & glass of wine watching the sunset from the deck at the end of the day was my idea of heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at blackwattle for our wedding anniversary.wow what a beautiful villa.the surroundings are so peaceful and tranquil.the villa has everything you could possibly need for your stay.the bath at night with candles looking out to the stars was beautiful.we did not want to leave, thankyou Amanda and Scott for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wofftam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
300 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have just returned from a 2 nights' stay at Blackwattle Retreat and I have to say that I'm sorry we were unable to stay at least 4 nights! Many thanks to Amanda and Scott for their amazing attention to detail - fires set, chocolates by the bed etc etc. This is definitely the best place I have stayed at in the Hunter and it was a nice change to stay in Lovedale!!
The breakfast hamper was absolutely incredible and I think we could have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner with all the food that was supplied for breakfast!
The kangaroos were a lovely welcoming committee and the stars were amazing - it's a long time since I have seen the Milky Way that clearly defined!
Our stay was a memorable one and I hope we will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It's very rare that you walk away from a weekend away with nothing but praise. Having spent last weekend at Blackwattle (29th/30th June 2012), I was so impressed with the quality of the accommodation. Everything was thought of, the fire was prepared, a wonderfull breakfast hamper and all the information available for what to do in the Hunter. We loved being at Blackwattle so much we ended up staying in at night and cooking. The views - just lovely, the frog pond - my favourite - the kangaroos - just fascinating to watch. I have been raving about Blackwattle since returning and hope one day in the future to return. Jane

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cabin was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you to all the wonderful people, such as Jane above, who have taken the time and trouble to write reviews of their stay at Blackwattle. We appreciate your feedback greatly and it inspires us to keep doing our very best. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay over the long weekend at Blackwattle and we were absolutely thrilled with everything. The views are lovely from all aspects of the cottage, we loved the log fires on the chilly nights and the deep bath. Thank you to Scott and Amanda for providing a truly luxurious retreat and a very memorable weekend for us. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We (two couples from abroad) decided to celebrate my 40th birthday
in the Hunter and we looked for a perfect place: quiet, central, high
quality, it should have it all. We stayed at Blackwattle for three nights and I
must say that all wishes and requests were met or surpassed big time. It
was a truly amazing experience and we enjoyed every minute. Very nicely
and tastefully decorated interior, super comfy beds, a fireplace, all
was spotless clean and tidy. The breakfast package was more than we could have expected: a fruit basket with a great variety of fresh fruit, lots of eggs, bacon and delicious Tasmanian salmon. Even a variety of muesli and yoghurt, as well as milk and orange juice was waiting for us in the fridge. The coffee and tea selection provided were excellent. The special request of a bottle of
Champagne in the fridge upon arrival was an easy task for Amanda. Even
the simple question about Internet connectivity at that place (I thought
"no way" as it is tucked away from the main street) triggered Amanda
organising a mobile Internet device within a day which allowed us to
check emails and use our iPad. That was a very pleasant surprise to us all. If you are keen to see kangaroos in the Hunter the Blackwattle Retreat is the place; the kangaroos were watching us from approx. 100 m and they allowed us to come close enough to take a few great pictures.

All in all it was one of THE most enjoyful holiday breaks we have ever
experienced, and Amanda and her husband prepared the groundwork for that
with their hospitality and their luxury cottage.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I go away ever May for our wedding anniversary and black wattle retreat has far out done any of the couples retreats we have stayed in thus far. You could not find better hosts then Amanda and scott and we wish them every success. The area itself on the lovedale side of the wine country was a very pleasent experince with all the people we meet in the restarants , cafe', choclate factory and cella doors being very helpfull and easy going. If I had to pick our favourite dining experience we would have to say Wandin estate bar and diner was a fantastic experience both for there friendly service and great food. It did not stop there the staff at the cella door were also very helpfull and friendly and will in the future only build on the success of that particular estate. Thanks again Amanda and scott for the great experince.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Great that you enjoyed the Lovedale Hunter Valley community. The Lovedale area is well known as the "heart" of the Hunter Valley for the friendly and personal service found throughout the area. We all work hard together to provide the best experience for all guests to this gorgeous part of Hunter Valley Wine Country. Your feedback helps to keep up the high standards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
6.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
10.8 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwattle Luxury Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwattle Luxury Retreats

Property: Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Address: 169 Talga Rd | Hunter Valley, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SET ON 28 ACRES AND A BOUTIQUE VINEYARD IN THE HEART OF HUNTER VALLEY WINE COUNTRY NSW AUSTRALIA, BLACKWATTLE OFFERS TWO EXCLUSIVE DESIGNER RETREATS. THE SUNSET RETREAT: The perfect place for a romantic escape for 2! Nestled in it's own private garden, the one bedroom Sunset Retreat is fully self contained and has a separate king size bedroom, deep soak bath and combustion wood fire. The large deck is the perfect place to sit and take in the sunsets and stunning views of the Brokenback Mountain Range. THE VINEYARD RETREAT: Beautifully designed to accommodate one or two couples, the two bedroom open plan Vineyard Retreat overlooks the Blackwattle vineyard and park like grounds. There is plenty of room on the large deck to chill out and watch the kangaroos or sip on a wine and take in the fabulous mountain views. Both Retreats are beautifully appointed and have king size beds with crisp quality linen. The kitchens have full cooking facilities, complimentary specialty teas, plunger coffee and condiments. Eco friendly bathroom products, handmade soaps and a bottle of Hunter Valley premium wine are all included. Blackwattle is an adults only venue and is located only 5 to 10 minutes from restaurants, cellar doors and all concert venues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing