We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley(Lovedale)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cessnock Motel(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Country Motor Inn(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tonic Hotel(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
74
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset retreatwatching the sunseteach eveningnative treesbreakfast provisionshunter valleycouples retreatdeck cafelocal kangaroosshort drivelast weekendanother couplestayed here for nightssunday morningbedroom cottageplace to staymargaret
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was an amazing place in the hunter valley.

Arriving at the property was simple, we were greeted by Amanda. Our accommodation was private and as the sun was setting we enjoyed our first evening overlooking the valley with beautiful wine from Blackwattle.

Overall The privacy, the accommodation and breakfast hampers were absolutely first class...We recommend Blackwattle without hesitation.

Y & M
Dee Why, NSW

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yas429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hi,
if you're looking for a romantic getaway to the Hunter, Blackwattle Retreats is the place to go! Accommodation is absolutely gorgeous and in a beautiful location.
would definitely go back and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corina897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

W are here for 2 nights and its very unforgottable memory..
We can enjoy the scenery while drink a glass of wine and watch the wild kangaroo... In front of our villa there is a vineyard..
The entire room was perfect..clean and cozy..
They provide a ipod deck so u can enjoy to listening ur own music..
The kitchen set is very complete so u dont need to go outside eat. U just cook and enjoy the rest of the night with the beautiful scenery of hunter valley.
I really love this hotel..
I hope can come to visit this hotel 1more time.

Ps : very queit and the hotel owner always welcome as from email. We cant even meet the reception or other people.
All is very prepared before we reach. The key is outside the house and they will give us the code to enter the villa.

Just the location is very difficult to find and u need to rent a car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of July and it was just beautiful. I had pretty high expectations after reading through all the reviews and it did not disappoint. The cabins were just beautiful and cosy, I could easily live there! Waking up to the kangaroos feeding of a morning, relaxing in the huge bathtub of a night, it was just what we were after - relaxation! Amanda was just lovely, very welcoming and the hamper she supplied was huge! We stayed in one of the nights & ate from it as there was so much food!! I definitely recommend staying here, located in such a lovely area in beautiful surroundings, it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katho03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad that your high expectations did not lead to disappointment with your stay. We try very hard to represent everything as accurately as we can and the best comments we receive are the ones that say it is even better than the website. (Of course we can't do anything about the weather which wasn't great while you were here!)

You are right about watching the kangaroos - there is something very relaxing about watching them feeding in the morning and at dusk. After 5 years here, they still stop me in my tracks to laugh at their antics, or to be amazed at the sight of a little head popping out of the mother's pouch to have a chew of the grass as well. Keeps us all in touch with the basics!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This place was everything & more. Absolutely brand new, beautifully decorated & such pretty little touches everywhere. We will absolutely be going back there again. Perfect for a romantic, secluded escape

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews