We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - Everything you could ever Want!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lovedale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing - Everything you could ever Want!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The place was amazing, exactly what we needed. Beautiful, luxurious cottage in a large paddock with no one else around, complete privacy in a great location. Food and interiors stunning.

The serenity of this place has to be seen to be believed, and the view is indescribable. If you want to get away from it all without giving up the little luxuries, this is the place. Hosts were also lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirstenevski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hunter Valley is pretty special if you like wine and food - which we do but If you find a place like Blackwattle then you will have arrived in Nirvana. Its a little more expensive but is well worth it. We had cottage two (there is only two) which is completely private and with a large deck overlooking the vineyards and kangaroos. Peaceful and perfect. I would happily retire there and enjoy every day. Small gripe would be no washing machine or internet but they are very very small gripes and I wouldn't hesitate coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Claughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, General Manager at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Nirvana does sounds very nice indeed - thank you for such a lovely comment!

We do indeed have complimentary internet connection for our guests, so I am really sorry that this fact seems to have got lost somewhere. It is mentioned on our website in the "inclusions" section and in the Guest Information Book. As it is a mobile wifi hot spot device, we put it in the retreat when a guest wants internet connection, as the device went missing once. We subscribe to an excellent service as we know how important it is when travelling. Washing can be collected by our linen service twice a week, or we are happy to deliver it for you if requested at no charge.

We hope you do get back to Australia and if so, we look forward to seeing you again and the mobile wifi will be waiting for you! Thank you also for the beautiful compliments in the guest book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee Why
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was an amazing place in the hunter valley.

Arriving at the property was simple, we were greeted by Amanda. Our accommodation was private and as the sun was setting we enjoyed our first evening overlooking the valley with beautiful wine from Blackwattle.

Overall The privacy, the accommodation and breakfast hampers were absolutely first class...We recommend Blackwattle without hesitation.

Y & M
Dee Why, NSW

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yas429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hi,
if you're looking for a romantic getaway to the Hunter, Blackwattle Retreats is the place to go! Accommodation is absolutely gorgeous and in a beautiful location.
would definitely go back and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corina897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

W are here for 2 nights and its very unforgottable memory..
We can enjoy the scenery while drink a glass of wine and watch the wild kangaroo... In front of our villa there is a vineyard..
The entire room was perfect..clean and cozy..
They provide a ipod deck so u can enjoy to listening ur own music..
The kitchen set is very complete so u dont need to go outside eat. U just cook and enjoy the rest of the night with the beautiful scenery of hunter valley.
I really love this hotel..
I hope can come to visit this hotel 1more time.

Ps : very queit and the hotel owner always welcome as from email. We cant even meet the reception or other people.
All is very prepared before we reach. The key is outside the house and they will give us the code to enter the villa.

Just the location is very difficult to find and u need to rent a car.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of July and it was just beautiful. I had pretty high expectations after reading through all the reviews and it did not disappoint. The cabins were just beautiful and cosy, I could easily live there! Waking up to the kangaroos feeding of a morning, relaxing in the huge bathtub of a night, it was just what we were after - relaxation! Amanda was just lovely, very welcoming and the hamper she supplied was huge! We stayed in one of the nights & ate from it as there was so much food!! I definitely recommend staying here, located in such a lovely area in beautiful surroundings, it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katho03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Owner at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad that your high expectations did not lead to disappointment with your stay. We try very hard to represent everything as accurately as we can and the best comments we receive are the ones that say it is even better than the website. (Of course we can't do anything about the weather which wasn't great while you were here!)

You are right about watching the kangaroos - there is something very relaxing about watching them feeding in the morning and at dusk. After 5 years here, they still stop me in my tracks to laugh at their antics, or to be amazed at the sight of a little head popping out of the mother's pouch to have a chew of the grass as well. Keeps us all in touch with the basics!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This place was everything & more. Absolutely brand new, beautifully decorated & such pretty little touches everywhere. We will absolutely be going back there again. Perfect for a romantic, secluded escape

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
6.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
10.8 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwattle Luxury Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwattle Luxury Retreats

Property: Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Address: 169 Talga Rd | Hunter Valley, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SET ON 28 ACRES AND A BOUTIQUE VINEYARD IN THE HEART OF HUNTER VALLEY WINE COUNTRY NSW AUSTRALIA, BLACKWATTLE OFFERS TWO EXCLUSIVE DESIGNER RETREATS. THE SUNSET RETREAT: The perfect place for a romantic escape for 2! Nestled in it's own private garden, the one bedroom Sunset Retreat is fully self contained and has a separate king size bedroom, deep soak bath and combustion wood fire. The large deck is the perfect place to sit and take in the sunsets and stunning views of the Brokenback Mountain Range. THE VINEYARD RETREAT: Beautifully designed to accommodate one or two couples, the two bedroom open plan Vineyard Retreat overlooks the Blackwattle vineyard and park like grounds. There is plenty of room on the large deck to chill out and watch the kangaroos or sip on a wine and take in the fabulous mountain views. Both Retreats are beautifully appointed and have king size beds with crisp quality linen. The kitchens have full cooking facilities, complimentary specialty teas, plunger coffee and condiments. Eco friendly bathroom products, handmade soaps and a bottle of Hunter Valley premium wine are all included. Blackwattle is an adults only venue and is located only 5 to 10 minutes from restaurants, cellar doors and all concert venues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing