We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Lovers Beware”

Sabor in the Hunter Dessert Bar - MOVED
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: SABOR DESSERT BAR Pokolbin - 2342 Broke Road, Pokolbin Thursday 10am-4:30pm Friday 10am-4:30pm Saturday 10am-9:30pm Sunday 10am-4:30pm Monday 10am-4:30pm Offering the Hunter's largest range of desserts from classical to colourful and inventive, paired with local wines and dessert wines. Indulge in our multi-award winning Portuguese Chocolate Mousse, Handmade Chocolates, Macarons and individual desserts such as the Red Velvet & Berry Cheesecake or Double Chocolate and Caramel Wave, in what will be a culinary experience you will not soon forget. Our dessert bar also offers a large range of gluten free alternatives, scones, croissants and cheese plate as well as barista made coffee to enjoy in our informal restaurant or to takeaway.
Cessnock, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Desert Lovers Beware”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a charming little café that serves coffee that is as close to perfect as you can get. There is always a huge problem when I go to Sabor...what to have!!! I am no the biggest sweet tooth out there but the deserts here are to die. This is a great place to go with a couple or a group (but if taking a group it is best to book as the seating is quite limited) the lunch menu is quite small but honestly you don't go there for lunch you go for the deserts. I make sure that anyone I have visiting from our of town gets a trip to Sabor. You really won't be able to resist the temptation of having a desert while you are there and then grabbing something to take home for later. Do not come to the vineyards and miss out on this little gem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    102
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you're in the Hunter Valley you simply have to visit. The choice is a bit overwhelming - the menu is huge, and going inside for a look doesn't help because it all looks incredible!
I had a caramelised nut tart topped with meringue. It was divine, but way to big to finish. My friend had a variety if macarons. They make every flavour from salted caramel to watermelon.
Check out their website and try to whittle down your choices before you arrive!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela_Wollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Best sweet indulgence in the whole valley. Their Salted Caramel is to die for! Definitely go here when you're in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LukeFullagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just deserts...”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have been there before some months back and we couldn't resist returning. In fact we have recommended this place to many people.

We decided to have a "desert brunch" and of course we were not disappointed - all of them were heaven and, if required, matching wines are available. At 10.0am, when they open, it was just a little too early. The tasting plate (5 deserts) was the best.

Having had this decadence the four of us purchased a variety of deserts to take home.

Conclusion - wonderful!

However, watch the opening times - Friday thru' Sunday only and opening at 10.00am.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gdas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“WOW!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Never have you seen a more expansive or delicious sweet feast, or more welcoming and friendly staff. What an amazing treasure trove you have created. Congratulations on such a pleasurable and innovative restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabor in the Hunter Dessert Bar - MOVED also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing