We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service”
Review of Emma's of Lovedale - CLOSED

Emma's of Lovedale
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Saturday lunch in the Hunter Valley. We prefer smaller operators because we like to support local businesses. Emma's restaurant is within the vineyard area but staying away from the big operators. Their venue is combined with the cellar.

Food is innovative and tasty, average about AUD 30 for a main. Food came quickly. Service is good too !

The owners are very accommodating as we only wanted a light lunch, ordered 2 mains for 3 of us and they are very OK with that.

Also they have a nicely decorated garden and small pond which is worth looking at.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FL360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Putting the Love in Lovedale”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Freidy is the perfect host: warm, inviting and humorous. The food is incredible for the price we paid. The Bavarian Pan was delicious and the Peach Cobbler for dessert is highly recommended. We also tried the Massaman Curry which was on the specials board - yum. I highly recommend you give this place a go and say hi to Freidy for me.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday with loved ones”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was the most amazing place to visit. The menu tempted all to try something different and everything was presented and taste wonderful. The service had just the right mix of humour and helpfulness. I can't say enough how good an evening we had and are already planing another visit..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“top breakfast”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful location, great food and fabulous people - especially the maitre d'. We sat on the terrace on a gorgeous summer morning and had it all to ourselves.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydneysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not able to dine there despite reservation”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We reserved for dinner on Easter Friday 1 week in advance. At 1 hour before dinner reservation time, we got a call to say our reservation is cancelled. It's just unfortunate we cannot enjoy the lovely dining experience others had. :(

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank monivros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emma's of Lovedale also viewed

Lovedale, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing