We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for couples” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good for couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in December 2010 on the weekend before Christmas and the whole of the hunter valley was pretty empty. The hotel was great. Comfortable beds. The only thing was the price of the breakfast buffet at $40AU pp was ridiculous for some cereal and powdered eggs.(essentially)

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the other rooms. Rooms looking over the pool would have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiec8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    645
    187
    63
    38
See reviews for
450
503
15
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Booked in as a conference from the 7th Feb untill the 10th Feb, i have nothing but praise for this venue that looked after us numbering in the hundreds. The Grounds are Immaculate and the two Bedroom Villas we stayed in were also in tip top condition. Food was always well presented on time and enjoyable. didn't have much interaction with the staff as we have a travel company making sure everything runs smooth, with a consultant overseeing everything, having said that there was always a smile on every ones face. If your looking for a great conference venue don't pass the Crown Plaza Up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post, and what a wonderful post it is!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Crowne Plaza experience whilst conferencing with us.
We strive to please all of our guests weather it be for a conference ,wedding or just to get away, each guest is important to us.
I have passed on your comments to the team, and they were joyed to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Excellent hotel, wonderful location, great service. Would highly recommend a break away to this hotel. The area is a great place to explore - with all the different vineyards you are spoiled for choice. From the moment we drove up we were looked after by attentive and knowledgable staff. Our room was in the main part of the hotel, with many other rooms/villas spread out over a huge area surrounding the golf course, and we overlooked the peaceful surrounds of the course and the swimming pool below. Neither of us are golfers but that stop us from enjoying our surroundings. Our king room was spacious and airconditioned with a balcony overlooking the golf course grounds - wonderful! We dined in one of the hotel restaurants, Redsalt - a top class restaurant overlooking the lit pool and golf course. Excellent service here too. We took a lovely walk around the expansive hotel grounds after dinner. The only disappointing part for us was the service we got from the inhouse Spa, even though just an enquiry over the phone asking about availability, the terse unhelpful girl on the phone couldn't have cared less - extremely disappointing after the fabulous customer service we got from every other staff member at the hotel. Overall a wonderful place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city - we will definitely be back to the hotel and the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thespooks1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Nice place, in beautiful surroundings but the it's the little things that remind you that this is accommodation in regional Australia.
We stayed in a Villa, but there was no coffee and no plunger (french press). The batteries were dead in the TV remote control, and the TV in the master bedroom was unplugged at the set. Each of these small things took a few minutes to figure out. Not enough to ruin the day, but just little hassles.
We had a large group in the bar late a night, and security was a little overbearing, standing right next to our table as if subtly telling us to leave.
We had our kids booked into the kids club, a great service, but we were running a bit late and the woman running it scolded us for being late.
We stayed here a year ago, and I arranged for a birthday cake for my wife, but the hotel lost the cake on the day, then found it as we were checking out. There were many loose tiles around the pool, which is icy cold. Little things like this make it 3 star. $38 for full breakfast is a bit high, but quality is good.
Housekeeping staff were terrific, but overall staff need more training.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dangermandownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear dangermandownunder.

Thank you for your feedback. I have just commenced as the General Manager of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley on March 13 2012 and appreciate you taking the time to provide your thoughts on your recent stay. I will certainly be addressing the matters you have raised as I am dedicated to making the hotel better for our guests.

Once again thank you for your very valuable comments. I hope we can persuade you to give us another opportunity in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were at the Hunter for a wedding so a few of us agreed to stay in a 3 bedroom villa. Villa was two stories, master bedroom and on suite at the top and two smaller bed rooms at the bottom floor.

Positives
• Spacious villa enough room for 6 adults to move around comfortably.
• Friendly and hospitable staff. After confirming identity they allowed guest who was staying with us to check in as they arrived earlier. We also had trouble with the air conditioner in one of the bedrooms. Staff turned up at 10pm to investigate and tried to resolve at that point in time.
• Adequately stocked kitchen with some cutlery, cooking utensils, a fridge, microwave, stove top.
• Beds welcoming, comfy, soft and didn’t smell. I’m particular about how bed sheets smell in hotels.
• Close to vineyards

Negatives
• No washing machine or dryer to do your own laundry
• Place felt kinda grimy. Although appearance wise seemed clean carpet and couch felt it needs a steam cleaning. My husband felt something sharp under his foot while walking across the rug and I could see blonde hair every where on the couch. None of us are blonde.
• Not enough couch seats to accommodate maximum guest numbers in villa.
• TV is small could be upgraded to a larger one
• Ordered room service one evening was surprised by the size of our meals for the price they were charging
• One of the more pricier hotels in the area

Overall a pleasant stay at the Crowne. Hotel is on a massive golf estate, accommodation is modern and relatively clean. I would recommend staying here if you want to stay some place that has some of the comforts of home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cestella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here for a 3 night work conference, and could not complain!

Everything at this hotel was top-notch, from service to the grounds. Food at every single function was EXCELLENT. My only complaint was that it rained every single day here :( Also the room service menu is quite limited if you're hungry late at night!

Heard a few people complaining about the beds, but I slept really well. Beds are somewhat on the harder side, which I like.

We stayed in one of the villas, which I would definitely consider booking for a non-work weekend. Would be great for 2 couples to share...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeebean818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed two nights at the Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley in a king bedroom spa suite with balcony. The room was immaculately presented and fitted the description on the website. The main foyer area is an interesting large rectangular shape with several areas provided (both inside and out) to enjoy drinks from the bar. The exterior of several of the buildings could do with some TLC however is not a major issue as yet. The dining room is situated at the end of the foyer with windows overlooking an expansive swimming pool. My wife and I had dinner at the Crowne Plaza on both nights and the food and wines were of a standard and price that you would expect. We had one round of golf at the Crowne Plaza course which was well maintained (although excessive rain had impacted several greens that were still playable but not up to the standard of the other greens). The front nine was far more interesting that the second nine that is a little more compressed and lacks the variety in design of the front nine. Overall I would rate the course at 6 or 7 out of ten but worth playing if staying as a guest. My most enduring memory of the establishment was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The attitude of the staff complemented the presentation of the establishment and I would not hesitate to return to the Crowne Plaza at a future date. Would highly recommend for couples.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller528992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing