We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed at Crown Plaza in May for a weekend. It was really nice. The room we stayed in was nice, clean and comfortable. If you are interested in wine, then Hunter Valley is the right place in NSW. The hotel itself is located near the wineries. I went for horse riding and had a great time.
We ordered the special BBQ which was delivered to our room and we had our own little BBQ on our terrace. You can choose to have it in the garden as well. I think the BBQ was a good idea if you prefer a quiet little dinner. The bar is nice and we had some drinks. Overall I had a great time and will recommend the Crown Plaza Hunter Valley to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    659
    191
    65
    39
See reviews for
455
516
15
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We've stayed at this Crowne Plaza (standard rooms) on a few occasions - it always seems to be the only halfway decent hotel in the Hunter that still has a room available. That said, every time I book a last minute trip to the Hunter, I kick myself for not having planned the trip in advance because again and again, I end up at this very subpar hotel.

Pros:
-if you rather not stay in a cottage (or pay $600-700 a night for one of the few luxe hotels) this is a somewhat decent middle-of-the-road option
-location
-pool/golf course
-hotel lounge is nice
-enjoyed the spa facilities
-breakfast is decent

Cons:
-poor value for money. I've never paid less than $350/night for a standard room.. while that isn't a great deal in Sydney, you would expect more considering what you get!
-lackluster rooms. I've stayed in three different rooms and besides the lackluster decor which is not a big deal (some rooms are nicer than others - perhaps some are renovated and some are not?), the rooms are not always clean! Last time I stayed it seems that our toilet roll had been dropped into some um, dark colored water... I rather not speculate...gross. We also had a problem with our television that they were not able to fix (despite the fact that they brought a technician in 3 times!)
-the concierge service was terrible --- the woman who served us last time knew less about the Hunter than we did --- very disappointing and not at all helpful

Overall, it's not the worst, it's not the best.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VintagePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Spent two nights in the three bedroom villa. Stayed with two other couples. Everyone said they would return again. Clean, modern beautiful setting overlooking golf course. Service was amazing from the front desk to night staff to breakfast staff.

About to have a late shower after a full day in the valley i noticed the shower arm was broken. My husband tied a hand towel to the railing and managed to keep it up so i could have a shower. I forgot to report it and after a big day out went to have a shower and noticed a new shower head had been put on. Fantastic service.

The breakfast was fantastic everything was there from omelette bar, fresh juice bar, pastries etc I was pleasantly surprised to find they had gluten free cakes wow. Cappucinos, lattes etc were all included in the price. One of the best buffet breakfasts.

The Gym was exceptional all the right equipment and new.

The pool was heated and probably one of the largest and nicest pools in the hunter.

We asked for a late check out and it was fine.

I couldn't fault the crowne i have been coming up to the Hunter regularly in the last 20 years and i found this to be one of the best. I commend management on a job well done.

I would recommend this hotel it has the complete package to make your stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miztraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I booked this for my boyfriends birthday weekend celebration, and it was the perfect weekend! We stayed in the Spa Suite, which is nothing short of amazing!
the room is huge, with balcony, 2 bathrooms, separate lounge, a full closet and a really nice spa bath! it was hard to get out, but when we did, we were greeted by an excellent service in the lobby bar area, as well as the restaurant.
the reception staff was also very friendly and helpful, and the concierge went out of his way to give us the best tips of what to do and where to go.
why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room July12. Apart from being great value for money, the crowne was clean, beautiful and just perfect for what we wanted (r&r + wine tastings). If you are looking at visiting the hunter and are happy not staying in premium cottages, then the crowne is for you. TIP - the buffet breakfast is incredible

Room Tip: We stayed in basic "premium" room and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
932 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Hunter Valley Crowne Plaza is different. The management and the staff are clearly trying to make this a different Crowne Plaza amongst the hotel chain. Staff were courteous and helpful at all times. Sadly, even though I had a lovely room, it was a late check-in and early check-out so I was unable to fully enjoy the ambience and the facilities. Next time, for sure. Breakfast was fine, and the decor of the hotel very attractive. The hotel is well maintained and modern.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Very nice and (seemed to be) new hotel. Good rooms, good restaurants, good service! Here is also a business center the guest can use free of charge with high speed internet amongst others. I don't know how much motels and other in this area costs but this seems to be a good deal and was a very nice stay. Walk-in for 2 persons with breakfast 200,-

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing