We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in the hunter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Short stay in the hunter”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Recently extended a stay with the family after a 2 day conference.

The positives:
- Rooms were clean, rooms comfortable and overall nice quiet stay in the Hunter.
- Staff very friendly and accommodating.
- Stayed both in rooms in main building and a villa with the family
- Check out and check in fast and efficient

The negatives:
- Breakfast on Sunday was hectic and although staff were fantastic - clearly could not cope with volume of people (25+ minutes for a coffee??).
- Also found Fridge off in villa when arrived so needed to move it out of its storage area and turn in on at the power behind before it was working.
- We tried to book into the Spa but was hung up on 3 times and asked concierge to get them to call us back and finally called back once we had left the room over an hour later.

Room Tip: Villas are spacious but make sure all amenities (like the fridge) are turned on when you arrive. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonocles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi Simonocles

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at our resort.

We really appreciate your feedback and were pleased to hear that you were happy with the cleanliness of the rooms, our staff and your check in and out experience.

I apologise that the fridge was not turned on prior to your arrival. This is not usual practice and have discussed with housekeeping supervisor who have raised this with their team.

I have spoken with the Tea Tree Spa staff regarding the delay in returning your call and we apologise for this.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review and I look forward to welcoming you back if you are visiting the Hunter Valley.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    684
    201
    68
    39
See reviews for
468
536
15
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This was my second weekend stay at the Crown Hunter Valley. Overall I found the service satisfactory, you don't stay here if you're after personal service there's just too many people coming through this hotel for instance we decided to have breakfast here and apparently they had to cater for over 900 people that morning, it showed. We had to wait a long time for our coffee to come, we also had to enquire about our eggs three times, there were other tables getting their food before us even though they came later, apparently it dependent on what you order. I thought it would be a first one first served maybe??? Seemed logical to me, I mean how can the cooking of eggs vary by half an hour....such long waits to get anything food, drink, toast, it was hard work, definitely not worth $40 per person for breakfast; the last time we came there were a lot of people hogging the sun lounges by the pool, by the end of breakfast all the chairs were taken, even though there was no one in the pool or pool area for that matter just lots of towels on chairs. But apart from the breakfast and the pool hogging the rooms are clean, room service reasonably quick, ok facilities and you're paying for the location really seems quite central to things.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hermyleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Hermyleen,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotel rooms not as clean as they used to be! Floor in the bathroom was dirty so we managed to change to another room further down the corridor and the floor in the bathroom was also dirty. I gave up after trying the second room and felt my complaint was not welcomed. At over $250 per night you don't expect dirty bathroom floors. Proper cleaning of the bathroom floors makes a big difference.

The other facilities at the hotel were very good.

Room Tip: Make sure hotel cleans bathroom floor properly before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHill994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi SHill994

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We work very hard to ensure that our facilities are superior and it sounds like we fell below your ecxpetations with the cleanliness of the bathroom floor.

We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights as part of a conference. I shared a two bed room, 2 bathroom apartment with another colleague and I was impressed by the room, hotel and amenities.

The pool looked great, however, I did not have enough time to go for a swim.

I would stay at the resort again if I was in the Hunter Valley

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi DR113

Thank you so much for your review of our resort.

Great to hear you were impressed with your room. The pool is amazing and unfortunate that you didn't get a chance to enjoy.

Once again, thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

stayed just one night with friend for winery trip, booked in a two bedroom villa and got upgrade to 3br villa as a platinum member. good hotel, nice villa. saw good deals for extended stay. $180 for 3br villa extra night.friendly staff, good range of facilities, will stay again

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JH_XU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi JH_XU

Thanks for your comments.

I am pleased to hear you were happy with our friendly staff, your villa and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First of all, the location is good, the rooms and living are spacious and clean. The kitchen is well equipped. The facilities are suitable for adults and kids. We all had a lovely time there.

I will definite return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hi Melisa0926

Thank you for your positive comment on your recent stay with us.

Its always great to hear such positive comments and pleased to hear you had a lovely time and look forward to your return.

Many thanks and regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our first stay at the Crowne Plaza for business trip
Excellent Room condition.
Nice, clean and quiet.
If you pick a room close to bar area may be a bit noisy.
Friendly staff.
Best buffet breakfast in hunter valley.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hi Avonus

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Great to hear you enjoyed the buffet breakfast as we try to please all our guests with a large range of choices.

Again, thank you for you comment and we look foward to welcoming you back if you are visiting the Hunter again.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing