We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off and very dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
brigette1972
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Rip off and very dirty”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

i was very disspointed to stay at this hotel. Firstly the service of the clean staff were so lazy it was unbelivable for the amount of money you spend. I have a 2 year old that needed a cot and the room was not set up and the girl came in after i called them and she asked me if i could set it up. ARE YOU SERIOUS sorry but i am staying at a 5 star hotel i would expect that they would do it.
The next day we went out for breakfast and was discusted at the price of breakfast $38 each. are you JOKING they think that they can get away with these prices. So we decided to go to a local cafe that served great breakfast for the fraction of the cost and it had great views of the country side.
The next thing that i was totally annoyed with we returned back to our rooms at 3.30pm and the rooms still have not been done. Again i had to call the housekeeping to have it done. SHOULDNT THIS BE ALREADY DONE. The girls turned up and what i saw was so DISCUSTING THAT I WAS READY TO PUKE.
THEY WASHED MY CUPS WHICH I HAD TEA FROM IN TEH BASIN IN THE BATHROOM WITH NO SOAP NOTHING. HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE SPAT IN THE BASIN FROM BRUSHING THEIR TEETH.
IT IS DISCUSTING DIRTY AND FIFTHY.
I HAVE TRAVELLED QUITE EXTENSIVE AND I TELL YOU I HAVE NEVER HAD TO CALL FOR ROOM DONE AND THE CLEANLINESS WAS DISCUSTING
THE GIRLS ARE SO LAZY
SLIP SLOP SLAP

if you want to have dinner at the red salt think again steak $40.00 and each side is $10.00 so by the time yo have a plate you will spend $70.00 without drinks. Sorry i am no fool.
i was going to book my work conference of 20 rooms here but i will be looking elsewhere
there loss.

Room Tip: just go to another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigette1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi bridgette1972

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve on the service that we provide our valued guests.

I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. I certainly empathise regarding the points you mention, especially the inroom cleaning. This is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the team.

Could I please ask that you contact me direct to discuss further either by email at david.bark@ihg.com or by phone at 02 4991 0917.

Again, please accept my apology and I hope that this hasn't put you off a return stay with us.

Kind regards
David bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    673
    196
    66
    39
See reviews for
462
524
15
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We had a king double room it was comfortable and roomy. Service through out was excellent. Dinner Redsalt was fantastic. It was wonderful sitting by the pool sipping Hunter bubbly. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thanks for your review Kim J and Happy Anniversary

So pleased to hear that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Hunter Valley.

Kind regards
David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight to attend funeral in the Hunter Valley. Booked two bedroom villa and very spacious and comfortable. I always ask for firm pillows at reservation and none provided. Crowne Plaza never seem to acknowledge elite status with IHG Rewards. Yes, you get a newspaper but as Platinum Elite members some other form of recognition should be given when a room upgrade is not available. Our villa didn't even have a couple of bottles of water or even a minibar to purchase same!
Dinner in Redsalt was pleasant though a tad overpriced and the staff were efficient and friendly. Perhaps they could train the breakfast staff! How difficult is it to get a poached egg order right and taking away an unfinished plate of fruit is just unacceptable.
Overall the hotel seems ok, but definitely some issues to fix!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ruvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi ruvtravel

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us.

Great to hear you were happy with the spacious villa. As a Platinum member we value your loyalty to IHG and we strive to fulfil your entitlements. As you may be aware all IHG Reward members receive free internet access throughout their stay as well as the daily newspaper, however free upgrades and late checkouts are subject to availability.

Minibars in our villa's are available on request only and I hope that this will not put you off returning to enjoy another stay with us.

Once again, thank you very mcuh for your review.

Kind regards
David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A lovely mini break. Try to go twice per year. Always great. feel as if I've been away for a week rather than a couple of days. Part of that feeling is due to the spa treatment/s - excellent.
Room was large. Comfy bed with great linens. BUT, this is now yet another hotel that has moved away from putting 2 sheets on the bed. I loathe only having a bottom sheet and having to sleep with the quilt over me esp in 35+C degree heat! I want a cool sheet covering me and then use the quilt if/when it cools down during the night. I also don't think it is particularly hygienic. I often wonder whether the quilt as well as quilt cover is changed with each guest. Doubt it. Housekeeping was in the next room, so went in and asked for an extra sheet. Given to me without a problem BUT no offer to help put it on the bed. Just chuckled to myself - had the same experience in Hong Kong but that was due to the language barrier not to the laid back attitude of Aussie staff. Only other problem experienced was the lack of supervision of children in the pool area, specifically the spa. 15 children of varying ages with a variety of toys and not one adult. Noise was horrendous esp when "Zoe" a 4 year old madam kept turning the spa on and off despite her friends yelling to stop. Not one staff member intervened. Not a relaxing atmosphere.
Other than this (and it was school holidays, so it was to be expected) the stay was fabulous as always. Bathrobes, slippers, comfy bed, free wifi, big TV, lots of channels, the Tea Tree Spa, big room, great bathroom with good amenities, terrific view of the hot air balloons hovering overhead in the morning, large pool and a delish buffet breakfast (included in package) with the papers. What more could you ask for. Heaven.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor on pool side so you can watch the hot air balloons in the morning. Midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thanks for your review n l e

I am pleased that you had a lovely mini break and that you feel it was a week rather than a couple of days due to our Tea Tree Spa. I will be sure to pass your kind words to the team in the Spa.

With regard to your request for a top sheet, it is not our usual practice that the guest make up their own bedding and this has been addressed with the housekeeping staff.

Great to read that you were pleased with the Spa, rooms, views, food and views and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another stay with us.

Kind regards
David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here on the way up to Brisbane, the room was spacious, clean and the bed comfortable. Unfortunately being Brits we did not take into account that it was school holidays so it was a bit hectic with children running about, but you could see this is a great hotel for families. We played golf and the course is in good condition if a bit slow at times. There is nothing open for dinner in the Hunter Valley on Mondays/Tuesdays/Wednesdays, so we ate at the hotel but apart from the air conditioning (too cold) the food was good. The staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceejay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi Ceejay t

Thanks for taking the time to review our resort.

Happy to hear that you were happy with your stay and we hope to welcome you back for another stay.

Thanks for your kind comments on the room, the beds and the food.

Once again, thanks and regards
David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom villa with friends for the weekend. I was surprised how large the rooms are. The staff at check in was great. The living areas are large and very comfortable. We had wifi that came with the villa. It wasn't a extra fee. Beds are so comfortable and villas are though out well with good storage and lots of hooks in the bathroom. We would love to come back at some stage when we are back in the hunter.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Kitkat071

Thank you for your great review.

So pleasing to hear that your enjoyed your stay at the resort and that you were happy with the layout and more with the villas.

Would love to welcome you back for another stay with us if you are visiting the Hunter Valley again.

Once again, thanks for your feedback.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Conveniently located, friendly and accommodating staff, enjoyed the food, caters adequately for 'free everything' food types, large room, light and airy, nice spa, huge pool, golf course, in fact, everything you would wish for in a family type holiday, except we were travelling as a couple, on a long weekend, during the school holidays. Definitely stay here if you are a family and love sports, esp golf. If not, I am sure there are quieter accommodation options in the Hunter. But for the constant children type noises, we really liked this place

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lovedale wing which was above the activities room and near the pool. Not recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comments agltay

Great to hear that you were happy with the resort, our staff, food and accommodation.

We would love to welcome you back again to see how great we are.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing