We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fantastic kids club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a fantastic 3-day trip in the Hunter Valley mainly thanks to the fabulous kids club offered by the hotel. You can book your kids during the day and also at night 5:30-8:30pm! Make sure to book in advance especially during busy periods.
The 2-double beds deluxe bedroom is perfect for a family of 4.
The hotel is very comfortable although can get crowded as very big. You might have to queue to have a table at breakfast (which is still worth it - so yummy!).
What made the (huge) difference for us: The kids club, the delicious breakfast with the eggs benedicts and fresh coffees, and the fabulous heated outdoor pool and spa.
Wat could be improved: Small details: vacuum-cleaning the room on second day, a better wifi internet connexion, offering some veggies at breakfast salad/tomatoes/carrots...

Room Tip: The 2-double beds deluxe bedroom is perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soricalmeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Soricalmeo

Thank you so much fo your review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you really liked the kids club, brakfast and our fabulous heated pool.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon so the kids can again enjoy the many activities in the kids club.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

First 3 bedroom villa had paint stains, scuff marks on the walls and the A/C did not work. We were moved to another villa with no concerns. The only improvement I would enjoy seeing is better exhaust in the bathrooms and maybe some heating as it gets cold in there. The rooms are very modern and beautiful with perfect surroundings. Great customer service and good food from Lovedale which offers good drinks and atmosphere. I would suggest this to anyone travelling in a group.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ChrisEB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi ChrisEB90

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Secondly, I apologise that the air conditioner was not working in your villa and that you had to be relocated to another villa.

I am happy to see that you did enjoy your weekend away and that you were happy with the service and food from The Lovedale.

Once again, thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

Kindest regards
Robert Coates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was really impressed with this hotel, l stayed here with a group to celebrate a birthday so did not choose to book myself. I was really impressed as soon as l arrived, by the service. The hotel has a fantastic pool, as well as different restaurants and bars and just has a great atmosphere. . The rooms were large and had balconies which was an added bonus. This is a perfect hotel to book if you are going with a group of people

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BP1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi BP1988

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay with us.

Great to read such positive comments and pleasing to read that you were impressed with the rooms, balconies and the restaurants and pool.

Once again, thanks for your comments and we hope you can stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great large golfing resort providing both hotel style accommodation or Villas for the family or friends. Staff are just lovely and the Crowne lives up to its name. Just 1.5km from the first winery but nice and private.

Room Tip: The Villas are great and the hotel will provide you with a shuttle to and from your room if you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Frances B

Thanks for your great review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the golf.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza with my mum for a girls weekend away and really enjoyed it!!
The resort is huge - hotel & villa style accommodation but with loads of great facilities (golf pool day spa large chess boards out on the grounds etc)
Didn't feel like a huge dinner (as we had a big lunch that day) so we just had a meze platter and drinks from the bar which was amazing.
Room was spacious and clean with a nice view over the hotel grounds. Staff were friendly and helpful & check in process was simple.
As it is at the entry of the hunter you do need a car as there isn't anything within walking distance.
My only negative would of been I did find the room rate quite high I did book quite last minute however it wasn't during school holidays or an event so didn't expect it to cost so much.
Overall a very enjoyable stay in the hunter

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi missjacs

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your girls weekend away.

I do hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay when you are next in the Hunter.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We often stay here as a couple and with the kids. Great atmosphere and the rooms are big.
If you have a car it is close to all the wineries and restaurants. The Red Salt restaurant is good too.
Lots to do. Pool, tennis , golf and massage.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michmar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Michmar111

Great to hear that you keep coming back.

So happy to hear your feedback.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Overall the quality of the the room, service and all that goes with it was very good. The staff in the abr and the restaurant were very nice even though they were very busy, some still had time for a chat. The bed was very comfortable and the outlook from the bistro very nice. Only 2 small issues. There were bags of rubbish or used linen at the base of some stairs which didn't look appealing and the razor in the complimentary toiletries was extremely blunt. Overall a very nice stay was had.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunsCreekLaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Duns CreekLaney

Thanks for taking the time to review.

I apologise for the rubbish that was left at the base of the stairs and this issue has been raised with our housekeeping team.

Once again, thanks for your kind words.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
893 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range: £88 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing