We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families with young children.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with young children.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a one night stay and will definitely come back. The rooms are not luxurious but the buffet breakfast with real coffee (espresso), do it yourself fruit and vege juice and kids club makes up for it. I also dined at Red Salt Restaurant, best steaks ever and staff were all really friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Return_flight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Return_flight

Thank you so much for your review on our resort.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the barista coffee from Redsalt and the very popular juicer.

Hopefully next time you stay with us you can stay longer then just a one night stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Robert Coates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    659
    191
    65
    39
See reviews for
455
516
15
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here countless amounts of times in the past, never again! The last 2 times that we were there, the rooms that we stayed in were rubbish along with the customer service skills of the staff. On our last visit we had dinner at the restaurant, although we had waited around 45 minutes for our food to be ready it was of a much lower quality in comparison to the price that we had payed. Staff were very rude and arrogant when approached.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyhekaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi hamidhekaik

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay.

I was very disappointed to read of your experiences during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will not alter the outcome of your experience, I certainly empathise with you regarding the points you raise.

This level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned teams.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment and I do hope you can return to see how much we have improved.

Kind regards
Robert Coates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Family of 5 stayed in a 2 BR apartment. Everything was great, clean and house keeping was done daily. Kids had a ball with the Hot Spa in winter. Food was also great at the café. They have Home brewed beer too! Yum.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Edmund W

Thanks for you recent review of our resort.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed food, our new Brewery and the location.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Robert Coates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having stayed here many times over many years, this place has gone to the dump. Smelly stale bathrooms, and a "new restaurant" where you not only get your booking forgotten, but also have the joy of waiting over 2 hours for your meal to arrive. Embarrassing. The worst service I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zachjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Zachjs

Firstly thank you for your recent comment.

My sincere apologies for your recent experience. It has been very busy in our new Lovedale restaurant and Brewery and as a result we have had a large number of families enjoying this space but obviously we are extremely disappointed that we have let you down on this occasion.

If you would like to discuss further, then please do hot hesitate to contact my on 02 4991 0917.

Kind regards
Robert Coates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded to the 2 bedroom bungalow and while away from the main hotel it was superb. The rooms are enormous and back onto a lovely grassed area and lake with ducks. We were downstairs and while handy for the park access the people upstairs were seemingly walking around all night long. It's not the hotels fault but next time I would ask for an upstairs room

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Aussie_trekker

Thanks for your great review of our resort.

It is always so great to read such positive reviews and your comments are very much appreciated.

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley and look forward to welcoming you back for another stay (in an upstairs room).

Once again, thanks
Kind regards
Robert Coates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We shared a two bedroom villa with family members. Although the villa was spacious, it was definitely in need of a revamp. The carpet was heavily stained in every room, the bedhead was falling apart and a number of fittings required repair. I would expect a higher standard of accommodation given the cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmjSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi EmjSyd

Thanks very much for your recent review of our resort.

I have taken your comments on board and have raised your points with our maintenance team and housekeeping team.

We hope that next time you stay you will see the improvements we have made.

Kind regards
Robert Coates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel many times, but not in the last two years. Booked direct with hotel, ( 16-18 May ) and main building was full, ( Lovedale long lunch w/end ), however offered two bed villa at same rate rate. ( We are Ambassador Platinum Priority Club ). Two hours from hotel they contacted us and advised could not offer villa: we were in main building (?). Room 362 was very average, badly needing re-furb. Mirror over bar, quite ancient. Accepted Room 244 after quick look and had to go out and meet friends. Returned early evening and started to notice: soiled/stained carpet and very well worn near sliding door, numerous marks on walls, balcony chairs tatty, balcony needed cleaning and painting, two double beds and only one side table, bulb had thick dust, headboard on bed closest to window was stained, with upholstery buttons coming adrift, reading light flickering. Gave the list to the 'Rooms Experience Manager'. The 'Rooms Division Manager' left a note. Had a nightcap at the lobby bar. Fire was barely a flicker. Girls in bar advised 'it was out of fuel'. My wife politely asked front desk male person breakfast closure time next morning ( Saturday ). He advised 10:00AM: she moved away and I observed him pull a face! Very childish and unprofessional. I tried to find other accomm. in Hunter Valley next morning but all booked solid. Met with 'Rooms Division Manager' in my room next day: no other rooms available: pointed out all deficiencies. He agreed refurb was needed, but couldn't tell me when. I advised I wasn't prepared to pay $658 for two nights in a hovel. He advised he would take it to the G.M. No contact was made or compensation offered. I was telephoned the next week by Robert Coates: GM, who seemed surprised I wasn't offered compensation. He advised he would get back to me and didn't. I e mailed hotel a week later advising that the next contact regarding this 'event' they would get would be from the Dept Fair Trading. I received a cheque a week later. Totally disappointed. Spoiled a hard won break away. Far from any Crowne Plaza usual standard.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear KenA

Delivering a great guest experience is always our mission, however, sometimes we do have challenges and meeting our guests expectations is sometimes not achieved.

We will always do our best. As discussed on telephone we are sorry we let you down on this occasion.

Should you wish to discuss please let me know.

Kind regards
Robert Coates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing