We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but definitely overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

No denying this is a lovely hotel but with each room starting at $400 it's a bit pricey even for a luxury hotel.

We did enjoy our night here and found it to be very quiet in the rooms, lovely comfy bed and good heating on a cold night.

We ate in the love dale pub downstairs and enjoyed good food and some local beers.

Breakfast in the hotel is good with a big selection to choose from.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank AmandatheNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi AmandatheNurse

Thanks for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms, bed and heating comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Robert Coates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Spent 2 Nights, family of 5. Very clean and tide

The 2 bedroom villas are a long way from the main building, with no views.. Nice and close to many wineries and although we didn't use any of the facilities they looked ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hi George A

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our resort.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our stay was hampered by the heavy duty construction going on in the wing we were staying in. Water pressure in shower was not good and water was only luke warm.
If your not with Telstra you will get no Wifi service at all, I'm not sure why all Aussie hotels don't give free wifi like most of the hotels overseas.
Having said that we were offered a Villa not attached to the main hotel but chose not to take it because we did not want to be walking back to and from Villa to the main hotel building in the very cold weather of a night. Apart from the construction this place was great. Brilliant staff, the brew pub and Salt restaurant were great places for a drink and a meal, although the food at Salt is very expensive as is the beer at the brew pub.
The huge pool is heated and warm, if you have kids there is so much for them to do during the day and the kids menu at the restaurants is very good..
I would stay here again and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you wallaby for your recent review of our resort.

I firstly must apologise for the noise that you experienced whilst you were staying with us. We are currently undergoing construction of a conference centre and to have our valued guest disturbed by noise isn't what we want. Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

Thank you for your comments on the pool, restaurant and staff. I really appreciate these comments.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here in order to get prompt morning access to Cessnock aerodrome for a jet flight.
Certainly this was the best placed hotel for that - right across the road but not close enough to experience any noise.
The property is huge, like a small neighbourhood, and certainly if you're into golf it would be even better due to their extensive facilities.

This is one of the few places that you can stay one night only (most are two night minimum) nad te
I stayed in the suite, which I found excellent and modern and everything worked.
The other reason I chose this hotel was because it is one of the only places that has true 24hr room and other services etc (good esp. in winter and if in a hurry), whereas much Hunter Valley accommodation is designed for couples going out and getting their own breakfast and dinner externally.
Only negative is that the room was very expensive, equal to or even higher than high end Sydney CBD price (cost me >$700 for one night, dinner, breakfast, Internet, and 2 x bottles of wine).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chumblybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hi Chumblybum

Thanks for your recent review on you stay with Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley.

I am happy to read that you were happy with your suite,room service and the location which is close to the airport.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay if you are again visiting the Hunter Valley.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We did not plan to stay overnight but it got late and the kids were tired. We stopped at the Crown Plaza and thank god we did. The staff were extremely nice and the room was fine as well. We dined at the bar which was great - the pizza is awesome. Breakfast is a bit expensive but worth it. Overall, the kids and us had a great time.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ariel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Ariel K

Thank you for your recent review on Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley,.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope that you can stay with us again soon.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed in one of the rooms in the main hotel building with my family. The hotel is located in a convenient spot, close to many vineyards and attractions. The rooms were clean and contemporary with adequate facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and house-keeping was regularly completed. We especially loved the recreational facilities such as the outdoor swimming pool and the table tennis and pool table area. Better lighting around the pool at night would have been better. The entire hotel is very large and there are many places to explore. The food at Redsalt Restaurant was very delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful. It very expensive though, with the price of the breakfast being over $30 per person! Also, if you are an IHG Rewards Club member you receive free Wi-Fi which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PerfectIllusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Argus F

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to comment.

I appreciate your kind words regarding the Redsalt restaurant food, and the friendly and helpful staff.

I also take on board your comments regarding the lighting around the pool.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to review and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff and facilities are excellent. The position of the hotel is easy to find and very convenient to the wineries. The hotel concierge Brent one of the most friendly and helpful I have ever come across, loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi nnenes

Thank you very much to your great comments.

We always hope to give our guests a great experience and it seems that we have exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for your kind words and I will be sure to pass onto Brent in Concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Once again, thank you for the wonderful words of praise.

Regards
Robert Coates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range: £92 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing