We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Beautiful Stay at Bronte Guesthouse Morpeth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bronte Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wauchope Mid North Coast NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Our Beautiful Stay at Bronte Guesthouse Morpeth”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Well, we stayed there for just the one night on Wednesday 26 September, 2012 and we absolutely enjoyed our one night stay. It was our prelude night stopover before our Canberra Floriade. We couldn't fault the place. met and enjoyed the hospitality of Nigel, Lisa and their daughter India. The only downturn was that our Travel Agent, said that we would have to look around that night for a meal...like Nigel soon fixed that. The beautiful New Zealand wine, complimented the wonderful meal that night, and with the beautiful breakfast, before we left that day, just made our pre-Canberra trip, so much the better. Yes, fully recommend these Hosts so as you can enjoy a stop over whether one night or several. Just a few pointers, as may have been mentioned in other Posts, don't book in from Monday to Wednesday (what a shame) as the town is dead, and I mean dead...nothing opened. When ordering accommodation, recommend the Garden Suite. We will be back again, soon. Greg/Nai

Room Tip: As mentioned above, as heavy front road traffic in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySinbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    22
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
88
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowhedge, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We ended up staying at the Bronte after a stressful few hours upon arrival in Morpeth. We had booked the Convent but it has changed hands since our booking and our booking had not gone with it. However Lisa from the Convent now runs the Bronte, initially she denied all knowledge of us, our booking or our July payment. Then she later changed her mind! (After a few tel calls) Lisa then gave us the door code and told us to help ourselves as all the rooms were made up. The room was fine, clean and the bed was comfortable. We never met Lisa, someone else turned up the next morning to cook our breakfast which was also fine. Another word of warning - Morpeth is shut mon thru weds, there's nothing open except an off licence so don't go early in the week.

Room Tip: The Hunter Suite at the front does have a balcony BUT the road is quite noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowhedgeRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMSW, Manager at The Bronte Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Unfortunately, we really dropped the ball here and I can only apologise. Yes the original booking was made through Agoda for the Convent Guesthouse which we were managing at the time. Unfortunately we were never notified by Agoda of the booking, henceforth we never had this booking. We had also just received new that Nigel's sister was incredibly ill and was not expected to live so we were preparing to travel interstate immediately and I didn't like to pass this information on to the guest but we were extremely upset during this time - perhaps had I explained myself this guest may have been more foregiving of my absence during his stay. I can only apologise, it was unfortunate that we had never received this booking and the prospect of losing a close family member who subsequently has passed away took my mind off the guesthouse for a very short time - please forgive me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Lisa and Nigel, thank you for a really great stay. Very clean comfy and convenient. Nigel does a great breakfast on the veranda (thanks for the mushrooms mate). The dinner recommendation across the road at Arnotts Bakehouse Restaurant was simply perfect (pays to have local knowledge) and naturally all with in walking distance to good coffee and cafe's, onsite brewed beers, wood fired pizza's and a few old pubs. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acanbraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My husband and I wanted to spend our anniversary weekend in the Hunter and chose to stay in the gorgeous township of Morpeth. Bronte guest house just added to a wonderful, relaxing time away. The hospitality was perfect, the room very private and comfortable (especially the bed) and had a lovely outlook to the blooming jacaranda tree in the courtyard. A very generous and delicious breakfast was served out on the balcony which overlooked the main (quiet) street of Morpeth. We were shown the room that received the not so nice review earlier. The room was bright, clean, a good size and had a lovely updated bathroom - couldn't understand why anyone would complain about it. I would have happily stayed in that room as well. The guesthouse was full of character which fitted with the ambience of our weekend. We had dinner at the Royal River Inn which offered a lovely 3 course menu at a very reasonable price. So relaxing.....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Lisa made it a wonderful experience from the beginning. She allowed us to inspect the rooms and all were spacious and beautifully decorated. We chose the Edward Close room because of it's view to a Jacaranda in full blossom.

Lovely flowers also in the room and we indulged in the complimentary chocolates and port. A terrific sleep on the King size bed.

Fantastic ensuite with large shower.

All completed by one of the best breakfasts I have ever had on the delightful covered balcony.

A very special weekend and looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I just spend the weekend at the Bronte guesthouse and had a great time. It is an excellent location right on the main street of Morpeth. Lisa is lovely and so welcoming and I had a great breakfast on the balcony. My room was spacious and well maintained and the bed was very comfortable. I would recomend the Bronte to anyone visiting Morpeth.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

What wonderful hosts Lisa & Nigel are! 3 days, 2 nights & 5 friends had the most wonderful B&B experience in this beautiful guesthouse along with other special events planned for us, thank you Lisa. The rooms were extremely clean & comfortable with a mix of old world & modern touches. Breakfast on the verandah overlooking Morpeth and the flood plains was so relaxing & enjoyable cooked by Nigel perfectly along with the exceptional service. The personal touches of chocolates in your room, a robe for each guest for comfort along with tea & coffee facilities and a glass of port in either of the two down stairs sitting rooms was a relaxing experience at the end of the day. Everything has been thought of in this guesthouse for your stay. We will be telling other acquaintances about our weekend to remember. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
4.1 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close
The Close
#3 of 4 in Morpeth
9 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Morpeth Lodge Motel
Morpeth Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Raworth
20 reviews
6.4 mi away
Owlpen House B&B
Owlpen House B&B
#2 of 16 in Maitland
60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in East Maitland
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bronte Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bronte Boutique Hotel

Property: The Bronte Boutique Hotel
Address: 147 Swan St, Morpeth, Maitland, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bronte Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Trip Adviser - 2015 and again just now in 2016 Award of Excellance as voted by our guests. The Bronte offers stylish boutique accommodation located in the heart of the historic town of Morpeth, originally a bustling river port town founded in the 1820's. The township sits above an elbow in the Hunter River, its just 5 minutes from Maitland , 40 minutes from Port Stephens and Pokolbin Wine Country and is only an hour and half from Sydney. Enjoy an all inclusive gourmet breakfast overlooking the township and the Hunter River. All rooms have own private bathroom facilities and air conditioning. In house dining options and wine tours can be arranged by contacting us directly prior to your arrival. **The Bronte is not suitable for children under the age of 12 year** The Bronte is proud to be a 100% smoke free. To ensure the comfort of all guests, all guest rooms and guest's common areas are non smoking and a sanitisation fee of $250.00 will apply if smoking occurs within a guest room or any of the common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your The Bronte Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing