We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hunter Valley Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bronte Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We were delighted to stay at this guesthouse for 3 nights just before Christmas. The property is very pretty and situated on the main street of the very beautiful village of Morpeth. Lisa and Nigel, the hosts, made us all feel very welcome and helped to recommend the activities available. The breakfasts were absolutely superb and varied each day. It was slightly unfortunate that we were in Morpeth on Monday and Tuesday when many of the eating places are closed. However this did not dampen our short break. We would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay in Morpeth and the Hunter Valley. We would like to thank Nigel and Lisa for making our stay so enjoyable. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

My daughter (in her 20's) and myself went to Morpeth for a few days of R&R. We chose Bronte even though previous reviews were a bid negative. FORGET ALL THOSE REVIEWS!!! Bronte has been recently taken over by Lisa and Nigel. We were welcomed by Lisa, who is a wonderful Hostess and made us very welcome. Our room overlooked the main street and had a private balcony, which was wonderful to sit on in the evening with a bottle of wine and nibbles. I was concerned there may be some street noise, but Morpeth is a small town and the nights are nice and quiet. The room (with an ensuite) was extremely neat and tidy and clean. Breakfast was an amazing affair, with a choice of all the usual cereals and breads and lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt, but there is always a breakfast special of some version of eggs. We were treated with different specials each morning - Eggs Benedict being my favourite, beautifully prepared by Lisa. We stayed at Bronte for 3 nights and I am returning in the next few weeks with my husband. I was able to see some of the other rooms and their is a great choice of large airy and very comfortable rooms. Lisa and Nigel are delightful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are very professional about their commitment to providing a relaxing and enjoyable experience. I can see that with Lisa and Nigel at Bronte it will only get better and better. - I highly recommend this B&B - don't miss the chance to stay at a true hunter valley gem!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Bronte Guesthouse looked fabulous on the website and was located centrally, We decided to stay there as we were going to Morpeth for the Chapel Jazz Festival.

We were greeted by the 'manager' who was helpful enough but not overly friendly. And that seemed the theme throughout our stay. The Room was definitely tired, the bed covers were stained and there were no mirrors in the room except the tiny one in the bathroom.

The whole business was run very mechanically. There was no ambience in the Bronte and it definitely was not the "Deluxe" accommodation we were expecting.

We have paid similar amounts for 5* B & B's, and to be honest the Bronte Guesthouse is just not value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupert23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Bronte Guesthouse looked lovely on the website, and we decided to treat ourselves to a 'Deluxe Weekend Getaway'. Overall, it didn't really deliver on the 'Deluxe'.

We think we were greeted by the owner, but she quickly passed us on to the 'manager' who was helpful enough but not overly friendly. And that seemed the theme throughout our stay. The 'Hunter Suite' was definitely spacious, but a little bit tired. The carpet had not been hoovered, there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and some dirt on the back of the bathroom sink.

Given the 'escape in luxury' positioning on the website, we were also disappointed to be told that the latest we could have breakfast was 8.45am. This is not a particuarly luxurious time for a Sunday morning on a relaxing weekend away! Admittedly we could have been more diligent in checking the package details, but having reviewed the guesthouse website on our return home, we also found that our breakfast should have been on our own private balcony, not in the restaurant. The 'private balcony' option was never mentioned during the stay.

We have paid similar amounts for 5* city hotels, and to be honest the Bronte Guesthouse is just not value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

My husband booked this place during a surprise romantic getaway to the Hunter Valley and I fell in love with it!
Bronte Guest House is located in the beautiful, quaint and historical town of Morpeth. It is approx 30 mins from the Vineyards of the Hunter Valley and the same distance from Port Stephens.
It is basically an old shop (I believe it was the original Soul Pattison Chemist) that has been converted into a B&B. There are a number of rooms with a common lounge area. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are reasonably sized. We found the decor in the room quite modern and very clean. There is a plasma television and DVD player in each room as well as a hair-dryer and shampoo/conditioner etc in the bathroom.
Downstairs there is a common kitchenette which stock basic items. There is also a small but FREE DVD collection.
I particularly loved this and couldnt decide what to see! In the lounge area, there were a number of recent magazines and newspapers.
The breakfast is served in the morning on the balcony which overlooks Morpeth. The view from this balcony was gorgeous and we LOVED the breakfast. It was freshly made and very tasty!
Finally, we found the staff to be really helpful and friendly.
I definately will come back to this place!!!!! A real gem!
PS. Be sure to try the woodfire pizza place down the road.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

The room was agreeable. However, one manager was very cold and unfriendly. Due to this, I would not return or recommend the property.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novocastria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

We did not enjoy our stay at this 4 star guesthouse! The owner/ operators are unfriendly and unhelpful. The lounges are stained, CD's are scratched. Only one communal fridge located downstairs and at the other end of the house - not convenient or secure. No full length mirrors in rooms. Dirty sheets were left lying around in washing baskets. The place lacks any ambience, is cold and dark.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
17.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.1 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
371 reviews
20 mi away
Grapevines Boutique Accomodation
11.6 mi away
Lochinvar House B&B
Lochinvar House B&B
#1 of 2 in Lochinvar
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bronte Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bronte Boutique Hotel

Address: 147 Swan St, Morpeth, Maitland, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: £89 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bronte Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Trip Adviser - 2015 and again just now in 2016 Award of Excellance as voted by our guests. The Bronte offers stylish boutique accommodation located in the heart of the historic town of Morpeth, originally a bustling river port town founded in the 1820's. The township sits above an elbow in the Hunter River, its just 5 minutes from Maitland , 40 minutes from Port Stephens and Pokolbin Wine Country and is only an hour and half from Sydney. Enjoy an all inclusive gourmet breakfast overlooking the township and the Hunter River. All rooms have own private bathroom facilities and air conditioning. In house dining options and wine tours can be arranged by contacting us directly prior to your arrival. **The Bronte is not suitable for children under the age of 12 year** The Bronte is proud to be a 100% smoke free. To ensure the comfort of all guests, all guest rooms and guest's common areas are non smoking and a sanitisation fee of $250.00 will apply if smoking occurs within a guest room or any of the common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bronte Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing