We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahipara Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahipara Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a room with a separate bedroom and the bedroom had a TV as well as out in the main room. I've never been to a motel which had two TV's. The room was very nice with a lovely big window looking out to a fantastic view. Some rooms wouldn't get much of a view as there was a block of units in front. The bathroom actually has a vanity unit, which is rare, so somewhere to put your toiletries. We had a lovely meal of fresh fish and salad in the restaurant one night and the hosts were quite friendly. The only problem was that there is no mirror near a power point so very difficult to see what's happening with the hairdryer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    30
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We Stayed for four nights, The girl that greeted us was friendly. The Studio we were given was under the restaurant and was quite noisy and you could smell cigarettes if you had your windows open. The room was quite dark, even with the lights on. Wifi cost $5. Laundry $3 wash $4 dryer. The room got serviced every day . Overall it was ok. Was close to surf beach which was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
268 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We arrived at the Motel VERY tired. We'd flown on the red eye from Perth to Auckland and then made the 350-400km transfer by minibus with very little sleep in between. To say I was fractious is being generous!

We were here to ride the Tour of New Zealand, a cycling event from Cape Reinga to Wellington.

The owner was friendly on our arrival and as the only couple on our tour bus, we were given the deluxe room which has stunning views. He had no objection to us having the bikes in the room with the proviso that we took care of the furnishings etc. He had a good sense of humour and treated us well.

The room was great. A shame we were only there for one night. The 'kitchen' provided us with everything (bar the food) that we needed to fuel up on breakfast before our first big ride. The shower was hot and powerful and as I've said before the views in two directions were great.

I can't fault the hotel. No idea what it cost as it was part of our overall support vehicle booking but I would hazard to guess it was quite reasonable and I'd be happy to go back.

One slight issue was a private party going on in the dining room was a bit noisy but I was so tired it only delayed sleep by a few seconds in my case!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms, the other rooms didn't look nearly as appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We didn't stay at this motel but the units look good from the outside. We actually stayed at a property close-by and decided to have dinner at their restaurant (sign posted as "bar and restaurant) ..... we were the only diners (on a Friday night) and immediately wondered why the restaurant was empty. Restaurant is in dire need of a "make-over". Menu looks inviting and prices reasonable ..... but the food was VERY disappointing. Poorly prepared and presented. Have had better counter lunches at Kiwi pubs. Unfortunately we sensed a total lack of interest in customer service or customer satisfaction by management. Would not eat here again or recommend this place for dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sitivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We are travelling around Northland with four friends from Australia , found this motel to be wonderful for our needs. Rooms are very clean and our rooms had sea views which were amazing. We ate in the restaurant twice and the meals were lovely. Neil and Raewyn great hosts who went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 16 to 12 amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We were on our way back to Auckland and were just passing through Ahipara. It was getting late so we decided to find a place to stay around the area. We have seen a few but not pleased with place as well as costs. When we found this place and the host showed us the unit, we knew right away that this was just the place. It has everything we need, very spacious with an amazing seaview and the hosts are very friendly, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cestlaviedenantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for a few nights over the NZ summer and while our one bedroom unit was fine ( if a little dated ) the owners or hosts as they call themselves were the let down, the woman (Raewyn) is not friendly or welcoming, we dined in the on site restaurant one night and while waiting for a table could hear the hosts bickering, not very welcoming. The meal was just alright and very expensive for what it was, we were rushed by the male host and were told to order, we couldn't relax. At the end of our stay we weren't even asked how our stay was, I feel these owners need to sell up instead of running it to the ground as its obvious they don't enjoy it anymore.

Room Tip: Book a unit with the private deck and beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaWEllington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
1.6 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Bay Motel

Property: Ahipara Bay Motel
Address: 22 Reef View Road, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahipara is a small coastal village at the Southern end of 90 Mile Beach, Northland, New Zealand.Our Motel has great ocean views over Reef Point and 90 Mile Beach. Activities in the area include: Surfing, Fishing, golf, Horse Trekking, tours up the beach, Quad Biking and Land Sailing. Our Complex has a small restaurant & bar (The Bay View). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing