We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot for exploring West Coast and 90 Mile Beach”
Review of GEMS Seaside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GEMS Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

A 4 night stay in the Studio + 2nd bedroom just went too quickly. Hosts Paul and Jenny were perfect and their local knowledge invaluable. The accommodation was open plan, spacious and perect for a couple or young family. The apartment has its own private patio area (chilling zone). This in turn lets out onto the small front garden with direct access onto 90 mile beach for strolls long and short. There's a narrow lagoon that's easy to walk around that adds to the visual lanscape and affords more privacy. This is the perfect spot to explore the Northland west coast, referred to locally as the 'Wild West'. Guided 90 Mile Beach day trips are best taken from Ahipara, rather than say Russell - far lower price and more time to explore the area. Genuinely beach front, this well equipped and comfortable apartment is quiet, relaxing and hit the right spot with us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank kimmarch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

A great apartment in a stunning location with warm and friendly hosts. Great facilities, very comfy bed and furniture. Simple and stylish. Magic beach on your doorstep. Paul and Jenny couldn't help us enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_and_M80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The views are spectacular. The apartment is beautifully designed and comfortable. Our hosts were very gracious and helpful--suggesting activities, arranging a bus tour and making dinner reservations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Marvellous location, fantastic views, delightful hosts and peace and quiet. What more could you want from a holiday home - hard to beat!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Very friendly owners, excellent, clean accomodation. Restaurants within ten minutes drive. We used one recommended by owners and had an excellent meal. Thanks to Paul and Jenny for making our short stay a very enjoyable one. Ideal for quiet comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Service
Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The lookout apartment we stayed in was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. We felt relaxed from the moment we arrived and watched all that surf rolling in. We had all the facilites we needed for a superb stay. There are limited facillites in Ahipara so remember to do your shopping in the last big town you come from.

Room Tip: Take the Lookout apartment for the elevated view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Beautiful view, clean, good location, quiet, and private. Kitchen was very well equipped, even with plunger coffee. You have to walk about 5 minutes around the "creek" to get to the ocean, which was a little odd, but other than that, no complaints. Paul was great with suggestions about the area. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elameister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
136 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#3 of 3 in Kaitaia
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.6 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Ahipara
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellovista
Bellovista
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GEMS Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GEMS Seaside Lodge

Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand (Formerly Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GEMS Seaside Lodge offers the discerning traveller exceptional lodgings in the jewel of Ahipara, at the base of the 90 Mile Beach. Begin your adventures to Cape Reinga, the Bay of Islands, the Hokianga, and other treasures of Northland, from here. However, there is actually a wealth of activity in Ahipara for you to enjoy. World class surfing at Shipwreck Bay, fabulous fishing (both chartered and surf casting), board paddling, horse-treking, 4 Wheel Driving and Sand Duning are just a few of the many activities available. For those who wish to enjoy a more leisurely experience, there is golf, beach walks, and visits to our very own award-winning vineyards. If you simply prefer rest and refreshment with book in hand, then absorb the beauty of this magnificent beach paradise, with crashing waves, beautiful birdlife, and stunning sunsets, from the comfort of your lodge, as part of your ‘seaside therapy’. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing