We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
196
13
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
13
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsahipara beachfrontninety mile beachplace to staygreat hostsbase to explorefar northpanoramic viewliving areafish and chipswished we had stayed longershipwreck baystayed nightsjennyapartmentaccommodationlookoutocean
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

So many people brag of "waterfront properties" when all they have is a glimpse of the ocean between two houses. This two-bedroom apartment (there are also two studios) really IS right on 90-Mile Beach. You step from the garden right on to the sand, though sometimes through a shallow beach inlet. The apartment is well furnished, well supplied and the beds dreamily comfortable. And if there's a matter on which Paul and Jenny can't help you, I'm yet to find it. Ahipara is the perfect kick-off point from which to start the Cape Reinga trip, and itself only a ten-minute drive from Kaitaia and its selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0rthbyN0rthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Wasn't sure where to stay to do the Cape Reinga tour but Lonely Planet recommended Ahipara, so thanks to LP we found the Beachfront Apartments.
A wonderful location on the beach and such a well appointed apartment - we were lucky to have perfect weather to sit out in the patio area and admire the vista, after we'd walked on the beach and swam in the beautiful sea. Wonderful huge comfy beds and as two couples we appreciated having two bathrooms and for the price thought the apartment was extremely good value.
Jenny was very welcoming and helpful and we benefited from her tip to visit Matai Bay when we left. Wish we could be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A luxury stay in an unlikely location. Ahipara is a place of remarkable beauty with its endless white beach, rolling green hills and crystal clear water. To find an apartment on which no expense has been spared was a delight in this relatively remote location. Paul and Jenny were excellent hosts. Thanks for a comfortable and memorable experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The site is magic, just in front of 90 mile beach.
You walk down the garden and are on the beach !
The building is recent and very well equiped.
The owner's description is exact. Service is amazing.
As you'll have full cooking capacities at the Beachfront, you just drive to Kaitaia and buy all the food you need at a brand new Pack'n Save supermarket. You then settle at Beachfront and enjoy Nature and the sea for a couple of days.
We stayed there for three days and were very sorry to have to leave to continue our NZ trip.
If you are lazy, you may request breakfast to be brough to you. 10 NZD for continental and 20 for cooked.
You MUST take the bus tour to Cape Reinga and drive on the 90 mile beach. Ask Paul, the owner, to book you with Sand Safaris. It's cheap (60 NZD) and it's authentic. The driver/guide is the owner of the bus. A completely different atmosphere from the large companies and their brand new air-conditionned busses that stay stuck in the soft sand...
The bus picks you up in front of the accomodation and drops you there at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos_R_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is the most gorgeous place - so quiet and peaceful, beautifully appointed, with friendly hosts, Paul and Jenny. Short walk to the beach and not too far from Kaitaia. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews