We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best views ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best views ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment mid winter. Fantastic with views that went on forever. Very friendly hosts who looked after us well. Well appointed kitchen so easy to use. Two very modern ensuites a huge bonus. Great value for money. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzP132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
94
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night and wished it was more... the place is without parallel, gracious host's who take the utmost care in what they offer. The accommodation basic but everything you could wish for provided. Still remember sitting outside watching a spectacular sunset over 90 mile beach with a cold beer and some oysters. Paradise found. Thank you

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reno80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

An extremely well appointed, clean, quiet and with comfortable beds and separate bathrooms. Absolutely ideal for two couples. We really enjoyed our two night stay and certainly will be back again. Both bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms are identical layouts so each couple is treated equally. Well appointed kitchen/dining/lounge and great elevated view over the beach and you can look up Ninety Mile beach. A real ocean front feel. Great sub tropical gardens & palms. Paul excellent with his suggestions on what to do, where to go and lent us a bucket to the go beach fossicking for Tuatuas at low tide (we failed). Sunsets to die for.... Excellent even in the middle of winter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19mallard51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The only downfall was that we could only stay for one night due to work commitments.

We found this gem by pure luck while road tripping in and around the Northland coast.

We were two couples and a baby who stayed and we enjoyed the tranquility and especially the beautiful beach and sea views right on our doorstep.


Our hosts Paul and Jenny were extremely welcoming and helpful and we had a fabulous time stand up paddling and surfing (even though the swell wasn't in our favour) on the beach literally 1 minutes walk from our lounge.


The self contained kitchen is very modern and has every convenience that you need to cook, plus a handy dishwasher.

Enjoy your meals overlooking the beach and river and views of Shipwreck Bay.

We will definitely come back!

A must if you ever find that you're wanting a weekend or even a week away from the city bustle.

P.s the beds are incredibly comfortable and you sleep to the sound of waves and wake up to the sight of nature at its best.

We will be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimsa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week in the 1st floor two bedroom apartment. Both apartments have separate entries and are completely self contained. The views of Ahipara beach are stunning especially the sunsets. The property is modern and extremely well equipped.Jenny has an eye for detail and this shows in the little touchs. It is very clean and even has an umbrella outside the door in case of inclement weather. Paul was very helpful especially when SandSafaris forgot to come and pick us up for our Cape Reinga day trip. He telephoned them and sorted it out for us. We would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is on top of owners accomodation. Ground floor apartment is to the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhangareiTravelCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here with my father, which was the reason we booked the 2 bedroom apartment. On arrival we were greeted by Paul, who showed us to the apartment. He asked if we wanted to use both bedrooms and then gave us extra towels for the second bathroom. They were probably expecting a couple (2 people with the same last name, so its understandable). Paul also asked if we had already made plans, but we were all booked for everything in advance. The apartment was clean and well kept. The kitchen had everything we needed (including plunger coffee). Paul and Jenny stock the refigerator with beer and wine, which you can buy.
The view from the apartment was absolutely stunning. We love the beach, so this was perfect for us, even though we did not spend a lot of time at the apartment.
Ahipara is very small with not many eating or shopping choices. If you don't have a car and only want to hang at the beach, you'll be fine, but otherwise a car would be convenient. There is a take away, small grocery and liquor store in walking distance. There is also a restaurant and a cafe in town, but we did not go to those.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lookout apartment, which is on the top floor. The view was absolutely stunning! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

One's soul can breathe easily here - great, expansive beach and ocean, safe swimming and body surfing, virtually infinite walking/running potential along 90 Mile Beach, wonderful sunsets, fabulous view from the upstairs unit, no noise except for the surf, very friendly host - what more could one want? Only downside was having to wade about 10 metres across the not-quite-waist-deep stream to get on to the vast sandy beach (or go the long way around).

Room Tip: The view from upstairs is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
24.5 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Waipapakauri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation

Property: Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation
Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0449, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two apartments on the waters edge both fully self contained with complete kitchens. Serviced daily. Quality super king beds with surf views from every pillow. Webber gas BBQs - separate entrances and privacy assured -The Lookout apartment is a full two bedroom apartment with balconies and a large separate lounge kitchen area. The studio apartment has an adjoining 2nd bedroom plus a covered patio area. Both apartments enjoy stunning sea views - the Lookouts view has the wow factor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing