We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Norderstedt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Place to stay!”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed at the Ahipara Beachfront Apartment for one night during our honeymoon trip.
The place is so beautiful. The Apartment is very nice and the view from the terrace is just amazing. You see all this nature and the beginning of the 90 Mile beach. We watched a wonderful sunset from the terrace ( see photo ).
The hosts, Paul and Jenny, are very friendly and helpful. Paul gave us great tips for our onward journey. We had a fantastic breakfast at the Waterfront Cafe in Mongonui - thank you for the tip! :-)
The only thing we regret, is that we didn't have the time to stay longer.
We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena_Stephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
95
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I recently stayed with my wife and my mother in law and had a great time. We hired the downstairs apartment with the adjoining room and this was perfect as my mother in law is elderly and having the apartment on one level with steps down to the garden was just what we could have hoped for.
The apartment was spotlessly clean, it is stocked with everything we needed as we cooked in each of the four nights that we stayed. The owners were extremely helful and friendly, thank you. This property is fantastic value for money and without hesitation I would go back either with my wife or friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEtheridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We knew we were a bit off the main tourist path, but the effort was well worth it! The view of the ocean was breathtaking. Great advice on what to do in the area--restaurant recommendation and tour bus to go up the cape! Breakfast was great--served in our room. Loved the granola!

The only regret is we did not have enough time to go snapper fishing! The tour bus guide was explaning how the "torpedo" worked and it would have been great to see it in action!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtisStruyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2010

An outstanding property in a wonderful location. I can't think of anywhere better for a stay in Northland. We stayed in the upper floor apartment. which had two good bedrooms with excellent bathrooms en suite and a large kitchen/diner/lounge, all with wonderful views of the beach. The accommodation was spotless and well furnished.
Paul and Jenny were excellent hosts. They provided a splendid dinner for us on our first night, including Snapper caught that day off the 90 mile beach. We arrived early evening to find a lovely apartment with a well laid table from which we had wonderful beach views.
Paul was an invaluable source of information and help on local matters, including booking the Sand Safari for us and making sure we had the best possible day. It wasn't his fault that the day coincided with a Tsunami warning for the area. That added some spice to the trip.
i don't normally gush in reviewing holiday accommodation, but the Beachfront Apartment really was outstanding. we will all return

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CriticalFriend23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I recently spent a week at this "bach" apartment in northern New Zealand. The location couldn't be better, right on the beach but in the case of "90 mile beach" that doesn't mean looking out at a forest of sun umberellas, in fact most times you'd have to look hard for anyone else enjoying "your" beach.
I had the studio which is one large room with plenty of room for 2, a king bed, well appointed kitchen, TV sitting area and large bathroom.
Paul and Jenny are attentive but not intrusive hosts with lots of local knowledge to share.
A great base for exploring the northland.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Ahipara has a couple of shops and cafes in the village, but the nearest main town is Kaitaia, about 10-15 mins drive away. The apartment was right on the beach at Ahipara, in a quiet & peaceful spot, with stunning views of Shipwreck Bay & 90-mile Beach. You can walk directly out of the property onto the beach.

The Beachfront property was recommended to us by relatives who had stayed there a couple of years ago, and who ran out of superlatives to describe it. They were right!

We had the Penthouse apartment - there is another apartment available in the same property. The apartment was spacious, comfortable and well equipped, incorporating two 'King' bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms, a lounge, dining area and small kitchen with microwave, cooker, fridge & dishwasher. All rooms were tastefully decorated and furnished. The lounge area had TV with several NZ and SKY channels, plus a DVD/VCR player. The apartment has a balcony overlooking the beach with outside furniture and its own barbecue. Paul & Jenny Steele, the owners, provide you with complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and milk, and there is both beer and local wine in the apartment which you can purchase. The owners are also happy to arrange various activities for guests, including boating, fishing, surfing and in-room meals.

We found Paul and Jenny extremely friendly and helpful hosts, who went out of their way to welcome us, to explain all the amenities and to help us with local bookings. One or other other of them is on-site most of the time to keep an eye on things.

Although more expensive for two guests than other places we stayed in NZ, the apartment has two bedrooms sleeping four people, which makes excellent value considering the quality of the accommodation and the fabulous beachfront location.

All in all, we were totally smitten by this beautiful property, and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone visiting the far north of NZ.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stay at least for 3 nights. There is plenty to discover. The hosts help with good information.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
7.1 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation

Property: Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation
Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0449, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two apartments on the water's edge both fully self contained with complete kitchens. Serviced daily. Quality super king beds with surf views from every pillow. Webber gas BBQs - separate entrances and privacy assured -The Lookout apartment is a full two bedroom apartment with balconies and a large separate lounge kitchen area. The studio apartment has an adjoining 2nd bedroom plus a covered patio area. Both apartments enjoy stunning sea views - the Lookouts view has the wow factor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing