We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Little Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ahipara Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Spot”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We ended up at the Ahipara Holiday Park because there were no rooms available in Kaitaia. This place was recommended to us by a full hotel owner in Kaitaia. He even called them to make sure they had a place for us. When we got there we had an adorable little cabin waiting for us. The owners were really nice and we felt completely comfortable there. Beautifully kept grounds were quiet and we could hear the beach from our cabin. Off the beaten path but worth the drive!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    43
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
69
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Friendly attentive staff, clean, comfortable bed, excellent rates and very close to Ninety Mile Beach 5 minute walk. Thoroughly recommend staying at this hideaway in the sun at the Gateway to Ninety Mile Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mylittleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We planned on a one night stop over but loved the area and the camp so much we decided to stay another night and miss out somewhere else.
Nice grounds with plenty of shade. Good kitchen and bathroom facilities.
Helpfull staff and nice relaxed feel to the whole place.
I am thinking of coming back for a longer stay.
Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here over Xmas 2012 in a camper. Nice, relatively private sites. Facilities are by reception near the entrance so if your site is on the other side, it could be a little walk.

Free wifi is a really nice touch, but it is limited to 100mb per person per day. Fine if you're just doing email/social media, but don't try anything heavy duty. You'll run out quickly.

Lots of kitchen utensils and cooking equipment but the kitchen size and layout is not really appropriate considering the size of the campsite and the combined YHA hostel.

No issues taking the pooch along. Beach nearby for good walks.

Don't bother getting a coffee at the dairy in Ahipara. It's the worst I've ever drunk.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We spent one night here and enjoyed it. We were in a campervan and found a nice private spot with plenty of birds around. The toilets and showers were very clean and the grounds were well maintained. It was about a 5 minute walk to the beach down some side streets.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband Paul and I plus our two dogs (Molly and Baxter) have been camping at Ahipara for two of the last three years. We have experienced over 50 camping grounds, everywhere between Cape Reinga and the Bluff and Ahipara is still overall our favorite camping ground by far which is why we will always return.

The Management (Jeff, Chris & Sandi) are always hospitable, Friendly and accommodating in every way shape and form that we could imagine, and go above and beyond for their guests. Their dedicated, tireless hard working approach ensures that all guests experience sound quality facilities such as toilets, showers, kitchen and all Barbecues (cleaned twice daily). We also saw the attention to detail within the grounds of the camp such as grass areas and tree pruning maintained to a high standard. We always thoroughly enjoy our stay and experiences of meeting new people at Ahipara Campground, which can only be accredited to the wonderful layout and dynamics that allow easy social interaction.

For those who have placed negative feedback we see that you have all stayed over the NZ New Year Period and you have to expect that people will celebrate this occasion, as they do over the rest of the world. Personally we think none of you planned or organized your holidays very well and with little thought - it seems to us that you are expecting 5 Star Hotel Service when camping is about getting back to Nature, keeping things simple and meeting people from different walks of life. I suggest if this is not what you want perhaps a clinical 5 star Hotel is for you. We also feel that the extra portaloos that were provided for those that wished to stay at the periphery of the campground, was another well thought out idea from Management to ensure campers comfort.

With regards to the so called "Disco Music" that was playing on New Years Eve we heard minimal music - however what do you expect people to do on New Years Eve, suddenly to go mouse quiet after 30 seconds of wishing each other a Happy New Year, not realistic or fair. We suggest you don't stay anywhere over a New Year Period except your own residencies that way you can be guaranteed of hearing no noise at all. (Mind you, you would have to rely on mute neighbors). As far as barking dogs are concerned we heard no dogs barking so may want to add mute dogs to your expectations as well. We always love our time at Ahipara and it is always bittersweet and sad to leave, but we will definitely be back for Christmas 2013/2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My family and I spent one week camping at the park over this past New Years period with friends. We found the campground to be well maintained and cared for, the facilities provided were always clean, towels are provided for each guest upon arrival which can be exchanged for clean when required.

Considering we were there over the New Years period, there was the expectation of noise as people celebrated the occasion - the noise level was well within acceptable limits for myself and my young family, who slept through every night.

There have been many improvements made by the management in the past year (we stayed over the similar period last year), this includes a fish filleting area, shared BBQ facilities and the upgrade of many gardens.

Whilst 90 mile beach can be busy with vehicles (this is widely known), there are many other beautiful beaches within a short driving distance of the campground, which the staff were more than happy to provide information on these areas.

We will be returning for more family camping holidays here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
24.3 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
8.5 mi away
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Waipapakauri
25 reviews
2.0 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Pukenui Holiday Park
Pukenui Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Pukenui
30 reviews
24.1 mi away
Pukenui Lodge Motel
Pukenui Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Pukenui
52 reviews
6.6 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Holiday Park

Property: Ahipara Holiday Park
Address: 168 - 170 Takahe Rd, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ahipara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahipara Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ahipara Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing