We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great example of a holiday park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ahipara Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This park has all the amenities you need- clean and tidy toilets/showers with good pressure- we stayed in our caravan for only one night but enjoyed the hospitality in the large reception/lounge area. This park also caters for backpackers and we shared the evening with a few rugby fans- good TV, and a nice hot fire! Outside is a good covered BBQ area, laundry facilities and clotheslines. Nice friendly staff.

Room Tip: We can only comment on the area we used for our caravan- very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed in a self contained unit for two days while up in the Far North for 2 days work. I had a great stay and it was very tidy, clean and comfortable. Really nice with it being well off the road (quiet and secure). Many thanks to the fantatsic owner/s who were always very helpful, even with someone who didn't know to plug the aerial into the tv (Many thanks Sandy). Many thanks for a great stay. I will be back. Cheers, Chris

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZRelievingTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed in a camper van for three nights. Lovely grounds close to the bottom end of 90 mile beach.
Facilities were quite good. The kitchen had lots of pots and pans and crockery and there is a large reception area with a massive wooden dining table plugs other seating areas. Comfy sofas at the TV end. Though it got quite cold in there in the evening. Bathroom could do with having more than one working bulb.
Staff were very friendly. My stay was only marred by the theft of my camera.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed for one night in April as an en route stop over rather than a 'destination.

The self contained cabin was comfortable & clean and had a comfortable bed/ sitting area with adequate self catering facilities. My only gripe would be that whilst the bedroom/lounge/kitchen area was spacious enough, the bathroom could do with being bigger - it had a tiny washbasin. Some of the lounge space could have been better utilised by giving the bathroom another metre of width. This really didn't detract from a relaxing stop over after a very long days drive.

Eating out options within a 5 minute drive are severely limited - a take away fish & chip/ pie shop is the only option - I believe that there is a restaurant a little further away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I traveled north for a tour to Cape Reinga. Didn't like the looks of anything in Kataia so drove to Ahipara. Stumbled upon the Holiday Park and was very pleased. Booked a regular dorm room which had one set of bunk beds and an en-suite bathroom. It was very clean and attached to the kitchen. The room was small but very comfortable. I only stayed for a night but I would definitely recommend it. The gates close at 9pm but you can get a gate key for a deposit if you are staying out later.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The campground itself is at the end of town and about 5-10 min walk to the start of ninety mile beach. The campsite is well set out and has clean facilities. Free internet and bbq's were put to use and appreciated. We stayed just for the night and set off first thing. Nice spot for a stopover and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentjaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We ended up at the Ahipara Holiday Park because there were no rooms available in Kaitaia. This place was recommended to us by a full hotel owner in Kaitaia. He even called them to make sure they had a place for us. When we got there we had an adorable little cabin waiting for us. The owners were really nice and we felt completely comfortable there. Beautifully kept grounds were quiet and we could hear the beach from our cabin. Off the beaten path but worth the drive!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
8.5 mi away
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Waipapakauri
27 reviews
2.0 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
100 reviews
2.1 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Ahipara
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Pukenui Holiday Park
Pukenui Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Pukenui
31 reviews
6.9 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway To The Far North
#4 of 9 in Kaitaia
1 reviews
6.8 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Holiday Park

Address: 168 - 170 Takahe Rd, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ahipara
Price Range: £33 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahipara Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ahipara Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing