We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimative hideaway for couples to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Giri Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sant Joan de Labritja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Giri Residence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Ultimative hideaway for couples to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed one week at the giri in the Oleander suite and loved our stay fro the first moment.
We especially liked the hotel concept. It felt more like staying at a private villa than in a hotel. You are not fixed to eating times and places. Just go to the kitchen and ask for your favourite dish and choose your favourite dining spot, no matter what time it is.
Most of the time, we had the pool area for ourselves, relaxing in the sala, having a delicious lunch or dinner around the pool. The food is to die for. Everything is freshly cooked and tastes great.
One evening, we had dinner at the giri cafe which is just round the corner from the hotel. The drinks were great, the food also very nicely presented. Worth to try it!
Our room faced the pool side. Looking from the pool to the house, the Oleander suite is located an the left side behind the loungers with two smaller windows. The suite was well designed, not very huge but unique in style. We had the chance to see the olivo suite (faces the inner patio) which has in my opinion the nicer interior and layout but I prefered the view from the oleander suite.
This is a unique luxurious place, for couples who like to relax and slow down. This is NOT a place for families with children. Couples come here to relax and enjoy the calm of this place.
Special thanks also to the staff! Everyone was so friendly und helpful.
We already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Facing the pool and landscape, choose Oleander, Almendra or Bourgainville suite, for patio view choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights at the Giri Residence and we absolutely loved it.

The hotel has been furnished to a very high standard in very chic but unpretentious ibiza cool - with no expense spared. We stayed in the Jasmin room which is the entry level and it was far from 'entry level', with full wet room and free standing bath and big bed.

The area by the pool was very chilled with nice beds, a lovely pool and 4shaded chill out area with beds and tables to relax on, with lovely gardens and views of the hills.

The service is the best ive experienced. Vincent, Carlos, Nuno and the Girls were all very attentive but never instrusive, the food is to die for. The breakfast is amazing and they bake all their own bread and Croissants too - which are delicious. They also have a fresh vegetable plot so the ingredients they use are all as fresh and pure as can be. My wife and i had dinner around the pool one evening and Carlos asked us what kind of food we like and created 2 lovely menu's, I had rib of lamb which was stunning and my wife had a lovely spaghetti Vongole - and the wine list is ok too.

On the couple of nights we rolled back late there was always staff on hand to serve us nightcaps and the chef even cooked us some delicious pizzas late at night !!

The Spa is very good and the massages our crew had were obviously good as they came out looking very dazed and chilled !!!

The town of San Joan is bueatiful and the Giri Cafe also serves amazing food in a pretty cool restaurant with outside seating as well as a very pretty interior.

In summary, my wife and i have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the best hotels around the world over our years of travel, and this is dfefiantely in our top 3 and we cant wait to go back !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epping
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is only my second post on tripadvisor , as I think its only relevant when the property is either exceptionally good or bad ! The Giri is exceptionally good .
 
Its only a 5 bed boutique residence , and as such you would expect good service . But here the service is outstanding , and never intrusive . Vincent deserves special praise , always there when you want him , but never a pest !
 
The food is exceptional . Carlos runs the kitchen and although there is a daily menu , you only have to ask ! He makes his own breads , croissants and , for afternoon tea ,  bakes his own cakes . Much of their produce is grown in the gardens , and as such the salads are amazing . The Giri Café , which is located next door , has the same ethos .
 
The hotel and the rooms are very smartly kitted out . We stayed in the Oleander Suite , double showers , Ren products etc . We both used the spa , and all of out treatments stood up to the standard of the hotel .
 
The pool area is quite intimate , but is not usually crowded , as guests come and go . here wears , there are only 8 sun loungers between 5 rooms . Should all the guests want to sit around the pool , especially on changeover days , there could be a problem . However , there are 3 large shaded cabanas and a separate courtyard , so plenty of room .
 
Location : San Joan is 30 minutes from the glitz and glamour of Pacha and Blue Marlin etc . But the town itself is tiny and beautiful . The nearby beaches around Portinax and San Vicent are also worth a visit .
 
Finally , I read at least one review suggesting that it was expensive . Whilst its not cheap , if you were to compare the prices to the other top class hotels on the island , I think that it actually represents fantastic value .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboEpping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is truly stunning. Only 5 rooms so most of the time it's extremely quiet and you feel like you have the run of the place. Rooms are gorgeous, pool area is amazing, staff are just lovely and the food is delicious.
Most people seem to head out during the day; if you're hanging around the pool it really is quiet. So if it's a "scene" you're looking for, this is not the place to come to.
Situated in a gorgeous little village which is so far removed from the San Antonios of this world, you'd hardly know you were in Ibiza. Still got the old ladies of the village sitting on a bench watching the world go by.
Despite being in the north of the island, it is very easy to get to from the airport and close to plenty of good beaches (Benirras being one).
It's up there with the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is truly magical! amazing venue, Staff all totally adorable, breakfast really relaxed and divine. Kids welcomed. Enjoy time lazing around and then head for local beaches. The restaurant is also fabulous. Honestly one of my favourite destinations in the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 128JenIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at the Giri Residence at the end of April. My only criticism was that it was just not long enough!!!!
Ana Maria was especially helpful but all staff made our stay so memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and to offer 24hour service in such a small establishment speaks volumes. From the moment we arrived, we felt that the whole experience was going to be something very special and it was! I can not recommend the Giri highly enough. The rooms are exquisite. We stayed in the Olivio suite and just loved it! We had lunch in the hotel by the pool and then dinner in the Giri Cafe. Again the food was outstanding! Yes this hotel comes at a price but we felt that the experience was well worth it. I certainly hope to return and would love to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: All rooms look superb but we choose the Olivio because of the stone bath tub. The suite is off the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGPMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

All I can say is that I was a bit worried that the Giri would not live up to the incredible reviews I read on Trip Advisor - but it actually surpassed my expectations! I stayed for 8 days with my husband and it was amazing. The team of staff make you feel incredibly welcome and relaxed and genuinely create a feeling that you are at home - except in stunning surroundings and with staff on hand every hour of the day to serve you in any way possible! They genuinely are willing to do whatever they can to ensure you have a wonderful holiday, and they achieve the rare balance of being incredibly accommodating and friendly, without ever being intrusive. The food, rooms, pool etc. all all superb. It is also near some gorgeous beaches although we only went to one as leaving the Giri seemed pretty pointless to us! I can't really describe how special the Giri is, all I can say is that it was the most relaxing, luxurious holiday of my life, and for what you get I think it's also excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Joan de Labritja
14.2 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#12 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#3 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
6.7 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#3 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#3 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ca Na Xica - Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ca Na Xica - Boutique Hotel & Sp...
#1 of 2 in Sant Miquel De Balansat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giri Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giri Residence

Property: The Giri Residence
Address: Alcalde Jaume Mari Roig 3, 07810, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Joan de Labritja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition meets fashion at this intimate and hip home away from home. The Giri Residence is a small boutique hotel, located in the north of Ibiza, featuring five unique suites with a warm and inviting atmosphere to create an oasis of tranquility and comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Giri Residence Hotel Sant Joan De Labritja
The Giri Residence Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing