We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissatisfied”
Review of Presidente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Presidente Hotel
Hassocks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very dissatisfied”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My Wife and I decided to have a family holiday with my Daughter with Husband and two children we stayed at this hotel between 21st sept and the 27th sept, 2013. We booked on half board £800 for my wife and I, and due to the poor food we sometimes ended up eating out. any drinks you had were well overpriced eg whiskey and lemonade 6 euros. the hotel is in need of redecoration ,the tablecloths on all the tables were badly stained and each time you put an elbow on the table it stuck to your arm.The hotel location had a lovely view of the bay, but due to the fact that the 6 very large kitchen extractors which were low down and switched on at 6.30am every day till 8.30 in the evening, made i impossible to sit on the balcony and enjoy it due to the noise and the smell,also the the hill from the hotel to the beach is horrendous, it is made up of 3 very steep hills, and is a nightmare every day with young children in prams, they are the sort of hills you see in films of San Francisco. The major problem we had was that on our last day both the children developed very bad sickness and vomiting and were sick on the plane, bugs which we also caught from them the day after bringing them home which took a week of violently being sick and diarrhea. After looking at Trip Advisor on those weeks it seems that they were having problems at this hotel, and have been apparently for years if you look back.Why didnt Thomson advise us about this nasty bug,they obviously new about it since one of the reports noted 8 children going to hospital!!!!!! Would not recommend.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms either suffer from noise and smell from the kitchen extractors or the overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    445
    298
    85
    49
See reviews for
676
271
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband, 5 year old and 9 month old have just returned from a weeks holiday staying at this hotel. I didn't read any reviews before travelling here thank god...I simply cannot believe some of the experiences the poor raters have had. Our room wasn't huge, but it was adequate and immaculately clean. It was serviced daily and clean towels left even if we didn't request them. Public areas were also immaculate. Food was amazing, lots of choice and our children were catered for easily. Pool area was clean, well kept and a pleasure to lie beside all week.
Reps were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to personalise our stay a number of times. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient all of the time. The entertainment was excellent, especially for the children and we found ourselves joining in much more than we usually would because it was so much fun!
The town was a short walk away down and up some very steep hills although if hills arnt your thing you could walk round a longer more level way. The beach was nice although we found lots of cigarette ends in the sand which was a shame :( obviously not the hotels fault though!
To those who are complaining about the constant noise and screaming kids etc I would point out that this is currently a family resort hotel...it's for FAMILIES and they usually have children...who need entertained and are known for making a bit of noise!
We used the crèche for our baby and the staff were lovely, the room was cool, clean and I had no issues leaving my baby there at all.
Every person we talked to couldn't say enough how excellent the hotel, food, staff were. I would recommend this place to anyone with kids who want a fun family holiday.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Joka04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

.....the hotelPresidente is good in parts. This was our first package holiday as a family - we travelled with our 3 year old. In truth, it just wasn't the right choice for us - we're probably accustomed to a bit more independence and more exposure to local culture than we got from a Thomson 'family resort'. Things we liked - staff very helpful and friendly, views from the hotel are fab, wi-fi, the kids' splash pool was a total hit, the room was always well cleaned and there were fresh towels every day and Portinatx itself was very pretty and laid back with a beach that was sandy and safe for toddlers.

Things that we liked less - we paid extra for a sea view but we discovered on the first night that it was so noisy that we had to move. Until 11pm you couldn't tell the difference between outside on the balcony and inside with the doors shut. Very crabby and overtired 3 year old does not make for a happy holiday. We were moved without a problem the next day but no mention of reimbursing the not insignificant supplement we paid, which I feel was sold under false pretences. We would never have booked it if there had been information at the time of booking about the noise levels - evening entertainment took place beneath those rooms every night. I would agree that the rooms were a bit dated.

The food served was almost exclusively British - which is fine and the quality of most was good - I would just have enjoyed some more local fare as it's part of the adventure of a holiday for us. I did think that some of the options for kids looked a bit ropey but our little one could eat at least one of the adult options each day so it didn't disrupt us.

We specifically booked half board rather than all inclusive to give us a bit more freedom and so we could spend some of our holiday cash on the local facilities and services, rather than just on a multi-national holiday company. However, it's an expensive way of doing things if you want to buy the odd coffee/soft drink/beer in the hotel. The latter two were both served in small plastic cups (about the size of the beaker you get to skoosh your mouth out at the dentist) and 2 cost 5 euros.

The hotel also has lots of scheduled activity, pretty much from 10am until 11pm - quiz sheets handed out at 10am, aqua aerobics at 11am, bingo at noon, etc and there was incessant music belting out all the time too. I know that this will sound perfect for some, but there isn't really any alternative if you don't want to join in.

You also have to be up sharpish and get your towel on your preferred sunbed if you want a space by the pool.

So, all in all the things we disliked were a question of personal taste, rather than a reflection of quality or service. We had a good holiday but only by doing things that would make it work for us - going to the beach for a part of the day, eating in local restaurants, using the play park by the sea, etc. I don't think we'd go back and I would only recommend it to friends who I knew wanted full immersion in a British package holiday experience 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the back of the hotel if you prefer quiet over the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Presidente and it was brilliant. 2 adults and 2 kids. Food was great, drinks were great, entertainment and kids club was excellent. The staff were always friendly, polite and helpful at all times and all of the facilities were immaculate. I can't understand anyone having any problems here. We will be returning for two weeks next year. We were devastated at having to go home !!!!!

Room Tip: Who actually goes on holiday to sit in a hotel room. They are basic but immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Food was great, something to suit all tastes. Rooms basic but very clean and maid was in everyday unless you put up the Do Not Disturb sign.
Beer and wine was fine, tequila sunrise was good too! Dont mind the plastic cups at the outside bar - after all its for the safety of the kids!
Kids splash pool great for toddlers, my wee one could have stayed all day.
The entertainment girls worked their butts off day and night and my wee boy loved them.
Evening entertainment was fine if you take it for what it is.
I had a great time, would recommend this for families - dont go if you a) dont have kids OR b) dont like kids!!

Room Tip: rooms 163 - 168 are over looking the front of the hotel which is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbskyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here I mid September weather was still good hotel room was a little basic but clean. The maid cleaned the room every day and changed towels on a daily basis. Food overall was good both my children 3 and 1 had no problems finding something to eat. We did stay all inclusive but did eat out twice in the evenings, only because we find a lovely Italian overlooking the beech.

We didn't find the hill a problem at all, my little girl managed it too!

Resort is lovely if you like a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Have just returned from a great holiday at this hotel. Admitedly the hotel was a little basic, but for the price paid this was to be expected. The hotel was clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast lunch and dinner offered a good and varied selection of food.The rooms are not huge, but they are adequate, and, let's face it, how much time are you going to spend in your room except when in bed. The children had a great time. The Thomson entertainment team were excellent. There were plenty of activites for both adults and children. This is a family resort so there are lots of kids around the pool area, but if you are there without kids or your children are in the Thomson kids club you can get away from the noise and activity by going to the adults only chill out zone. The main beach in Portinatx is just 3 minutes walk from the hotel, though there is quite a steep hill. The resort of Portinatx is lovely, and I would certainly prefer it to the busier, larger resorts like Es Canar. If you want to explore the rest of the island, which is definitely worth doing, I would recommend hiring a car for a day or two as the bus service from Portinatx is very limited, especially at weekends, and the Thomson organised excursions are expenxsive,

Room Tip: You pay extra for a sea view, but these can be some of the noiser rooms as many of them overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Joan de Labritja
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
8.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
878 reviews
8.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#5 of 13 in Es Canar
1,487 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Hotel

Property: Presidente Hotel
Address: Ctra de San Juan, Cala Portinatx, 07810, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Sant Joan de Labritja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Presidente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Presidente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Presidente Ibiza
Presidente Hotel Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing