We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way!”

Heart of Burren Walks
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Kilfenora
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding in every way!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Discovered Tony and his "Heart of Burren Walks" while planning our trip to Ireland. Our hope was to visit St.Coleman's Well and I wrote Tony about the possibility of a "tailor made" walk to this part of the Burren. Right from the first email response, and his openness to this request, it was clear that we would be in for a treat. Tony was not only open to leading this walk, but enthusiastic as well.

The walk was excellent in every way, from the clear directions of where to meet, to the great suggestion for lunch and everything in between. Tony captures, in its essence, the "heart" of the Burren --- a complex and rich amalgam of flora, fauna, natural history and human history, rich agriculture and devastating famine, politics, faith, mysticism, poetry --- which he passionately and creatively weaves together in a rich landscape of storytelling and knowledge. Tony creates for his guests an unforgettable experience of this magical and luminal space. Tony's passion for this place is infectious and am certain that after a walk with him you will find yourself, like me, recalling a something he said or pointed out weeks after -- rising surprisingly like a Burren turlough in your mind.

We are grateful to Tony for being such an important part of our trip. Coming to this part of the Burren was a dream fulfilled and to be guided with such passion and knowledge was pure gift. Many thanks, Tony for your wisdom, wit, openness and patience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JasperTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    35
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Burren Walk - Simply Fantastic!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our Burren walk was amazing! Tony's geological knowledge of the Burren, his insight into its flora and fauna, as well as its historical background captivated us and our 18 grammar school students from Switzerland. We would strongly recommend this tour and will definitely be back with other classes. Thanks, Tony - it was fab!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimpy753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable and fun”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you're looking for a couple of hours seeing the Burren close up, you can't do better than Tony Kirby. He takes you carefully through a swatch of the beautiful landscape, moving you gracefully between rain forest and meadow and explaining how the amazing limestone formations that cover the land were formed. He's knowledgeable about the areas geological, botanical, and animal history, and is happy to talk politics (of which there are many when it comes to national parks and land use). He's also very conscious of eco-politics and sustainability in the area; we learned quite a lot about land-friendly cattle-raising and farming. Tony is charming and warm. The tour was punctuated by poetry, which he performed for us from memory, all of which deepened our appreciation of the Burren and of Ireland. A glorious walk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Man of the Burren”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Now, Tony Kirby knows the Burren. A wonderful place unique in multiple ways. He knows the history, botany, archeology, and its subtle charms. But what makes a walk here with him so memorable is his passion for the area. One can read books on the sad history of the famine roads or the ancient races who dwelt here. You could bring a field guide to the diverse plants of the region, from Arctic to Mediterranean. But it is his love of this region that shines through all he speaks of. Tony, alone, is worth the price of admission; the Burren itself is a fabulous bonus to the man himself.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I & and another couple had the good fortune to book a Burren walking tour with Tony. It was a highlight of our Ireland trip. He's an amazingly entertaining expert on flora, fauna, the history & folk lore of Ireland. His walks are a must when visiting County Clare.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heart of Burren Walks also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to Heart of Burren Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing