We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Boghill”
Review of Boghill Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilfenora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boghill Centre
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit Boghill”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My stay at the Boghill was a vegan's dream! The food was yummy and the day trips were fabulous. The hosts care about the individual experiences of each of their guests and do their best to make sure everyone is enjoying themselves. They are caring people who have a standard of excellence that was well achieved during my stay. I enjoyed the international flavor of the Centre and the fun and cultural experiences that were offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maldon
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My dream come true, a stay in County Clare at a beautiful, nourishing, friendly, personal, comfortable,amazing food,like being at home setting! Nothing was too much trouble at Boghill
I found my ancestry that i have been searching for!
i will be returning many times as the Burren magic has put a spell on me!
the inventory was amazing, dancing, trad in a tavern, art on the beach, the cliffs on Moher and much more, i loved the flexibility of dipping in and out of activities.
ideal for single people, couples or families.
i also liked meeting people that worked there and the fact that they joined in everything.
Many thanks to all that made my stay so wonderful.
visit June 2013

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The food was vegetarian and brilliant. The staff are helpful. The setting is amazing, County Clare is wonderful. The beds were comfortable.
The walk along the Cliffs of Moher is not to be missed as are the music sessions in the local pubs.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

How do I begin to describe the delights of County Clare, the rugged coastal areas, beautiful beaches, the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren National Park it is truly one of the most beautiful places I have visited. The Burren is almost spellbinding, it is a quirky moonscape that holds many secrets and pleasures, from tiny little rare orchids to the Dolmans.

There is so much to do from the Boghill Centre, you can take part in their many activities or use it as a base to explore the area, you can surf, walk, climb, go Dolphin Watching, visit the Birds of Prey Centre or visit the majestic Cliffs of Moher, the pretty little coastal town of Doolin is nearby.
The Boghill Centre itself is warm and friendly, single visitors are soon absorbed in to the group and are not left to feel alone, large groups are catered for with ease, it is possible to feel completely at home and welcomed there, you can either sit and relax or be kept in a whirlwind of activities. It is a perfect centre for children too with lots of activities which will keep them entertained and amused. We recently visited with a group of friends and had a fantastic week, we went on a walking week and every effort was put in to make sure that the walks were not only enjoyable but also interesting, with lots of information about the area, customs and history. Evenings were spent listening to fabulous traditional music, and also watched the speedy step dancing night, some of us did it some of us watched!
The food was fresh wholesome, organic and all home made. It was a great holiday, I will definitely go there again, and many thanks to all the care and attention to detail from the lovely hosts.

Visited May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedHelp!Oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This week was jam packed with activities, a veritable treasure trail exploring one of the most unique and beautiful areas of Ireland. The walks were stunning with superbly knowledgeable guides including farmers and local people so you really got a great feel of the rich cultural heritage of the place as well as all sorts of ecological, ornathological and historical information. There were nightly Traditional Irish music sessions and we also joined the locals for their regular set dancing night in a barn in Kilfenora, it was loads of fun and I was swept off my feet by farmers all night! The Boghill centre is a beautiful tranquil place set in gorgeous surroundings. They are an eco-centre meaning that the carbon footprint of my trip was very low, something I'm passionate about. I am vegan and gluten free but this was no problem for their amazing cook, who caters for all dietary requirements and the food was delicious (especially the cakes!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The programme, the people and the place gave me a wonderful 'walking break'. The organisation was clear but flexible to fit people's needs, the atmosphere friendly and relaxed. The walks were varied and fascinating, with excellent guides who know and love the landscape. The food was excellent, nutritious, interesting, well presented. The room was simple, clean and warm. Being an eco-centre, it is both people-friendly and environmentally-friendly, feel-good without being fussy. I stayed on for an extra night's b&b, with a solo coast walk as an extra treat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyleagh, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A very friendly, fun place with great food and a very well organised, interesting and jam-packed time. The perfect thing for anyones first time (and more) in the Burren. Very good walking guides, very informative and really interesting. I felt very much at home in the Boghill Centre as everyone was so friendly and helpful and more than willing to cater for many different food requirements. Thankyou to you all, a most memorable time :-)

Room Tip: Those with weak bladders would probably be best to have an en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilfenora
1.7 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
306 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kilfenora Hostel
Kilfenora Hostel
#1 of 2 in Kilfenora
34 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elements Guest House
Elements Guest House
#2 of 16 in Lisdoonvarna
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boghill Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boghill Centre

Property: Boghill Centre
Address: Boghill, Kilfenora, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Kilfenora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kilfenora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Boghill we offer a break with a difference – a refreshing change from a hotel or guesthouse. B&B and Hostel accommodation is available all year round. Sleeping for up to 40 people can be arranged in bedrooms and dormitories to suit your particular requirements with ample toilet and shower facilities to hand. Single and twin Rooms En-suite twin rooms or single rooms sharing shower room are available for €35 including a continental breakfast. The double en-suite rooms are comfortable and practical. Each has two single beds which can be combined to create a double bed. The en-suite shower rooms feature power showers and shaving points. The single rooms are in two blocks – each block of two sharing a separate entrance and a shower room.Hostel accommodation Boghill welcomes hostelers particularly during the summer months when there aren’t so many large groups taking over all the centre beds. Do contact us if you would like an off season break as there is often room for individual hostelers. At quiet times kitchen facilities can be provided for those wishing to self cater. Hostel beds are €23 including continental breakfast (€17 without breakfast) Dormitories have attached shower rooms and hold 4 – 6 people. They can be booked for single or double occupancy only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing