We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility and comfort in an 150 years old house.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Brook Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Brook Cottage
Rear patio area
Outside
Play area for children
Small stream around Brook Cottage
The Dolmen
The famous Cliffs of Moher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kilfenora, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Carla L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tranquility and comfort in an 150 years old house.”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Brooke's Cottage is a unique place.
Although it is very old, you can find everything and more you need.
It has a great wooden stove, nice chairs, a very spacious kitchen with all kinds of build in equipment.
Two good electric showers( remember to put the boiler on before dinner if you want a hot shower before you go to bed)
And two cosy bedrooms with really clean bedding and towels.

One of the owners, Margaret is brought up in Brook's Cottage with a lot of brothers and sisters.
And that' s exactely what you feel when you rest your tired feet after a long walk in the nearby Burren: this house has a lovely history.

The owners PJ and Margaret does all the cleaning themselves.
I can assure you it is very neat and clean!

At night it is quiet and if the sky is clear one can see heaps of stars.
We saw a lot of wild animals in the garden including a marter.

There is no mobile internet.
There is service in the nearby village Kilfenora,you can reach it in only two carminutes or ten minutes walk.

In Kilfenora you can get information in the Burren Centre about the Burren, the Puoulnabrone tombe and many more interesting things to see.
We walked along the kliffs in Kilkee, made a boattrip to Moher and walked trough the stones and shrubs of the area.
Be sure to bring your hiking boots and go and see the kilfenora Ceili band in one of the pubs.

We had a great week in Brook's Cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dara o
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brook Cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned home from a wonderful week's holiday in this fabulous home from home, owned by the very welcoming and warm Margaret & PJ. We loved everything about the cottage and the surrounding areas - it's so central to all the brilliant and interesting places to see in the county of Clare, which makes visiting it such a worthwhile trip. We'd also recommend a visit to the lovely Pub in Kilfenora - Vaughans, very friendly atmosphere and wonderful food, all looked after by the fabulous Mark, who made us and our 3 children feel very welcome. Once again, thank you Margaret & PJ, and we hope to visit you again very soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caoimhe N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in a perfect location”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This cottage is beautiful and is located 5 minutes from the Burren centre. Both of the owners Margaret and PJ were lovely and extremely helpful. The house itself is stocked with all the utensils you would need in a rental. On entering the house you are greeted with a huge open fire in the sitting room. Off that are the two bedrooms; one ensuite. The kitchen is very large and fully equipped. Beside the kitchen you have a main bathroom in which toiletries are supplied. There is a storage cupboard next to that with extra blankets and pillows. The utility room is next to that and contains a washing machine and dryer with washing powder supplied. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Germany
2 reviews
“Beautiful place to discover the lovely side of Ireland”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Me, my best friend and her father came to Ireland for the first time and rented this beautiful little house. Its located in a small town named Kilfenora. It's the best place to go when you are looking for a little quiet time. The house owners Margaret and P.J. are very sweet and they gave us a warm welcome. The house has everything what you need when you are going on vacation. It even has a wasching machine and a dryer. Would definitely come back again for a second vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen D
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven in County Clare”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent just one night in this idyllic cottage, but we loved every second. From the moment we were greeted by the wonderful Margaret & PJ, we knew it would be a trip to remember.
The cottage, on approach, is like something out of a painting. It looked so beautiful in the afternoon sunshine. The only audible sounds as we stepped out of the car were song birds & the running water of the brook. I fell in love with the place right at that moment!
Inside, the house is overflowing with charm. There has been so much attention to detail & this is clear where ever you cast your gaze. The bedrooms are so cozy, the kitchen is equipped with everything you might need & the wood burning stove in the living room is the icing on the cake.
We definitely hope to return for a longer stay in the future. Many thanks again to PJ & Margaret for being such great hosts.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamorph...
2 reviews
“'A treasure of a place from which to explore the Burren!'”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at Brook Cottage a few years ago with my parents & we're back twice in the season this year! Such welcoming hosts in Margaret & PJ and you have everything you could need in a peaceful rural location & at the same time within minutes of the Burren Centre & shops in Kilfenora. Definitely recommend it!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0hncat
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quiet and homely place to stay - owners very friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you are looking for a homely quiet location for touring around this is the place to book Lovely home made scones and tea facilities were waiting for us on arrival - House has everything you would need - all that was missing was the weather but we enjoyed our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness and surrounding
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing