We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quiet place to relax and feel good :)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Brook Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Brook Cottage
Rear patio area
Outside
Play area for children
Small stream around Brook Cottage
The Dolmen
The famous Cliffs of Moher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kilfenora, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ricarda P
1 review
“A quiet place to relax and feel good :)”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2018

We stayed there for a week and it was like home for us. The cottage has everything you need. The hosts are really super friendly and help with any questions. The supermarket is only ten minutes away by car. It takes fifteen minutes to get to Lahinch beach where you can surf. There are many opportunities for things to do: visit a cave, explore the Burren, enjoy the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands. We have enjoyed our stay. If we travel to Ireland again, we will gladly return to Brook Cottage :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 2 May 2018 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

stayed here twice in the last few months. owners margaret and pj are lovely people house is immaculate and comfortable. faultless and also great value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norabyrne...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Stunning cottage”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Brook Cottage is stunning and ideally located. Margaret and PJ are perfect hosts and have a vast knowledge and history of the area...listening about the background of the house was fascinating. Our family were able to travel to the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher both within close proximity of the cottage. The cottage is beautiful and spotless and the grounds are charming, it is well equipped with everything for nice days/evenings in...especially the board games. We would be absolutely thrilled to stay again at Brook Cottage and highly recommend it to all. Thank you Margaret and PJ.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisareill...
County Meath, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect gateway to co.Clare and the burren”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my husband and our three children stayed here for our trip to Co.Clare, the hosts Margaret and pj where very friendly and there communication was outstanding, the house itself was very well presented and contained everything we needed for our self catering break away, My favorite thing about the house was its uniqueness and location, lovely and private with a beautiful little stream running beside it, my children had a great time roaming around and exploring the grounds without any worries.

The location is perfect for exploring Co.Clare, we visited the alawee caves to include the birds of prey which is a must and really helps to conserve the wildlife, also the cliffs of moher which were breathtaking and well worth a visit

We really Enjoyed out stay here and id have no hesitation on returning and would like to thank Margaret and pj for having us.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily2207
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay in the quiet Kilfenora.”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just got back from a great visit to Ireland. Brook Cottage is in a brilliant location for visiting many areas of the Republic of Ireland, just 1 hour drive from Galway and Limerick and half hour drives to Loop Head, Cliffs of moher, etc. Kilfenora is also a great spot to stay in for exploring the Burren.
We really enjoyed our stay here and although we didn't spend too much time in the cottage, it was very complete and we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. The hosts Margaret & Peter are lovely, helpful and very friendly. Although we didn't require their help after check in we got the feeling they would be right there if we needed them.
At the cottage itself there is no Mobile signal as well as no internet connection. This is sometimes a nice change whilst on holiday to be able to fully relax. But it is good to know before hand in case you are reliant on good internet.
The only thing I would comment on in the house itself is that the radiators cannot be adjusted to different temperatures or turned off in some rooms. This again is not a huge problem as we just put the heating on on a timer for an hour or two in the morning and again in the evening before going to bed. But the bedrooms got very hot, where as some of the other rooms stayed cool. The living room has a lovely log burner, which unfortunately we didn't use as we weren't there to use it, but a nice little addition.
Margaret supplied us with some lovely cakes and tea, coffee and milk to start our first day at the cottage.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect Family Break”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in this cottage for one week and had a wonderful break. The cottage has everything you could possibly need and is immaculately clean. There is no wi-fi or mobile coverage which for us was super, we wanted peace, quiet and quality family time and Brook Cottage was the perfect place. It is a good base to see the area. PJ and Margaret made us feel very welcome and are wonderful hosts. We left some of our belongings behind and they went above and beyond to have them returned to us. It is a great cottage, run by great people and a great base to see the County, go!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tranquility and comfort in an 150 years old house.”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Brooke's Cottage is a unique place.
Although it is very old, you can find everything and more you need.
It has a great wooden stove, nice chairs, a very spacious kitchen with all kinds of build in equipment.
Two good electric showers( remember to put the boiler on before dinner if you want a hot shower before you go to bed)
And two cosy bedrooms with really clean bedding and towels.

One of the owners, Margaret is brought up in Brook's Cottage with a lot of brothers and sisters.
And that' s exactely what you feel when you rest your tired feet after a long walk in the nearby Burren: this house has a lovely history.

The owners PJ and Margaret does all the cleaning themselves.
I can assure you it is very neat and clean!

At night it is quiet and if the sky is clear one can see heaps of stars.
We saw a lot of wild animals in the garden including a marter.

There is no mobile internet.
There is service in the nearby village Kilfenora,you can reach it in only two carminutes or ten minutes walk.

In Kilfenora you can get information in the Burren Centre about the Burren, the Puoulnabrone tombe and many more interesting things to see.
We walked along the kliffs in Kilkee, made a boattrip to Moher and walked trough the stones and shrubs of the area.
Be sure to bring your hiking boots and go and see the kilfenora Ceili band in one of the pubs.

We had a great week in Brook's Cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing