We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Holland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holland Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Pentre Berw B&B and Inns
wells somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trying hard”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

we stayed for 2 nights first impressions were not good the place looked tired the upstairs landings very scruffy, but the room had been refurbished and was excellent, unfortunately it was not en-suite and the bathroom we used was very run down, the toilet cistern did not function properly and the shower only delivered cold water! After complaining we were given use of a new bathroom in an unfinished room, on a good note the staff were good and the food was fantastic i am sure given time this will be a good place to stay

Room Tip: ask for newly refurbished en- suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandieWellsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
18
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After taking my mother out shopping, we were passing so we pulled into the large car park , as you go in from the car park there is a stair case leading up to the bar but if you go in through the front door just a little to the left then this is ideal for wheelchair acces , the bar area was empty so I thought this doesn't look good !but it soon got busier , The lady at the bar was really friendly and pleasant , we sat by the door leading to the beer garden which was nice and light , the bar area is a little on the dark side but that's the position of the building I think , the bar area and hotel in general looked modern and very clean . The menu had Lots of choices but we only wanted a light lunch , I orderd a prawn and Marie rose sauce on a panini which had a side salad and a portion of chips which I had not orderd ,my mother had ham,egg,chips and peas , the ham was thick and cooked perfectly ( 2-3 slices ) it came with 2 eggs , I paid approx £17.00 including drinks ,this was well worth the money and was a really nice meal we will be going back again soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

i must recommend the holland arms for the lovely food i had when i went 2 visit my daughter on a tuesday afternoon i will call again keep it up and it feels like home,i will always be visiting here good caring staff always helpful

Room Tip: did not stay that time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 604annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

There were 13 of us including a baby and we were welcomed by lovely staff. The rooms were clean and beds lovely. Evening meals were excellent and not pub grub, nice and freshly cooked , enjoyed by all. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Food cooked with TLC not what you would expect from a pub my husband had duck with black pudding followed by cherry crumble, myself chicken stuffed with smoked salmon done to perfection , followed by bread and butter pudding . If you want good fresh cooked food look no further by the way we went back twice more during our break in anglsey . Friendly staff ,Found on A5 at gaerwen towards holyhead next to a good garden centre, just up the road rspb walk on flat

Room Tip: Didnt stay at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misspiggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglesey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner tonight, shared the garlic mushrooms which were the best I have ever tasted, the sauce was amazing! Both of us had fish as main meals and we were very satisfied, the sauces were so nice! We will be back for certain!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jayniejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Straight up, this review is scathing!!!

1. At least the Castle, for all its bad points, had hot water in the shower. In fact, it had water in the shower, and you could actually fit underneath it.

2. Again, for all its bad points, at least at the Castle, I could get a hot breakfast.

3. The single glazed windows allowed me to enjoy the sounds of cars, police vehicle sirens, the great outdoors, since they did not even block the cold weather.

Take a drive 10 minutes down the road and stay in LLangefni township, where you can get a good hot shower, a decent meal, and stay nice and warm.

Yet another wonderful experience to be added to the company blacklist.

Thank you very much for nothing...I gave you one dot only because it wouldn't let me give you NONE!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShouldBeFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saz181, Manager at Holland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the Holland Arms Hotel.

We only took over this establishment at the end of September last year so have altogether only been here nearly 5 months, we are currently working hard to update and refurbish all our rooms to a high standard. But unfortunately we cannot justify closing the hotel to do this so the rooms are getting done up one at a time.

Also on the day you checked in we had no water at all that morning due to a burst water main just a little down the road. I'm sure if you had gone into Llangefni the following morning you would have had to stop at the traffic lights that had been put in place so they could dig up the road to get to the water pipes.

The hotel is also owned by a brewery so anything to do with the structure is unfortunately not something we can resolve ourselves (as much as we would like to) if it was we could take your comments regarding the windows on board.

In regards to the rescue services going past the hotel they were acting in response to a road traffic accident in which a vehicle had overturned and the occupants had to be cut free from the wreckage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentre Berw
13.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
296 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
14.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
341 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Arms Hotel

Property: Holland Arms Hotel
Address: Pentre Berw | Gaerwen, Pentre Berw, Gaerwen LL60 6HY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Gaerwen > Pentre Berw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pentre Berw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Arms Hotel Pentre Berw, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing