We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holland Arms Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holland Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Pentre Berw B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holland Arms Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms on the internet looked lovely and very high standard so I booked Bed and Breakfast for myself and my husband for a 2 night stay. When we arrived the barmaid advised that the breakfast is only continental! Also she wanted to take the final payment for the stay, I had paid £80 deposit and advised I wasnt paying the full balance until my last night.We were shown to our room which was clean newly decorated contemporay and newly fitted ensuite which was lovely. Could have done with bottled water in the room as it was a hot weekend. Our window was above the kItchen fan which didnt turn out to be a problem as it was turned off at 9! We ate our evening meal in the hotel and it was delicous hot good prepared food. Only once did one of the waitresses asked if our meal was ok. After kicking out time on the Saturday night the locals youths had decided to stay around outside in the car park shouting until early hours. Breakfast was not continental it was cerals and toast, tea and coffee, no pastries, yogurt, fruit, ham cheeses! Second morning we went to breakfast there was no one there to greet us. Again only cereals and toast to eat No one came to see if we were ok or needed anything. I left the room key on the breakfast table and left.Not once had the landlord/host make themselves known or seem to care we were there and if we needed anything. I understand what the owners are doing, they are gradually doing the hotel up in to which will be a lovely B & B but unfortuately customer service and going that extra mile with your customers with a full option breakfast is expected when you charge £80 per night BB. Until they have completed the refurb a reduction in price should be applied.

Room Tip: New refurbished room was lovely and the meal in the restaurant was delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahmiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
18
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Anglesey and ate on three occasions at the Holland Inn at Pentre Berw. The food was amazing, we were made so welcome and our small well behaved dog was also made welcome. The girls were so courteous and we were well looked after. I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Called here for a lunch time meal with a party of 12 celebrating a friends' birthday. I asked the waitress for a 'special' meal as I had recently started slimming world and had to avoid many foods, including hidden fats and carbs in sauces, etc. I asked for a grilled gammon steak and a large undressed salad, this is exactly what I received and all the fat had been trimmed from the gammon prior to cooking! It turns out the chef had also been to slimming world. The rest of the group had a selection from the menu which included home made lasagne, venison with a juniper sauce, home made burgers, hand cut chips (I really had to resist these) and two children meals. The mother of the youngest child asked for a plate of tomatoes, cucumber and raw carrot sticks for her fussy toddler and was delighted to be served a basket full of healthy nibbles. The service was a bit slow, especially as the restaurant was not full, but well worth the delay. I can fully recommend this restaurant for anyone on slimming world and for everyone who loves good, wholesome home cooked food. There was no pressure for us to hurry up and we spent a leisurely couple of hours celebrating with our friend.

Room Tip: Sorry I can't describe the hotel and sleeping accommodation part of the Hotel as I only ate ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serendipity2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Visited The Holland Arms because of its location to our home in Newborough. I'm a big fan of Lees beer but I have to say on this occasion the bitter was terrible. Cloudy, stale and clearly pass it's best....Barman came up with an excuse but no apology.
On the plus side the food was nice, we had the ham & eggs and the waitress friendly.
Please sort the ale out !!!!!


Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Lovley food. Cant fault it. Sometimes some of the young waitresses seem to be bit hap hazzard with the service. They need to be bit more on the ball. When we sit down. Menus wernt boight to us for.ages and had to ask for.them a few times we visited. All in all excellent. Place looks nice now too. Good choices on the menu.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wells somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

we stayed for 2 nights first impressions were not good the place looked tired the upstairs landings very scruffy, but the room had been refurbished and was excellent, unfortunately it was not en-suite and the bathroom we used was very run down, the toilet cistern did not function properly and the shower only delivered cold water! After complaining we were given use of a new bathroom in an unfinished room, on a good note the staff were good and the food was fantastic i am sure given time this will be a good place to stay

Room Tip: ask for newly refurbished en- suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandieWellsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

After taking my mother out shopping, we were passing so we pulled into the large car park , as you go in from the car park there is a stair case leading up to the bar but if you go in through the front door just a little to the left then this is ideal for wheelchair acces , the bar area was empty so I thought this doesn't look good !but it soon got busier , The lady at the bar was really friendly and pleasant , we sat by the door leading to the beer garden which was nice and light , the bar area is a little on the dark side but that's the position of the building I think , the bar area and hotel in general looked modern and very clean . The menu had Lots of choices but we only wanted a light lunch , I orderd a prawn and Marie rose sauce on a panini which had a side salad and a portion of chips which I had not orderd ,my mother had ham,egg,chips and peas , the ham was thick and cooked perfectly ( 2-3 slices ) it came with 2 eggs , I paid approx £17.00 including drinks ,this was well worth the money and was a really nice meal we will be going back again soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentre Berw
1.7 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
6.4 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#2 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
13.5 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
17.1 mi away
South Stack Coastal Retreats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Arms Hotel

Property: Holland Arms Hotel
Address: Pentre Berw | Gaerwen, Pentre Berw, Gaerwen LL60 6HY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Gaerwen > Pentre Berw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pentre Berw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Arms Hotel Pentre Berw, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing