We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for an overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silence Le Relais des Etangs de Guibert
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stop”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

quite a long trek from the motorway , but broke up the journey.
quite good value & tasty evening meal & no problem that we didn't arrive until 9.30pm.
rooms nothing to write home about; we were in the "disabled room" with direct access onto the road & no access to the hotel; a bit weird.

Room Tip: not the one on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurencemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    23
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is situated in the countryside next to a lake, a beautiful setting!
Our friends had a room with view at the lake, nice and confortable but it was difficult to get in and out the shower. In the morning they only heard the birds.
But we had a room at the other side of the building and constantly we heard 'motor' noise (as the extractor in the bathroom).
We had a very nice eveningmeal, good and friendly service. But what spoilt our quiet evening was the noice of the childern of the owner! Also the piano music was to loud.
That is not what you expect of a 'Relais de Silence', yes the silence was outside but not in the hotel or restaurant.
The breakfast was a buffet with a reasonable choice.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms 1 to 4 (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikie443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The situation of the hotel is etraordinary, on a lake with a forest around, truly a postcardsetting.
The room (nr 16) was very spacious , the bathroom too, but the decor and furniture were really
outdated and it was a mixture of everything you can buy on the market. In the shower was an invalid stool (nice for an invalid!) but not nice to look at when you are not an invalid, it gave you the impression of being in a hospital.
The restaurant has a great view on the lake and the food was very acceptable, no complaints.
The most important drawback is the attitude of the staff, you don't feel very wellcome and you have to ask for anything, as they say the staff is not pro-active. For example: around 16.30 hr we went in the lounge, a lady was watching television, she hardly nodded at us and didn't ask:
can I help you? So we had to ask: can we have a drink. Second example : in the morning we came down and a lady was in the hallway bringing two children to the kitchen leaving us alone, while we were wondering where to go for the breakfast. So after a few moments we called, can you help us, we want to have breakfast, then se came out of the kitchen saying: breakfast starts at 7.30 h,...... it was then 7,29 hr!......
So all in all, we think there is a lot to learn to be really proactive and let the clients feel really at home.


w

Room Tip: room nr 5, nice view/ room 16 spacious but outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gert J. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

After all the good reviews we wondered if we'd stepped into a parallel universe.
Room 9 was very clean and extremely well equipped with a large bathroom. However for a Relais de Silence we did not expect to hear footsteps above our room at night, during the night and in the morning Can only assume family including children were above us.
The staff in the restaurant were friendly enough but the food very disappointing. My two spare ribs with mashed potato were cold and to be honest after 6 days I can't remember the other courses.
The breakfast room was clinical and totally self service. Not a member of staff in sight.As they were wandering about above our room all night maybe they were too tired to appear.
We met the very unwelcoming English owner when we left and can honestly say that having lived in France for the last 10 years and travelled extensively there for 25 years we would be hard pushed to think of someone less welcoming.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Redgwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is one hotel that has never disappointed us . The building is picturesque and quirky and peacefully located on the edge of the lake. beautiful rooms - we had a four poster bed and this year our room even included a whirlpool bath ( rather noisy when running but good fun!) Evening meals , taken in the huge characterful dining room , are imaginative, excellent value for money and offer extremely generous portions ! It is worth returning here for the food alone !! Good choice on the self service buffet breakfast sets you up for a day of traveling !
At a total of 112 Euros for dinner (including drinks) , bed and breakfast you just cannot go wrong!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Extremeful tranquil location with a most pleasant aspect over a lake (although sadly not from room 10) - very convenient as a stop-over point some 10 mins or so off the main road..

The evening meal at 21 Euros was excellent. We didn't have breakfast.

Room 10 was adequate. Very clean, with good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is perfectly placed for an overnight stop whether disembarking early from Calais or later from Ouistreham.It is just off the A28 (about 5 or 10 minutes) in a pretty and tranquil setting. There is plenty of parking and the welcome is warm. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Ours overlooked the lake, had a small seating area and the bathroom was well equipped with a good shower as well as a spa bath.
The food is excellent but a word of warning, bring a hearty appetite with you. The dishes are rich and filling and as there is no à la carte you will have at least three courses with probably some nibbles in between. There is a good choice of set menus. Breakfasts are good although I am not sure that I would praise them quite so highly as some reviewers.
When we stayed there were no French guests, all were English which might or might not be an advantage depending on your outlook. Either way there are no language problems.
Finally the price: It is amazing value, the accommodation and the evening meal would be reasonable at getting on for twice the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francis161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neufchatel-en-Saosnois
7.3 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
8.3 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#1 of 11 in Alencon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
9.4 mi away
Chateau de Sarceaux
Chateau de Sarceaux
#1 of 3 in Valframbert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
8.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
#3 of 3 in Valframbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silence Le Relais des Etangs de Guibert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silence Le Relais des Etangs de Guibert

Property: Silence Le Relais des Etangs de Guibert
Address: Lieu Dit les Etangs de Guibert, 72600 Neufchatel-en-Saosnois, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Neufchatel-en-Saosnois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neufchatel-en-Saosnois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silence Le Relais des Etangs de Guibert 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Silence Le Relais des Etangs de Guibert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silence Le Relais Des Etangs De Guibert France/Neufchatel-En-Saosnois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing