We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place - very special!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mar da Ardora
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Finisterre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place - very special!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful 2 nights here and wish we could have stayed longer! We could certainly like to return. The weather was terrible but it didn't matter because walking to the lighthouse in the fog added to the atmosphere! It's only about 10 minutes walk to the town (even in the rain!). What is great about this place is that everything is done to make your stay special. There is the friendly and helpful service, the cleanliness and luxury of the place, the fact that you can help yourself to tea, coffee, beer, soft drinks at any time, as well as home made cake. There is a new wellness centre and it was well worth the €25 each for exclusive hire for 3 hours. There is a pool with massaging showers, a jacuzzi and other features, overlooking the sea. You can walk to a beautiful beach along an easy path and the sunsets are amazing - even when there is a lot of cloud! The highlight is the complimentary supper at 8pm when you are offered wine and fresh produce from the garden. We had pimientos padron, lovely bread, tomato and mozzarella salad, for example. It's a very special place and well worth going to!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
135
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel on trip advisor and reading the good reviews decided to book. Very glad we did.
It is about 10mins walk down to the harbour and main restaurants but it's a lovely walk and worth coming back up the hill to watch the sunset from the west facing balconies. Amazing views.
Really friendly helpful staff who spoke lots of languages.
Great breakfast selection and the very best bit was complimentary early evening tapas served on the terrace along with wine.
Treat yourselves especially at the end of the Camino as they have a spa too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Applepippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Fisterra is a small fishermen village with an amazing lighthouse. The place to stay is Hotel Mar da Ardora. Right on the beach, with stunning views, Andrea will make feel at home making your stay the most comfortable experience, with suggestions that will satisfy your expectations. She doen not act like the hotel manager she is, but as a friend who knows all the secreta sin the area. The Hotel has everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomorestories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Wow!!!! That's the best description of this incredible hotel and for it's crew. In my case I had a long travel from Barcelona and I couldn't avoid to get a bit loss in the way to the hotel, so the owner of the hotel offered himself to wait for us and guides us trough the way to. It's was a nice detail knowing that I was 1:16am and we all were tired. The morning breakfast was absolutely well served, alsoy room with an amazing room with an incredible beach view. You won't feel disappointed if you stay here, it totally worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicacorser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This place was absolutely wonderful. The room was spotlessly clean with stunning views from the balcony. The lovely supplied supper (free) was substantial and delicious - with wine too! Very unexpected and our hostess so gracious and lovely. Let alone the incredible sunset. This place is a hidden gem, we loved our one night stay and we would have loved to stay longer!

Room Tip: All rooms excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umarpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We walked the Camino de Santiago Portuguese Coastal route and after finishing in Santiago we took the bus to Fisterra (Finisterre). We decided to stay somewhere really nice to treat ourselves and we couldn't have chosen better than Hotel Naturaleza Mar da Ardora!! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a friendly lady that showed us our room and let us check in even though we were early. She gave us a little tour showing us a little bar area with free softdrinks and wine and a beautiful homemade cake! She also explained that there were complementary aperitifs at 8pm.

We took the free bikes out and had some lunch and then rode up to the lighthouse. This was quite special and marked the true end of the Camino for us. It seemed more significant than walking into Santiago for us. The ride up the hill was long and hard, but downhill made it all worthwhile! After getting back to the Hotel we had a shower in the most amazing shower you have ever seen. It is an experience! We then took a couple of the drinks, a piece of the cake and sat out on the chairs outside our room in the sun and put on a facemask and foot cream to give us a little boost after the walk. It was just perfect!

Around 7.45pm we got a call letting us know that our aperitifs were nearly ready to be served. We headed out and had some beautiful food which was made by the owner Andrea from her organic garden. The food was delicious and just enough for us after our big lunch so that we didn't need dinner. We also truly enjoyed some conversation with other guests (the first english conversation we had in a couple of weeks!). Andrea was a lovely hostess and I wish we had of stayed longer - it seemed as though we would become good friends!

When we left - walking off down the road with our packs to catch the bus, Andrea called out to us and ran down to give us a hug goodbye! Next time I would stay for at least 2 or 3 nights!

Room Tip: We had a room downstairs with a balcony and it was perfect, although I think all the rooms would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Wow you have got to go to this hotel. Wonderful service, great location, brilliant views to the beach to see the last sunset in Spain. The hotel itself is small (only 6 rooms) but they all look west and there is complimentary drinks (soft and alcoholic) as well as a lovely tapas appetiser meal using fresh produce from their market garden to see the sun go down. Free wifi too. Absolutely fantastic value. Smart rooms which all have a terrace with seats and there are loungers and a hot tub at your disposal as well - this hotel offers so much for the price.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms as they all look west with an outside terrace, but we thought the ground floor ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finisterre
1.6 mi away
Alen do mar
Alen do mar
#1 of 8 in Finisterre
215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Playa Langosteira
Playa Langosteira
#5 of 8 in Finisterre
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
O Semaforo de Fisterra
O Semaforo de Fisterra
#4 of 8 in Finisterre
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ancora
Ancora
#8 of 8 in Finisterre
143 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Oca Insua Costa da Morte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar da Ardora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar da Ardora

Property: Hotel Mar da Ardora
Address: Calle de la Potina n0 15 | Playa de Mar de Fora, 15155 Finisterre, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Cape Finisterre > Finisterre
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Finisterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mar da Ardora 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mar da Ardora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing