We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bar”
Review of Bar El Tigre

Bar El Tigre
Reserve with
Bar El Tigre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Alhama de Granada, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great little bar”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

El Tigre bar is a classic Andalusian bar. It may be compact, occupying a slim corner plot at the top of the main square, but it certainly punches above it's weight. Antonio, the ever present patron, is a bundle of tireless energy dispensing great quality wine (he is very knowledgeable), cold draft beer and fantastic seasonal tapas. El Tigre is open from breakfast right through to the early hours most days. In summer they also have a terrace at the top of the square in Alhama de Granada.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    24
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and what us Brits first came to Spain looking for !”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The guy is a genius and not just with his food, he definatley has the banter and could sell snow to the Eskimos ! but the tapas and meats etc are just fantastic. It is like meeting a long lost friend and not too pricey either. We stopped for a bocadillo and ended up eating the local lamb which was amazing, tocina and chicharones and manteca (not for the faint or should I say weak hearted but fab). The wine, the craic everything was fantastic and we shall be back with plan to have more than a bocadillo !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow...”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We knew we were in good hands when the bottle of wine opened...and we progressed, in good hands, through about nine different courses (tapas, really, but pretty elegant and absolutely delicious). Antonio doesn't bother with small talk, except for some coaxing and a little flattery, and instead he spends his energy making really, really good food. Salad, clams, two different bacalao dishes, pinxos moros (pork skewers), berenjenas fritas con miel de caña (fried eggplant with molasses...unbelievably tasty), things I cannot even remember. After the bill--€34 (that's with the wine)--he also served us dessert, and a wee dram of some delicious liqueur. An amazing deal (so amazing that we went for breakfast twice, and lunch the next day, too...all consistently delicious), and a really pleasant place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Get Tapas Here”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If you want authentic tapas, go here and bring your appetite. But, the bar is really an oversized closet with only two tables so get there right at 8PM. Antonio, the proprietor, will start the tapas train and the dishes will appear as if by magic. We started with a superb salad with peppers, artichoke hearts, white celery and of course pepers, hard boiled eggs and tomatoes all dressed in delightful olive oil and vinegar. Then came sautéed mushrooms, sautéed clams, fried lightly breaded fish, salt crusted prawns, country ham with melon and on and on and on. We were stuffed and the bill was only 14 Euros. Go to this place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tiny, but welcoming Tapas Bar”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This may be one of the smallest eateries I've been in but that made it very charming. The owner, Antonio, greeted my husband and I very warmly and made us feel so welcome. Although I'm not impressed with tapas in general, these were by far the best tapas I've ever had. My favorite was the fried fish fillets. Out of this world good! We had at least six courses of tapas and the bill was around 25 euros so its a good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar El Tigre also viewed

Alhama de Granada, Province of Granada
Alhama de Granada, Province of Granada
 
Alhama de Granada, Province of Granada
Alhama de Granada, Province of Granada
 
Alhama de Granada, Province of Granada
Alhama de Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Bar El Tigre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing