We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Seguiriya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Seguiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in this small family run hotel back in April (sorry the review is a bit late). We booked it on the basis of all the reviews we had read and can say that we were not disappointed. Paco and his family are extremely welcoming and helpful, the food simple but delicious and the views from the terrace down the gorge amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 119Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelseguiriya, Gerente at Hotel La Seguiriya, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su amabilidad y comentario. Ojalá volvamos a tenerles con nosotros en una próxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked on the strength of other reviews on this site and were not disappointed. Spent two nights in a spotless twin room with really comfortable beds, walk in shower, excellent tv picture and we had excellent wifi(the router was outside our bedroom). All much better than in the 4 star hotel in Granada from where I am writing this review. Breakfast was delicious - fresh orange, coffee and something different prepared by Paco each morning. Situated in a quiet part of town in a fantastic position overlooking the gorge. A really tranquil and relaxing place to stay. Thick walls made for a shady and cool interior which was very welcome in the heat. A real gem !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelseguiriya, Gerente at Hotel La Seguiriya, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por su comentario. Ustedes y su amabilidad nos ayudan mucho en nuestro trabajo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week in this wonderful, family run, hotel. Paco was great, the food was delicious, fresh fruit every day and charming atmosphere. We loved it and would strongly recommend it to anyone!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelseguiriya, Gerente at Hotel La Seguiriya, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Google Translation
Hemos estado muy felices compartiendo con vosotros nuestra casa. Gracias y ojalá podamos volver a vernos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very friendly family run B&B. Traditional house with good facilities and excellent meals. Paco gave us a Flamenco CD as a gift as we had been listening to the haunting music while at La Seguiriya. The terrace is perfect for drinks and just relaxing with beautiful views to the Gorge. A big thank you to Paco, his daughter and son inlaw for making us feel so welcome on our first visit to Andalucia.

Room Tip: Our family room was pretty good and quiet, apart from one day due to activity in the street. Quite t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelseguiriya, Gerente at Hotel La Seguiriya, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Google Translation
Gracias a ustedes por su amabilidad. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I don't know where to start. We arrived at La Seguiriya to stay for 2 nights while we began a bicycle tour and were immediately charmed. Paco's daughter checked us in and spoke very good English (our Spanish is practically non-existent). She was very nice and even allowed us to move to a 1 room suite with balcony since they weren't busy and promised not to use the other room and mess up the linens. We arranged for dinner that night and got to meet the illustrious Paco. He rules his dining room and is constantly working the room making sure everyone is happy and singing bits and pieces of songs. He speaks very little English, but that didn't prevent him from trying to help us with the menu and pantomiming through conversations about our daily activities. We had great fun there. The next afternoon we came back from bicycling close to siesta when he usually closes the front door for awhile. I requested a snack to eat on the terrace and he went out of his way to enthusiastically help me prepare a small platter of white wine, almonds, walnuts, cheese & olives to enjoy. We had the terrace to ourselves while we went to siesta, and it was one of those YES! moments that we spent out there enjoying our wine and food. Another day we were leaving town on the bikes and were a bit confused, when we heard a hearty Hola ! and there was Paco, cycling as well, so he made sure we were on the right road, then insisted we follow him as he was heading out that direction as well. (He's in great cycling shape by the way!). After leaving for 3 nights elsewhere on the bikes, we returned for 1 last night there and it was like coming home. I don't see how anyone could not like this hotel and this gracious host and his lovely family. Well done Paco!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bushwacker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelseguiriya, Gerente at Hotel La Seguiriya, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus amables palabras y por disfrutar tanto de nuestra casa y de Alhama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We came to Alhama de Granada on the one bus per day from Granada. We were greeted by Agustin who welcomed us at La Seguiriya with glasses of beer and then ushered us through to a splendid terrace where a large group of family and friends were singing flamenco. One of the singers looked like Cezanne or possibly Karl Marx and was equally imposing.There was a certain weirdness of the unfamiliar but I immediately felt drawn to this place with its entrancing, other-wordly atmosphere. Everything about this place worked well; the house and room were quirky and fascinating; a real gem in a totally unpretentious way. Paco, the owner, is clearly a much-loved and charismatic figure, who prepared a delicious breakfast of freshly-pressed orange juice, fresh fruit, smoked ham, tomatoes, omelette, toast and coffee, exercises a benign and wise authority over this whole place.
My only regret was that we booked in for only one night. I would like to have stayed longer and will come back. We had a delicious lunch the next day (a real treat before we endured a long and slow journey back to Malaga). This is a unique and splendid place.

Room Tip: Try a room with access to the terrace; the views are unmatched.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelseguiriya, Gerente at Hotel La Seguiriya, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario. Nosotros tambien lamentamos que no se pudieran quedar con nosotros mas tiempo, pero les esperamos siempre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We just returned from 11 days in the Andalucía region of Spain - the last two of which we spent at La Seguiriya. The B&B was hyped up by our guide book, and on first impressions, it didn't look as amazing as we expected, with an unassuming exterior on a quiet street off the main square in Alhama.
However, when we entered, the dining room was very charming, characterful and clean, with an abundance of interesting artworks. We were shown to our room, which was off the garden terrace, downstairs. The terrace is a lovely space, especially in the sunshine, and has great views out over the gorge and surrounding cliffs. Our room was nice, with a walk-in wardrobe; stylish bathroom and comfy bed.
The breakfast at La Seguiriya was the best we had all holiday. The restaurant serves very nice food - the best we found in Alhama by a long stretch. The almond & asparagus soup; pork loin and cod were delicious. (Avoid some of the places on the square which are pricey with very poor food.)
There are nice, scenic local walks and a great bike hire place called Cycling Country close to the hotel. The hot springs in Alhama are also well worth a visit - you can go for free, although take a couple of euros for parking.
The best thing about La Seguiriya, which really sets it apart, is that it is run by 2 generations of a lovely family. They are also so welcoming and go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and easy. Paco is the star of the show, and obviously loves his job - he really makes you feel special!
Thank you for a great stay, and a fab end to our holiday in Spain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelseguiriya, Gerente at Hotel La Seguiriya, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por la descripción tan minuciosa que hace de La Seguiriya y de Alhama. Estamos muy contentos de que finalizaran con nosotros sus vacaciones y se lleven un bonito recuerdo de Andalucía.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhama de Granada
Hotel El Ventorro
#2 of 3 in Alhama de Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Seguiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Seguiriya

Property: Hotel La Seguiriya
Address: Calle Penas 12, 18120, Alhama de Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Alhama de Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alhama de Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Seguiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Seguiriya Alhama De Granada, Spain - Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing