We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIRTHDAY CAVE”
Review of Hotel El Ventorro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Ventorro
Reviewed 22 April 2013

What a wonderful experience - one I will never forget. The cave bedrooms, although small, are tastefully decorated and have a lovely 'feel'. It was the best night's sleep I have had in weeks!! We also treated ourselves to a session of pure indulgence and relaxation in the hotel's Arab baths (you need to pre-book). Spa treatments are available at a very reasonable price. I would recommend taking a walk along the nearby, very beautiful gorge (the staff at Hotel El Ventorro will be happy to show you the route on a map) - it takes around 30 minutes and you will be welcomed by a good choice of tapas restaurants once you reach Alhama at the other side. Meson de Diego in the Plaza Constitucion is worth a visit - you will receive a free tapa with every drink bought. The tapas bar directly opposite Meson de Diego (can't remember the name!!) is also very very good; the staff genuinely care and go out of their way to make sure you receive an outstanding level of service with every visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bekka_boot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely decorated arab baths "hamman" for a spa session at a very affordable price, followed by a fantastic lunch for two for under 30 euros for two people with a beer each.

The lamb " cordero" was cooked to perfection and the fish was absolutely delightful. A place to return again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We walked down from Alhama through the gorge and ate lunch (menu of the day) and can say that the food, welcome, service and value were first rate. The food is traditional Andalucian and with a bottle of rosada came to 34 euros for two,

There's a nice sheltered area in front of the restaurant for those wanting a drink and a snack.

Well worth the walk.

Closed on Mondays!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterN.E.England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have visited el Ventorro twice, each time as a birthday treat. The first time we stayed in one of the cave bedrooms, the second in "an above ground bedroom". We enjoyed both. We also booked the arab bath experience with massage which made for a special occasion. Each time we took friends and they enjoyed the stay equally. After a good breakfast we walked down the gorge to Alhama de Granada (highly recommended) and managed to return in time for the set lunch menu, which is excellent value. Friendly staff, pleasant ambiance, pretty setting. A shame the restaurant is only open for lunch. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Pictures of all rooms are on the website, if in cave room a room nearer the entrance will have a win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyeroxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband, 8-month old daughter and I had a wonderful stay at El Ventorro. We stayed in a cave-room - really different, spotless and nicely decorated. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, particularly in relation to our daughter. We thoroughly enjoyed three visits to the serene and relaxing baths. Would wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaGlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Great stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated with Moroccan. Furniture and accesories. We stayed inthe cave rooms. We didn't have windows in our rooms but I disnt miss that. The hammam is fab as well. The restaurant is only open for lunch but the town is a short drive away.
Great trip for when it gets colder in Andalusia.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SjaakLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Just a wonderful getaway. Haven't seen the other 21 modern rooms, because we wanted to stay in a cave. Room 36, Zaida, did'nt have a window, that we didn't like, so remember to order a cave with a window. That is if you want it, of course:-) Otherwise, nice decorated room and huge bathroom. The restaurant is so cozy and calm, no music or TV, just loved the food. And you can buy local oil, soap, cream. Located by a lake you can make small walks. Restaurant closed on evenings but Alhama de Granada is just 5 min away by car, and you can walk along the gorge of 2 km. Top of it all was the Hammam. 3 various temperatures in the basins and a Turkish bath as well. Bring your own bathing hat and sandals or they'll charge you extra because it's obligatory.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labedabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhama de Granada
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Seguiriya
Hotel La Seguiriya
#1 of 3 in Alhama de Granada
158 reviews
24.2 mi away
Balneario de Alhama de Granada Hotel
Balneario de Alhama de Granada H...
#3 of 3 in Alhama de Granada
83 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
El Amparo
El Amparo
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz del Comercio
155 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Los Canos de la Alcaiceria
Hotel Restaurante Los Canos de l...
#2 of 4 in Alhama de Granada
22 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Salmerones
Apartamentos Salmerones
#1 of 4 in Alhama de Granada
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ventorro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ventorro

Address: Estamos en Ctra. de Jatar, Km. 2, Alhama de Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Alhama de Granada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alhama de Granada
Price Range: £50 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Ventorro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Ventorro Alhama De Granada, Spain - Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing