We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Chihuahua Soberano
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Chihuahua
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The Soberano has a commanding view of Chihuahua. But she is an older hotel that puts up a game face. That being said, I enjoyed the stay. The staff is extremely curteous. The room was very clean and had a fresh air about it. I liked the pool.

But, there is a sense of things abandoned. None of the bars are staffed. The outside... although clean was missing any kind of service. Maybe I was there the wrong season to be hanging out at the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    61
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
18
21
8
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel is now called just 'Soberano' as the Westin is no longer managing it. The hotel is well appointed and the staff is very corteous, but it seems to be in need of some refurbishment as the carpets and toilets seem to be getting on in time. There was no mini-bar in the room I stayed in and I had to go down to the bar to get refreshments, which was not very convenient. The television was quite old and unable to show all the colors which was a bit disappointing. The hotel is situated in the newer part of Chihuahua and is far from the city center and tourist attractions and maybe more suitable for business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nueva York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a fantastic property, probably to ambitious. It has a very nice lobby area with live music at the bar almost every night. It has a nice pool overlooking the city but its not warm on the winter months. The rooms are ok, a bit worn down but nothing to worry about. The bathrooms are nice but somehow the door always gets on your way. It has a separated tub and shower with the Westin double heads. The service is very good overall, if you stay in the "executive" floor there is a nice spread for breakfast and dinner, it is well worth the upgrade. This is by far the nicest hotel in Chihuahua but my guess is their occupancy rate is barely 50% and hence they can't really keep up at a 100% probably why they lost the Westin banner. However they still do a good job, there is no other hotel with such a nice property in Chihuahua. The room service early in the morning was not the best I have had, it tasted like yesterday's food and it probably was. In all fairness it was very early in the AM.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRGNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The check in and out procedures were flawless, the people friendly and competent, the room was spacious, as was the bathroom, and it had nice shampoo and other amenities. The room was also fairly quiet - the only things I could hear from outside the room was music from the atrium, but I never heard anyone in the corridor or water rushing in other rooms. The service at the breakfast buffet was very good. Some minor housekeeping issues (the switch for one lamp was broken, the shower door had some leakage onto the floor). All in all, a very nice choice.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a business trip and it was very nice, rooms were clean and large, the lobby is amazing and the buffet breakfast was fantastic, pool area is amazing and there are high fences and gates the whole way around, only thing I found odd coming from Australia was that if you ask for a coke or lemonade it isn't kept refrigerated, you either have it hot or with a mountain of ice.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiekelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swan lake mb canada
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights recent thanks to delays by United. All in all an excellent hotel.

Service : staff were excellent, very friendly and desk staff all spoke impeccable English. All staff were great, the maid even wrote us a little thank you note for the tips we left her. Bar staff were great as well.

Room : no problems, gorgeous view of city skyline.

Restaurant : breakfast buffet was very good. Had a 4-course dinner at Los Candiles which was excellent with a view over the city. Unfortunately we were all alone in the restaurant, but the service/experience was excellent. Soups/salads/mains and dessert were all very good. Not cheap, but good for the price compared top Canada.

There is a taxi rank just down the street ; we never waited more than 1 min for a taxi. May not be a Westin but still a very well-run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was my first time in Chihuahua and I was happy to stay at a Westin because no matter where they are in the world I know what to expect. Imagine my suprise when I arrived to find out it wasn't a Westin anymore!

Overall my experience at the hotel was average. The rooms were ok but there were stains all over the carpets and chairs. The toilet ran all the time and the keys to the room reset every day so we had to get new keys daily.

The good part of the hotel is its centerally located and in a good part of town. The service was decent overall and the rooms were ok.

The bad part was the food in the two restaurants was poor for lunch and dinner. We didn't want to leave the hotel because of safety so we ate at the hotel numerous times eating different things every time. Each time the food wasn't good so my recommendation is don't stay here if you require to eat at the hotel like I did.

Next time in Chihuahua I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Thin walls so try to stay on top floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnowingThisKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chihuahua hotels
2.6 mi away
Casa Grande Chihuahua Business Plus Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Chihuahua City
4.3 mi away
Ibis Chihuahua
Ibis Chihuahua
#7 of 26 in Chihuahua
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Chihuahua
Ramada Encore Chihuahua
#5 of 26 in Chihuahua
316 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chihuahua
3.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chihuahua
Staybridge Suites Chihuahua
#3 of 26 in Chihuahua
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Chihuahua Soberano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chihuahua Soberano

Property: Sheraton Chihuahua Soberano
Address: Barranca Del Cobre 3211 | Fraccionamiento Barrancas, Chihuahua 31125, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Chihuahua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Chihuahua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Chihuahua Soberano 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chihuahua Soberano Hotel is a five star category business and leisure hotel that offers guests the best quality services in the city. Located in the north of Chihuahua City, very close to San Francisco Country Club and District 1, this hotel is just a 5 minute drive away from restaurants, shopping centers and major industrial parks, 15 minutes away from downtown and 30 minutes away from the airport. The hotel has 204 spacious deluxe rooms and master suites with spectacular city views. All rooms are equipped with amenities to meet all the business and leisure traveler's needs. Rooms include 40-inch LED TVs, air conditioning, internet access, two telephones, amenities, coffee makers, closets and private bathrooms with marble finishes. The property has a restaurant and bar, fitness center, racquetball court, an outdoor pool, a gift shop and a business center. Among the services offered by Sheraton Chihuahua Soberano Hotel are: room service, laundry, complimentary airport shuttle (subject to availability) and free indoor parking. The Hotel facilities have the capacity to accommodate up to 1,300 people in its various meeting rooms, where business or social events can be hosted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Chihuahua Soberano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Soberano Chihuahua Hotel Chihuahua
Westin Chihuahua
Chihuahua Westin
Westin Soberano Chihuahua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing