We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Rodrigo
West Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Much improved hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I last stayed here over 10 years ago and thought that despite its fantastic location that I would not stay here again. I'm glad that I did last week. It is very reasonably priced, has a lovely bar and outside seating. But for me, one of the most prized things that a bedroom can have is an inner door which blanks out the corridor noise. I'll be back. Oh and the breakfast was very good too.

Room Tip: My room was 206 at the end of the corridor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SgtBilkoWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    87
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
43
98
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely older style hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We were lucky enough to get a room looking on to the square - it was reasonably sized and although the fittings were a little dated (particularly in the bathroom) everything worked well. WiFi was generally good but a little slow in the morning. The reception staff were friendly, helpful, and spoke English and there was a nice relaxed feel about the place, as there is about the city in general.

The hotel is in a great location next to the cathedral and it's only a 5 minute walk to the plaza mayor. If you are arriving by car, I suggest you set your GPS for Avenida de Yurramendi and do NOT enter the city walls until you are on this road (the road system outside the walls is pretty good so it's not hard to keep circling aound the city walls until you find this road). Once you are on Avenue de Yurramendi, pass through the gate in the city wall and drive straight for about 100 metres and you will come to a small plaza with several trees in the centre - the hotel is on the right side at the far end of the plaza, where you can park temporarily while you check in. There is free tourist parking just back outside the city wall (angle parking on Avenida de Sefarad, near intersection with Avenida de Yurramendi) with about a 5 minute walk back to the hotel. If you don't have GPS, circle outside the city walls and keep an eye out for the little yellow tourist hotel signs which will do a good job of directing you (just be careful not to follow the signs for Hotel Conde Rodrigo II, which is in a very different location from I).

On the meals front, I can recommend Arco bar in Plaza Mayor (not featured in trip advisor) which served a good quality house red and nicely prepared raciones - we enjoyed going there around 7:00pm and eating while the sun set. Two particular recommendations are the peppers stuffed with partridge and the calamari a la romana.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

we stayed in the hotel during one day in the semanta santa weekend, March 2013.
When we opened the window of the room, there was a terrible cooking smell. it turns out that all cooking smells from the kitchen are coming to the area, where a few rooms have windows.
since we discovered this late evening, we decided there is no point in asking to change a room.
the same smell was, of course, on the following morning, when reakfast was served.
after i returned home i emailed the hotel about my experience, and told them they should tell people that there window is facing the kitchen smells.
the answer i got was 'we will ask someone to fix the window'. :-)
and: "On the issue of the smell of cooking, we take note of your appreciation, but is the first time we receive this comment. "
no apology, and especially no promise to correctthis issue, and no promise to warn other customers aboutthis problem.
i told them their reaction is disappointing.

however: the location is great, and the city is very nice!

Room Tip: demand a room with no smell from the kitchen!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shmuel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Other than location, nothing special about the hotel but the restaurant was a very nice surprise. Don't be intimidated by the very upscale decor (I was, but it was very late and I was starving). They had a several prix fixe dinners for 13 Euros including entrées, a carafe of good house wine and desert. Menu in English. An overworked but pleasant waiter.The portions were very large (too large) and the food was good. I didn't have dinner anywhere else, so maybe there are better places but I was pleased. There is public parking (metered but cheap) just outside the walls, less than a ten minute walk to the hotel. I tried to use a GPS to locate the hotel, bad idea. It would have had me drive thru plaza cafes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

...And at a really good price (sub 60euro for a double)! It's a very old building, but the rooms are surprisingly up to date with TV etc etc.... The staff very friendly.
Place is 30km from the Portugese boarder in a v. old walled city. Old cathedral next to hotel.

Room Tip: On road side, birds may be noisy if window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here in 2000 on the way to Lisbon. This time driving around Spain we decided to stay here for 3 nights. The hotel is still very good value and as before clean and comfortable rooms, not the biggest but very aceptable, bathroom had an excellent shower, powerful and always very hot water. Good location, short walk to the Cathederal and walls. I really like the bars around Plaza Mayor. Hotel staff are very helpful,one member of staff traveled in the car to show where the hotels secure parking was! The bar at the hotel has been modernised since we were there last and serves pretty good cocktails! Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Gee_BLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel within the walls of Cuidad Rodrigo (which is an amazing place). Our bedroom was impressive with a huge mirror. We had a front room with small balcony. It had all the mod cons necessary but still maintained the charm of days gone by. Breakfast was amazing with lots of options to choose from. Highly recommended. We'd go back there again.

Room Tip: Front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Rodrigo
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo
Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo
#1 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospederia Audiencia Real
Hospederia Audiencia Real
#2 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arcos
Hotel Arcos
#3 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Co...
#1 of 1 in Aldea del Obispo
344 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Conde Rodrigo II
Hotel Conde Rodrigo II
#5 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
90 reviews
23.1 mi away
Abadia de Los Templarios
Abadia de Los Templarios
#1 of 2 in La Alberca
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde Rodrigo I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde Rodrigo I

Property: Hotel Conde Rodrigo I
Address: Plaza San Salvador 9, 37500 Ciudad Rodrigo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Ciudad Rodrigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Rodrigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conde Rodrigo I 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I***, has a perfect location in the historic center of Ciudad Rodrigo, next to the Cathedral and a few meters from the Mayor Square. Located in a beautiful XVI century palace perfectly restored, this hotel blends modernity and tradition. Its 34 rooms are decorated with classic Castilian we offer all the amenities to make the most of our stay.It has a traditional restaurant Quality, and another restaurant "Entrecopas" with a more modern and elaborate cuisine, where you can taste a variety of snacks and premium drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Conde Rodrigo I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing