We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Rodrigo
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location within the walls of the old city. Stylish building with excellent personnel - reception, bar & breakfast. Room spacious and comfortable, and reasonably priced. Private secure parking a short distance away from the hotel. We did not eat in, except for breakfast, so not able to comment on that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

When we arrived our GPS had a problem locating the hotel and a local family offered to show us the way by driving ahead.

We found the hotel charming in a slightly shabby way. The furniture is old rather than antique but this adds to the appeal of the hotel. Our room had a balcony overlooking the square and the location is perfect. The hotel provided parking at a location nearby at a reasonable cost much more convenient than outside the city walls.

Breakfast was offered at an extra charge but there was a large noisy tour group and the buffet was unappealing. We decided to walk to the main square and found a small cafe that served freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee and iberico jamon on fresh crusty bread. When we returned to the hotel the rather stern gentleman at reception chuckled knowingly at us.

Room Tip: Room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend with my husband. We had a fantastic time, the room in that hotel were very confortable, clean and spacious, and so near from the Plaza Major.
The restaurant was also top notch! We are hoping to go there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina71m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was there last semana santa (like they say) with my family and We had a wonderful holiday.
the rooms were very clean, the staff is very professional, the restaurant food is excellent. We enjoy eating "secreto iberico", is a part of the pork that we had never eaten and is a delight for the palate. And we ate every day embutidos, like chorizo, salchichon and jamon iberico. Now I miss that excellent food
I really recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in room 203 with gave onto the square below. The central location is excellent and we found a place to park for free at the weekend (and then had to be up before 8am on the Monday to move it and avoid a multa/fine). Very amenable staff and we will certainly stay again in one of the charming and old-looking rooms. Top tip - do visit the Parador along the road and have some cool wine in the gardens overlooking thev river and watch the storks gliding overhead and coming down to feed by the river bank.

Room Tip: We liked 203 which gives on to the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Superb hotel within the walled city. Large, airy room with vestibule entrance and shuttered windows opening onto the plaza below. The hotel has no car park and it's location meant that adjacent street parking was not an option. However the hotel does have a private garage (payable extra) nearby and a member of staff will accompany you and open up the garage and guide you to your allotted space.
Breakfast did not match the expectation of such an impressive hotel - limited choice, paucity of food.
Overall, taking account of the price we paid - good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I last stayed here over 10 years ago and thought that despite its fantastic location that I would not stay here again. I'm glad that I did last week. It is very reasonably priced, has a lovely bar and outside seating. But for me, one of the most prized things that a bedroom can have is an inner door which blanks out the corridor noise. I'll be back. Oh and the breakfast was very good too.

Room Tip: My room was 206 at the end of the corridor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SgtBilkoWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Rodrigo
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo
Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo
#1 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arcos
Hotel Arcos
#3 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospederia Audiencia Real
Hospederia Audiencia Real
#2 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Co...
#1 of 1 in Aldea del Obispo
409 reviews
23.1 mi away
Abadia de Los Templarios
Abadia de Los Templarios
#1 of 2 in La Alberca
758 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Conde Rodrigo II
Hotel Conde Rodrigo II
#5 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde Rodrigo I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde Rodrigo I

Address: Plaza San Salvador 9, 37500 Ciudad Rodrigo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Ciudad Rodrigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Rodrigo
Price Range: £42 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conde Rodrigo I 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I***, has a perfect location in the historic center of Ciudad Rodrigo, next to the Cathedral and a few meters from the Mayor Square. Located in a beautiful XVI century palace perfectly restored, this hotel blends modernity and tradition. Its 34 rooms are decorated with classic Castilian we offer all the amenities to make the most of our stay.It has a traditional restaurant Quality, and another restaurant "Entrecopas" with a more modern and elaborate cuisine, where you can taste a variety of snacks and premium drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Conde Rodrigo I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing