We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely Faded Grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Tordesillas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tordesillas
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Definitely Faded Grandeur”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Despite the roaring log fire in the salon and visible from the reception area, this was perhaps the worst of the twenty or so Paradors that we have stayed in throughout Spain. We chose it to fit in with an itinerary but we are unlikely to return - something I don't think we could say about any of the other Paradors visited. The reception welcome was almost unfriendly and the room was a real disappointment. The hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade but I suspect the local economy is threadbare. The dining room was the most disappointing. My wife is a coeliac and this is usually why we use the Paradors as I thought all of them now clearly marked items that are gluten free. This was not the case here and whilst the head waiter did his best, the fish he recommended had vegetables that must have had a gluten coating (flour, breadcrumbs?) and my wife was ill the following day. It was also very bright in there - we felt as if we were on a stage!! The hotel is some way out of town and although we made the effort to go into town to explore, it really was very run down. One to miss, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    258
    108
    30
    25
See reviews for
161
326
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nice hotel. Good room. Bar menu a good value. You do need to drive into town. Get a room on the back side and it is great. Indoor lap pool and hot tub. The lounge fire place wasn't used due to the fact that the smoke doesn't draw through the chimney..they should fix that for winter guests. Wine tasting and great history nearby!

Room Tip: Get one that has a window opening to the back green area. The suites are nice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcbnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

First Parador stayed in, maybe not as good as the others but a lovely hotel by modern standards,.Attended 3 day business meeting - Hotel was spacious, traditional ,good value -gym and pool..Food good throughout .Some of the poor reviews seem very picky -I wish all the business hotels I stayed in were like this!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This frankly is one of the less impressive paradores of Spain. Its main advantages are that it is very easy to find from the motorway system- Tordesillas being a rather small and historic town on the Rio Duero-and that is well situated for those heading west through central Spain. So what's not to like? Parts of the furnishings are beginning to look rather ragged; the floor carpets are worn and could do with a good shampoo. The window frames of the indoor pool are badly rusted and some of the walls are marred by flaking paint. The food in the restaurant is a very mixed bag. At dinner we had two regional dishes; my wife had 6 tempura prawns and little else: her side order consisted of a small potato cut in two. Very tasty, but very sparse. I had lamb shank to a regional recipe: again very tasty, but the accompaniments consisted of a two small pieces of a sort of Spanish hash brown. We asked for some more "hash browns" for my wife and two appeared. The dessert, in contrast, was fine and adequate. Breakfast was a disaster area: no croissants available, very limited bread, fried eggs which had been sitting for ages and were stone cold (When my wife requested some fresh eggs, they arrived lukewarm), limited choice of cheeses and cold meats. There was only one girl serving who gave the impression of being thoroughly bored and was very slow in her delivery. In contrast, the girl serving in the bar the previous evening was welcoming and efficient. We complained at Reception about the breakfast as we went to pay and the cost of one breakfast was removed from the bill. One might have thought that in an establishment belonging to a chain which is supposed to set the standards for hotels the quality would have been better. It would have been nice to have had tea or coffee-making facilities in the room. The room itself was fine and the bathroom excellent. This was the second time we had stayed in this parador and it appears to have gone downhill. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Desmond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
559 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,661 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Situated on the ring road, it's easy to find. But can be a bit noisy at night if your room is on that side.

Good car parking, hotel set in a small pine wood, with lots of RED squirrels to watch. I hadn't realised that red squirrels are so small, and this Spanish variety has black ears and tail.

But the hotel is past its prime, and it shows.

Because it is older, the rooms are good-sized, but so dark and gloomy. Dark gloomy furniture, overpowering. Dark gloomy soft furnishings. Small windows. Poor lighting - I wondered if we should go back to our habit of 30 years ago of carrying replacement light-bulbs for Spanish hotels. I don't expect they were the old 25 watt bulbs, but it felt like that.

Two positives: Bathroom a good size. Wifi effective.

And the pool area wasn't bad, although locals with hordes of children turn up at weekends.

I suggest instead the parador at Salamanca or, taking a different route, the wonderful Hotel La Caminera near Ciudad Real. A true five star experience there. Here I would give a grudging 3 stars. Grudging because that's my experience of the restaurant staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turista-Inglesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Typical Paradore. Quite austere appearance but actually the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are slightly quirky but extremely clean and comfortable. Make a welcome change from formulaic hotel chains. We had dinner, which was frankly disappointing, as was breakfast. Great nights sleep though.Great stop off point on the way to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were travelling South and this Paradores is close to the A66. It is a modern building built in a traditional style. The staff were helpful with local information. We had a large comfortable room. The standard was very much as you would expect of the Paradores chain. We cannot comment on the food as we were on a room only basis and chose to visit Tordesillas for the evening. We are so glad we did it was a lovely respite from motorway driving

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tordesillas
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre de Sila
Hotel Torre de Sila
#2 of 3 in Tordesillas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pago Del Olivo
Pago Del Olivo
#1 of 1 in Simancas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
22.2 mi away
Castilla Termal Balneario de Olmedo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Silken Hotel Juan de Austria
Silken Hotel Juan de Austria
#7 of 39 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
15.7 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Ana
13.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#1 of 6 in Medina del Campo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Tordesillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Tordesillas

Property: Parador de Tordesillas
Address: Calle Salamanca 5, 47100 Tordesillas, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Tordesillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tordesillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Tordesillas 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Tordesillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Tordesillas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing