We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pool but so far away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We liked the pool but had to walk and walk down hill to the village and then hike up a big hill back to the hotel. Not so fun after a nice dinner and in heels. The dining room was complicated to get to and the food ok, so we went to restaurants the few days there. Pool really nice, but better in summer I would think.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lindaandsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

In late August my partner and I decided to spend a night on the Costa Brava. After looking at quite a few hotels at short notice we booked a night in a superior double room here for 180 euros, bed and breakfast. The hotel is situated in a prime spot with great views of the town and the sea, a short walk from the centre of Sant Feliu. The hotel was probably originally designed as a resort, covering all its guests needs, it even has its own beach. Unfortunately, maintenance is a word the hotel owners do not include in their vocabulary. There was rubbish everywhere, torn curtains in our superior double room, a large circular jacuzzi pool without water ...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First the positives. It's got really lovely gardens and grounds. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there is no extra charge for air-conditioning. The evening meal is served buffet-style - very good food and reasonably priced - certainly better value than a comparable meal in a restaurant and you don't need to book in advance. St Feliu has got a good beach even if the resort itself is a bit undistinguished.

And the negatives? There is a slight air of dereliction about the hotel. Some of the pools in the grounds were empty which would be a worry for families with small children. And we were shocked to see cracks at the back of the conference building where it seems to be getting ready to fall into the sea.

We found many of the staff unhelpful. Don't expect an apology when something goes wrong. A shrug is about the most you can hope for. When we arrived they could not find my booking on their system. So I had to pay to go on the lobby internet computer to email them a copy of it. No hint of an apology. After that, it took over half an hour for them to find someone who could serve drinks to our dehydrated family, even though the bar was supposedly open. They were also initially unhelpful when we needed emergency medical assistance. Reception staff did not seem to know that there is a (very good and efficient) 24 hr walk-in clinic in the town. Surely this must be a frequent enquiry and high on the list of things hotel reception staff should know?

So, some good plus points - it's a lovely location. But our short stay was marred by quite unnecessary unhelpfulness verging on rudeness.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robinramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great food choices and good quality both for breakfast and dinner in hotel restaurant (with exception of juice, not fresh and clearly carton/ concentrate). Staff are wonderful. Walls are thin but did not prevent sleeping. Overall hotel is nice with wonderful views. Great pool. As per previous reviews, the hotel is in need of a good update/maintenance. It has clearly been something wonderful in the past and just needs to be properly maintained to return to its former glory. Very disappointingly, the pool bar was closed, the hotel bar was closed and the only place to get a drink was in the not very nice bar above the pool. The shrubbery was over grown, so when sitting here you couldn't enjoy the view. Drinks very limited and food limited to pizza. We wanted traditional Spanish tapas, not frozen pizza. We enjoyed our stay but was frustrated that so many areas were not open, functioning and that the hotel has bags of potential. Staff were all simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We couldn't sleep in this hotel. First of all, just as other reviewers had mentioned, the walls are razor thin. We could hear everything from The next door room as if it was our own, even when they urinated! I had demanded specifically for a quiet room, i guess they don't have any.

Also, we saw mosquito nets over our beds. Come nighttime, we figured out why!! A dozen mosquitos attacked us! We covered ourselves with the nets, but the nets were full of holes, so mosquitoes came in anyways and bit us all night.

Also, breakfast was not good. The juices were mixed from some cheap concentrate it seems.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel when we booked to go to the Formula 1 through Moto Express and all I can say is we had an amazing stay. We had an early flight out of Manchester and arrived at the hotel at around 11am. Our room wasn't ready but they promptly gave us the keys to the room next door and let us check in ( room 319)
The room was lovely with an amazing view out towards the sea. It was large and clean. There were 2 beds but from what I can see all the rooms were like this. We just pushed them together. There was a mini fridge in the room which wasn't filled but we could have asked for it to be, but we just used it for water and drinks we bought ourselves. The bathroom had a jacuzzi, which we never used but the shower was powerful and we always had hot water. They provide, a tooth brush and toothpaste, and a razor and gel in travel packs as well as the usual shower cap etc etc. Nice touch. There is a hair dryer in the room but no iron. Tv channels in English are limited to CNN and sky news.
Breakfast was plentiful with the usual cereal, fruit, cheese and meats and enough cakes to sink a battle ship. There was also hot food, mainly bacon, eggs and sausage. Toast and coffee are self service. It's a nice cup of coffee !!
Dinner in the evening was varied and changed each evening, with dishes for vegetarians as well as meat eaters. I found after the salad and soup, a pudding was just enough. hubs went the whole yard and had a selection from the main buffet and he never once grumbled about choice !!! A food selection. The staff are brilliant and really helpful. One good thing they were doing was if you only had 1/2 a bottle of wine they would label and keep the other 1/2 for your next evening.... We never had any left but I thought it was a nice touch. The house wine at around 10 euros was nice and quite palatable. But there is a choice and you can spend more if you wish.
The bar is large and has ample room with the most amazing view over the bay. Drinks are reasonable, and the bar tender can come across as a bit grumpy but by the end of our weeks stay was brilliant :)
The hotel is situated on a hill and it is a bit of a walk into town. I think if you do have mobility issues then you will have to think about taxis. Sant Feliu de Guixols is a lovely place, with a lovely beach and we loved meandering down there each day.
The hotel is a bit of a conference hotel, and there are groups of people around in the bar etc sometimes, which can be a bit off putting but it certainly wouldn't stop me staying there again. It's a great hotel to use as a base for travelling and seeing the local area, but I wouldn't book a weeks holiday there without having a car to go out for the day. It's very quiet and there is not an awful lot to do, but relaxation brilliant.
We had a late flight home and asked if we could keep the room until 7pm. They said no problem if it wasn't needed, which it wasn't. We checked oust at 7pm and they didn't charge us anything !!
Linda and John from Moto Express were excellent hosts, we had no worries about anything. Buses were laid on to ferry us to and from the track. It took just under an hour and was chilled compared to people fighting to get back into Barcelona. We had a perfect break, busy with F1 but the extra days we booked were relaxed and chilled, which was down to the hotel and its location.
Thank you to all the staff from making our stay, and my husbands 40th a special memory.

Room Tip: We were in room 319 which is the top floor looking over the see.. Make sure you ask for a room highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesleyTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Spent 6 nights half board here. We found the 'faded grandeur' quite charming. Our room was a good size, with an excellent bathroom(jacuzzi bath) and lovely view. The buffet meals provided a good choice at every meal, and the restaurant staff were very efficient and friendly. The indoor pool was lovely, with plenty of comfortable loungers. The outdoor pools are good and well supplied with sunbeds, though one pool was out of use for maintenance, as it was out of season. The gardens are beautiful, with an abundance of flowers, trees and shrubs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieP186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Feliu de Guixols
4.6 mi away
Park Hotel San Jorge
Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,937 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Barcarola
Hotel Barcarola
#1 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
359 reviews
4.4 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles
#3 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sant Pol
Hotel Restaurant Sant Pol
#7 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
120 reviews
4.7 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles

Address: Punta Port Salvi s/n, 17220 Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spain (Formerly Hotel Eden Roc)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Sant Feliu de Guixols
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sant Feliu de Guixols
Price Range: £74 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden Roc is located on the Costa Brava, just 1 km from Sant Feliu de Guíxols. The premises, comprising the hotel and the Port Salvi spa and health centre, are located on a very quiet headland outside the town surrounded by the clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea. Eden Roc is a romantic hotel in a luxurious setting, perfect for relaxing with your partner or your family on a dream holiday on the Costa Brava. The resort, with its exceptional facilities, surrounds an entire cove (11,000 m2) and it all faces the sea, letting the sunlight, the sea breeze and the colours of the Mediterranean into all corners of the hotel. The hotel has lush gardens, a sun deck terrace and a swimming pool overlooking the sea, as well as a small beach, restaurant, barbecue, gym, Ayurveda centre and a yoga deck overlooking the sea. Its rooms, many of which have a whirlpool bath and sea views, have recently been refurbished and are designed to be your personal haven of peace and serenity during your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel
Hotel Eden Roc By Brava Hoteles Sant Feliu De Guixols, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing