We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hostal del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in this beautiful old hotel at the end of a week cycling from Olot to Girona.
It didn't disappoint us.
The rooms are very nice, the breakfast very good and the staff very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is owned and run by a young couple who have obviously paid a lot of attention to detail.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the pool area very well situated and cared for. It is a short walk to beach/restaurant areas. The hotel doesn't have an evening restaurant but we didn't miss this as there are plenty of restaurants in the area.

Sant Feliu is a nice place to spend a few relaxing days and a good base to explore the area.

John, Dublin

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank socheallaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Really enjoyed our 7 night stay in Hotel del Sol, located on main road between 2 beaches with bus stop at front if you don't want to walk the 10 min journey to either beaches, Real sense of class about this hotel, absolutely no disturbance of any kind during our stay, owners & staff could not do enough for us, Most of the restaurants are located at either seafront so the walk back to the hotel was a help to our digestion, breakfast is superb. served in a classy dining-room or on sunny terrace, Gardens & Pool are very well kept, a pleasure to relax in. We flew into Girona airport with Ryanair, bus from airport to Girona €2,75 each. Girona to Sant Feliu €5 each. Taxi from bus station to hotel €5 each.(or if u no the way get the bus to hotel) Taxi from airport to hotel direct about €50, Hotel del Sol is a lovely hotel in the middle of lovely Sant Feliu. Thanks for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 307, balcony at front overlooking entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is undergoing constant upgrading by its owners. The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the whole of the hotel. At breakfast you are spoilt for choice, it's all beautifully fresh a n d if t hey don't have what you want you can always ask. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I know this hotel changed ownership a few years ago and the new owners are constantly making small but significant changes without altering the character of what is a beautiful old building. I cannot wait to.return next year. Huge thanks to all of the staff for making our stay there so very special

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValerieAnne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Second stay at this hotel (Definetely not a Hostal), excellent value for money. One night only, we had an easy early check in, and they even retrieved my daughter's lost sneakers from our former visit in July!.
Small room with queen-size bed, bare furniture but with the essentials. AC a bit noisy and over-efficient. Breakfast has a fairly nice spread, and they will cook eggs to order at no extra cost, not bad! Excellent garden and pool area, perfect for a siesta after a heavy lunch ;)
Above all the service and attitude, from the couple that own the hotel as well as its staff, is stellar!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

This is a large old hotel with plenty of room and a decent sized swimming pool outside. The rooms are old fashioned but clean and well priced. The breakfast ha everything one could want, including champagne! The staff were friendly and helpful; speaking a fair number of languages. It is about a 10 minute walk from the waterfront, but a nice distance from the bussle of town centre and in a peaceful and beautiful location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlMundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in August 2013 from checking to out the staff were polite helpfully and friendly . Theroomwas spacious and clean . The breakfast was generous and varied continental style . The pool and grounds immaculate with lots of sun beds . Parking available at €9 per day . 10 mins walk fown the hill to the seafront , restaurants , beach and nightlife We would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyPhaedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from a wedding in S'Agaro. I was impressed with this hotel when we arrived, but even more impressed when I spoke to other guests staying at other hotels nearby. Some did not have security or enough people at reception for size of hotel - our hotel had someone there 24/7.
Ours had a security gate closing the parking lot and hotel entrance, but before we could even buzz when entering at 2am, the gate was opened for us. We had a bountiful breakfast buffet included in the price, the likes of which we have never seen at any other hotel in Europe at similar prices. One could eat inside or on the outside terrace by the pool.The staff we met (reception,buffet and cleaners) we all cheerful and helpful. The room was very large and comfortable (2 single beds), clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: We had corner room away from pool area on first floor (2nd floor in US). Only noise was from upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annad51MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Feliu de Guixols
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles
#2 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barcarola
Hotel Barcarola
#1 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Caleta Park
ILUNION Caleta Park
#2 of 4 in S'Agaro
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#7 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles
#3 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hostal del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostal del Sol

Address: Ctra de Palamos 194, 17220 Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Sant Feliu de Guixols
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sant Feliu de Guixols
Price Range: £57 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hostal del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holidays in a colonial style building, a typical holiday home built at the end of the 19th century and adapted as a hotel in the twenties.The Hotel is located in a quiet area of Sant Feliu de Guíxols, close to the beach of S'Agaró known for its clear and transparent waters and only 5 minutes from Platja d'Aro by bus or by car. (The bus stop is outside the hotel).Just outside the front door passes the greenway Pirinexus. The hotel offers a free and secure bicycle parking, a toolkit for any damages, meals and energy drinks,... and the accreditation Bed & Bike gives by the consortium of Girona greenways.All the bedrooms face outwards with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, telephone, satellite-TV, heating. Eachs room is equapped with a small safe wich can be rented at the reception.The Hotel has two swimming pools (one for adults, one for children) located in the beautiful grounds, there is a large and airy dinning room where you may take your breakfast. There is also a well-stocked Bar where you may enjoy a drink overlooking the pools and/or work on your computer as this area operates as a Wi-fi zone without charge.Open air car parking is available on the premises. Seasonal charges will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hostal del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hostal Del Sol Sant Feliu De Guixols, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing