We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel and Friendly Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kissamos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kissamos
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“Superb Hotel and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

I Stayed at this hotel in April 2008 as part of a Ramblers Worldwide Holidays Walking holiday group.
I have nothing but praise for the excellent facilities of the hotel including the superb new swimming pool and the truly friendly service of the whole family that run the hotel.
I will definitely return again and reccommend it to everyone.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank UkSalvatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    57
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
98
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

Delightful hotel, recently refurbished with excellent pool, big and deep enough for proper swimming. Friendly and helpful owners. Good buffet breakfast. In view of one of the previous reviews I checked whether our key would open other rooms - it did not - security is fine. Although one side of the hotel faces on to a road this should not be a problem - it's only an ordinary town road, not a busy dual carriageway and anyway all the rooms are fitted with very effective double glazing to windows and balcony doors. Obviously a room at the back with a pool view would be best - also gives a view of the sea.
Kastelli Kissamou really grows on you. Rough Guide describes it very well - 'at first sight little to get excited about.....it's very ordinariness, however, has real charm..... it's a working town full of stores used by locals and cafes not entirely geared to outsiders'. It is an agricultural town which is adding on some tourism but has yet to suffer the 'Costa del Crete' damage seen elswhere on the island. There is a very interesting local archaeology museum which opened in 2006 which gives information about local sites worth visiting - we met no one else while visiting the historical sites at Polyrinia (very good Taverna) or Falasarna - very different from busier places further east.

  • Liked — Well designed, maintained and kept clean with super pool.
  • Disliked — Rooms at front overlook road.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tiggerfrankUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

If you get this far to the West of Crete, you must be looking for a not very active place. We stayed almost alone in this quiet hotel in September. We got a nice room facing the rear garden and the pool (which we enjoyed almost for us two). Explored some good places to eat in Kastelli, best for us was Papadakis, by the beach. Made the boat trip to Gramvousa and Balos. A taxi ride to Polyrinia (sp?) is worth the visit.
(Hotel rooms to the front might be a hell of noise, though, sort of main road full of traffic)

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Torremaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

The hotel has good and new facilities, especially, if you have a room facing the backyard with the garden and swimming pool. The rooms to the front are pure hell, a main traffic road below and the view over a run-down mix of industrial hall and rotten buildings. If yoiu want to stay in this unattractive town I would recommend the new hotels built at the seaside (i.e. Galini). One curious thing about the Kissamos hotel was that you can enter any room with your key; indeed we had several visits from other hotel guests during the night, so that we had to block the entrance with a table. The staff is not too friendly, and there is no parking facility in front, although this is not a problem in Kissamos. The hotel is rather suited for people on business in Kissamos than on holidays.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and facilities
  • Disliked — Ubication, unfriendly staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
0.6 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.0 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maria Beach
Maria Beach
#5 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautilus Bay Hotel
Nautilus Bay Hotel
#6 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#4 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kissamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kissamos

Property: Hotel Kissamos
Address: 172 Iroon Politechniou, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kissamos
#7 Family Hotel in Kissamos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Kissamos 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is the ideal base for your business or holiday trip as it provides all the amenities today's traveler is looking for. The hotel has 24 rooms on 3 separate floors while the ground floor is comprised of the reception area, lobby and breakfast area. In the garden you can enjoy your coffee, a drink or a snack, or you can cool off in the pool and relax in the hotel's hydro massage. The friendly service provided by the hotel staff creates a pleasant, home-like environment. The rooms are cleaned daily in order to guarantee a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kissamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kissamos Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing