We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$41
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Aphrodite Beach Hotel(Kissamos)(Great Value!)
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olive Tree Apartments(Kaliviani)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balos Beach(Kaliviani)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunny Bay Hotel(Kissamos)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Molos Bay Hotel(Kissamos)
US$68
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments(Kissamos)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galini Beach Hotel(Kissamos)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kissamos(Kissamos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
135
93
34
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
93
34
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaned every dayhis wifethe ownera quiet relaxing holidayby footdirt roadbalos lagooncarchaniabeacheskettlehostspeacemountainstreeseameters
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed at this nice little hotel for a week in July 2012. It is a clean, cozy place where the excellent staff makes all the difference. Host/manager Dimitris is one-of-a-kind, he and his great staff makes you feel truly at home, always helpful, great hospitality! The pool and restaurant area are very nice, short walk to the beach. Local town Kissamos is less than exciting, stay at the hotel + beach or drive to Elafonisi/Chania/ etc. I recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, rural vacation in Crete. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The place looks like it's just been built despite being 10 years old. It is very clean, with a fantastic pool. The owners are lovely people happy to help with anything. There is a beach couple of minutes down the road but there are sharp stones in the water and it stays shallow for a long time which is an unfortunate combination.
The room was very big and cleaned every day. Our room didn't have a kitchenette as advertised and the breakfast was very basic but otherwise we were happy with the hotel. Unfortunately it is located too far from Kissamos to walk (at least during the day when it's hot) - it took us about 30 minutes and it isn't a nice walk. The bigger problem, however, is that it stands in the middle of working fields and the smell of silage was a regular feature (every day), waking us up on several occasions. If you don't know what this smell is like, let me just say that compared to it, cows smell like roses. It is sickening. I would love to give this place 5 stars, but people should be warned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e-d15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel it self is very good value for money.
The personel is outsanding and the location of the hotel is perfect to roam around the magnificent beaches of west crete, balos, falasarna, elafonisi and relax in the pool area or the bach in the night.

Always listen to what the owner dimitris has to suggest as he will point you to "hidden gems" tavernas and places to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank konstantinos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here for a week in May, the situation is in a very quiet area just before the main town of Kissamos. It is near the beach and surrounded by open land.The apartment was simple but clean and serviced daily. Dimitrius and Chrissula are very helpful with anything that you may need. A kettle was provided on request and we had a fridge in the apartment, but we did not cater for ourselves as the cooking facilities where very basic.Breakfast was included, which was continental, a cheese and ham toastie, toast and jam etc, and a piece of cake, coffee/tea and fruit juice.We hired a car which we collected at the airport of Chania, i would think a car necessary if you want to get out and about. We explored a huge area of eastern crete during our stay and visited many, many areas of interest. The roads are good, and in May we found them quiet.I would suggest a good quality map would be a good purchase if you wish to explore the area.All in all a very happy stay, and we found this area of Crete relatively unspoilt.Elephonisos and Palechora are a must to visit, as is Falasarrna and Sfnari. We drove as far away as Hora Sfakion and took the ferry back to Palechora, which proved to be a very enjoyable trip.We have visited the east and the west, now we only have the central area of Crete to explore, which will be the next planned trip. Crete is a lovely island with much to offer, and well worth exploring beyond the tourist resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotlasseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

After a month at Mediterranean Studios and Apartments we feel that we are able to really review the place. As Dimitri, the owner ‘says you know me, you know the place, and you can give people an idea of what it’s like’. Planning this stay couldn’t have been easier with Dimitri’s helpful emails that answered any question, no matter how small, that arose.
The rooms are spacious and simple, however for less than the price of a dormitory bed in a hostel per person per night, the value for money is incredible. The storage space is plentiful and the cooking facilities in the room are more than enough. We did find that it is often cheaper, and more enjoyable, to eat in one of the local tavernas, or the onsite restaurant, than to cook for yourself. They’re also cleaned every day, although you are able to have a lie in and ask not to be disturbed, which the cleaning ladies are happy to oblige.
The promise of beautiful sunsets offered by the brochure is not an exaggeration each evening was accompanied by one, and was best enjoyed with local wine and something from the pool side restaurant. Anything from the menu is excellent and the service is more than hospitable.
Kissamos is rather remote, and is less dependent on tourism than other parts of Crete, it is easy enough to travel around the island, a hire car is recommended and Dimitri ensures that you get the best deal possible. The benefits of the small numbers of tourists are numerous, the remote beaches are beautiful and the tiny villages with welcoming tavernas are a welcome break from any walk of life. From experience we’d recommend asking Dimitri about which tavernas to visit and which not to.
The brochure also offers a ‘taste of genuine Cretan hospitality’ we found this in waves, from happy exchanges between you and the staff to dinner with the friends and family of the staff you will never be short of company and a friendly face.
Whether it is a relaxing short break soaking up the sun by the pool with a frappe (Dimitri’s are the best in town, a relic from his Army days he says) or using the studios as a base for exploring the fantastic mountains, beaches and historic sites the area has to offer, your stay will be even more enjoyable than you could imagine.

Room Tip: Just ask Dimitri for a room with a view and he'll make sure that you have the ideal room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews