We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think you can do better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Kissamos
Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Think you can do better...”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

It was a really smelly room and this made me a really bad impression. I can't say it was dirty, although we found a couple of hairs on the floor and one sheet had a stain on it, but really the smell in the bathroom was something else...
However it was a nice hotel, given the fact, that there was a pool and the beach was only 10 footsteps away. Oh.. you need to have a car... :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasoulinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimis69, Manager at Mediterranean Studios Apartments, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Hello from MEDITERRANEAN STUDIOS

thank you for your feedback ,we will do better .

my regards

Dimitris Skoutelis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    78
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
123
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

If you want peace and quiet with clean apartments, lovely views two nice pools next to the beach then we suggest you visit the Mediterranean. Dimitris and his staff are very helpful and the book he gave us on arrival was helpful too. Added to this they have two lovely Tavernas on the premises so you don't have to go far if you don't want to although Kissamos is only a five minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDandCClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakkum Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

A chance meeting with the affable Stelios brought me to his Mediterranean Hotel where next to a giant Tsunati olive tree in the entrance of the hotel, Stelios told me the wonderful story of how he was able to save this magnificent tree. One day driving around the villages in the mountains surrounding his native village of Kaloudiana, Stelios noticed a huge olive tree which was uprooted in a middle of a field. He approached the farmer who owned the tree and asked him what he was going to do with the tree. “I am going to make charcoal from it”, “how much money would you get from selling the charcoal?” Stelios asked him. “Five hundred Euros” the farmer answered. Stelios without thinking twice plucked down the five hundred Euros, mobilized his contractor friend who with his heavy equipment and much effort, was able to move the olive tree and transplant it to its current location. Today the tree is in very good shape, it silvery leaves sparkling in the strong Mediterranean sun, as if telling Stelios every morning, thank you for saving me.
The hotel is situated on a private beach on the lovely bay of Kissamos. It is located a short drive from the town-center of Kissamos. The combination of the view of the blue gulf of Kissamos, the mountains of the Rodopou Peninsula, and the agricultural fields which surround the hotel, give the Mediterranean Hotel a unique sense of spaciousness that I have always found refreshing. This feeling of open space is enhanced by the three different buildings of the hotel each consisting of eight studios and four apartments. There is something very appealing in the interiors of the studios and the apartments which I find to be simple yet elegantly furnished. Each unit has its own kitchenette. In this region this is a great bonus, as it gives you the chance to sample the so very tasty local fruits and vegetables, Even though I come from a country that has a world class abundance of fruits and vegetables, I find time and again that here they taste so much better. Fresh picked figs with Greek yogurt and thyme honey is a homemade treat that tastes heavenly indeed. In addition, as can be observed, the island of Crete is covered with olive trees. Here the combination of the Kurooneikie and Tsunati olive varieties, produce world class olive oil with an acidity rating of 0.3 percent which is not attainable even by the olive oil world dominating producers like Spain and Italy. So do not be mistaken by the humble appearance of the olive oil in the unlabeled reused water bottles you find for sale in many markets and restaurants - it is comparable in quality and taste to the boutique extra virgin olive oil that cost premium prices globally.

Kissamos is a town that the description laid back fits it well. Due to the massive tourists facilities in Chania and further east, this western part of Crete, offers much more tranquil locations where there is little traffic in the streets and the roads - almost no tour buses and a mood that reminds one of Greece in the eighties where everything was on a much more modest scale. It gives you a better chance to meet and personally communicate and make friends with the local people. If you like the atmosphere of a small town where the cafes and restaurants cater to the locals as much as to the tourists, or in which the super-markets are the size of your neighborhood store and where investigating the small shops is always pleasurable, Kissamoss is certainly such town. It retains its charms if you care to receive them. For example, it does not have big nightclubs or rowdy bars, but in a port restaurant, you can get simply served, the freshest most succulent swordfish I have tasted anywhere.

Kissamos is positioned in the western part of the island which contains some of the best locations in Crete. A short drive takes you to the red sand wonderful beaches of Falasarna. In the fourth century BC, it was one of the biggest city-state of the region. Presently new excavations are being undertaken to present this important archeological site. You reach it by driving toward the northern part of Falasarna. If you keep driving on the dirt road you can walk through the rocks towards a hidden cove with deep crystal blue sea and an occasional small fishing boat which creates a scene that is so truly picturesque as if a promotional poster that you have seen comes to life in front of you. The western part of the Kissamos bay in created by the Gramvousa Peninsula. The jewel of this peninsula is the cerulean blue lagoon like beaches of Balos. It is reachable on a challenging dirt road drive but the view from above before walking down to the beach, literally leaves you speechless. Another option is to visit Balos is to take the reasonable priced cruise from the port of Kissamos.

The area south of Kissamos is called Innahorion. Because of its mountains and gulches it has an abundance of water thus creating a verdant landscape and agricultural fields and orchards. It is considered to be the most fertile part of the island. The small villages approached by steep and winding roads keep their idyllic appeal and rustic authenticity. Make sure to stop in Elos, the area largest village, where in addition the enjoying the many chestnut trees, all three restaurants in its center serve wonderful Cretan dishes in an friendly unhurried atmosphere. Another personal favorite is the important archeological site of Polyrrinia. Dorians, Romans, Byzantines and Venetians populated this site. Here, with only few visitors around, you can explore the remains of a Roman aqueduct or climb the hill of its acropolis with stunning panorama views of the trees and goats dotted mountains towards the south or the bay of Kissamos to the north. Going west from Kissamos past Falasarna, offers the patient traveler many rewards. It takes you towards the Island most famous beaches of Elafonisi. Here the sparkling blue water lagoons and white sand reminded me of some of tropical or Red Sea enchanting beaches that I visited in the past.

After a long day of experiencing the many natural attractions of the area, whether in the mountains or on the splendorous beaches, it is always a pleasure to come back to the Mediterranean Hotel. Dimitri and Yohana are a lovely couple who runs the hotel with a wonderful combination of friendliness and professionalism. In the poolside restaurant and bar, simple dishes are served with a smile and all of your questions will be answered patiently. Here nobody will try to sell you cruises or other tourists’ attractions, but they will be most helpful if you need to arrange a mini-bus tour of the south, or the best deal available on a rental car. And if you need to run to town for supplies or errands, Dimitri will always be happy to lend you his motor scooter if it is too warm to walk or use the hotel’s available bikes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank artman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a great week at this hotel, which is situated within a few yards of a super quiet sandy beach and only 45 mins from Chania airport The apartment was very clean with balcony and views of sea and mountains. There is a lovely pool and bar and the owner and staff were very attentive and friendly. Locally there are plenty of good tavernas in Kissamos (5-10 mins by car) and Kolimbari (15 mins) for those evening meals with sea views. Perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday in an unspoilt part of Crete. Jim and Lesley

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Well I definitely disagree with the previous review “great place bad location”. We (a couple 23 & 24 years old) have just returned from a great 10 day holiday at the Mediterranean Studios Apartments. Firstly, I will say that for us what made the holiday was the people that run the place. Dimitris is a really nice guy and worth getting to know. Any problems we had, such as needing an extra frying pan were sorted out instantly, he gave us great recommendations and was always about for a chat. His wife (Chrissula), the cleaner and the waitresses are also very nice people and make the stay all the more special.

Here are the facts as I see them:
- The apartments are very clean, a good size, cleaned every day, have a bathroom, fridge and 2 stoves (standard for Europe) and there was no strange smell anywhere!

- The pool is big and never gets particularly busy, there is also a pool bar so you can get a beer whilst sunbathing! Dimitris has good taste in wine (most places say they make their own wine – some are nice but all I’m saying is I once made my own beer and it was disgusting!), he buys it from an actual vineyard and we tasted both the red and white and were pleasantly surprised.

- There was a good mix of people of all nationalities and included couples and some families (it’s obviously not for the party goers but it’s an ideal place to relax)

- The food was good and similarly priced to most other taverns we visited. Breakfast was fairly basic (tea/coffee, toasties, toast, greek cake, sometimes pancakes), but it is included in the price. We ate there every other day and had yoghurt/ honey and fruit on the balcony on the other days. Its nice to have the choice.

- Entertainment twice a week whilst we were there (live Greek music and live English music), it had a great atmosphere and we really enjoyed the evenings.

- It is quite a long walk into Kissamos (35-40min walk) or 5 min drive, but it’s not a bad walk.

- The beach is 30 seconds from the apartments – I’ll admit its not the best beach in Greece a little stony but its still nice and its very close!

- There are some amazing beaches in driving distance – Elafonisi (1 hour – across mountain roads with big drops, my gf did not like the drive but it did not bother me), Falassarna (30 mins), Balos (the highlight of our trip, we recommend you DO NOT DRIVE take a day boat trip 22 Euros each, Dimitris will sort it).

- There are a number of towns to visit we recommend Chania (30 min drive) the old town is very nice and lots to see and buy! They have a market on Saturday with very cheap fruit and veg!

So basically I wouldn’t recommend going unless you have a car, but to get there in the first place you really need one anyway as its 2hours 15 mins from Heraklion! It is perfectly positioned to get many amazing places, and the fact that it isn’t in a city centre means you get peace and quiet as well as amazing sunsets behind the mountains.

Overall I would not even consider having picked someone else. It was amazing value and we had a great holiday.

Thanks for a great stay,
Paul and Alice

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibbs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed at this nice little hotel for a week in July 2012. It is a clean, cozy place where the excellent staff makes all the difference. Host/manager Dimitris is one-of-a-kind, he and his great staff makes you feel truly at home, always helpful, great hospitality! The pool and restaurant area are very nice, short walk to the beach. Local town Kissamos is less than exciting, stay at the hotel + beach or drive to Elafonisi/Chania/ etc. I recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, rural vacation in Crete. :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The place looks like it's just been built despite being 10 years old. It is very clean, with a fantastic pool. The owners are lovely people happy to help with anything. There is a beach couple of minutes down the road but there are sharp stones in the water and it stays shallow for a long time which is an unfortunate combination.
The room was very big and cleaned every day. Our room didn't have a kitchenette as advertised and the breakfast was very basic but otherwise we were happy with the hotel. Unfortunately it is located too far from Kissamos to walk (at least during the day when it's hot) - it took us about 30 minutes and it isn't a nice walk. The bigger problem, however, is that it stands in the middle of working fields and the smell of silage was a regular feature (every day), waking us up on several occasions. If you don't know what this smell is like, let me just say that compared to it, cows smell like roses. It is sickening. I would love to give this place 5 stars, but people should be warned.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e-d15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
1.0 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.3 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#6 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kissamos
Hotel Kissamos
#8 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Studios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Studios Apartments

Property: Mediterranean Studios Apartments
Address: Korfalonas Kasteli Kissamos, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kissamos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kissamos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mediterranean Studios Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to spend unforgettable holidays in a majestic place, with one of the cleanest beaches of Greece, you'll find us in Kissamos, at " Mediterranean studios & Apartments".We have beautiful and practical apartments. Each of them has a room with a fully equipped kitchenette (which contains a fridge, an electric stove, etc.) and of course air condition to every room.It also has a bathroom/wc and a bedroom for 2 or even 6 people with a wardrobe. Each of them have comfortable verandas from where you have the opportunity to admire the unique sunset."Mediterranean Studios & Apartments’’ are 30m from the sandy beach,where you can enjoy your swim. Not far away, you can find a petrol station, bank and super-market. The owners are warm, friendly and always happy to help you in any situation. The apartments are on the first floor and on the ground floor.The area is surrounded with many trees and flowers in a large garden with big kiosks near by our big pool, where you can sit and relax having a drink in our bar and it also has a parking place, in order of those who owns a car or a motorbike. You can also enjoy your meals in our restaurant,We can serve you traditional Cretan, Greek and European cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Studios Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Studios Apartments Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing