We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Dabrowa Gornicza, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best holiday ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We just love this hotel and its staff (owners and all other staff). To say that they are nice, kind, helpful, friendly - it is like say nothing. We felt there just like at home! Those was our 4-th time in Greece but first time we just cry at the end because we would like to stay longer (best would be forever :) ). Shortly that was our best holiday ever.
Couple facts: * Hotel stands right on the sandy beach (sand very fine, perfect for all kind of activities even for babies); * perfect place to snorkeling - clear water, near rocks with hundreds of fishes * free beach towels and sun-beds; * swimming pool nearly on the beach, clean and not busy; * large and chilly rooms with balcony; * very clean; * free fast WiFi Internet; * very good breakfasts with something different every day; * "special of day" - a delicious Greek style meals served in a lunch time (can be ordered even on the beach).; * free parking near to the hotel; * great location to go to Chania, Falasarna, Balos, Elafonisi, Polyrinia.

Jacek & family

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are fine protected from the sun and therefore naturally chilly - You do not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    63
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
120
125
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra,ACT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We ended up at this hotel due to a mix up at another, the gods were with us on that day as we were allocated a wonderful room overlooking the pool and beach it was 5 star clean, service was the best we have had in greece ever, bathroom was fantastic the breakfast is superb, the owner and staff's attention to detail is 5 star. Only negative is that we cant stay longer. Thankyou Aphrodite Beach xoxo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wally11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Excellent in every way. The best hosts at a hotel in any country or city we've ever stayed at. Super friendly and helpful. On our way to hike the Samarian Gorge, we had a flat tire and were stuck at the hotel. While waiting for our spare to be fixed, our sweet hostess brought us cake while we sat out by the beach just to make us feel better. Just very sweet, hardworking people.

The hotel is on a very pretty little beach which would be ideal for little kids since it is protected by rocks and virtually wave free. Crystal clear water and a very nice tree-shaded area to sit and relax.

The hotel is rooms are very clean and comfortable with a nice porch. A nice pool is also available. Breakfast is served with eggs, sausages, Greek yogurt, cereals, etc. (not included but about 6-7 euros for that buffet).

The value for the rooms were terrific for what we paid per night. I highly recommend Aphrodite Beach Hotel to anyone staying for a convenient location to Falasarna, Elafonisi, and Chania.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Aphrodite Beach Hotel is an exceptional, family run hotel, situated on the beach of Mavro Molos. In July 2011 we travelled all the way from Australia to Crete and stayed 8 nights at the Aphrodite Beach Hotel. We are a family and Dimitri accomodated us in a comfortable, spacious family room. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Dimitri, who showed us to our apartment. The entire hotel is extremely clean. The cleaners are continuously cleaning the foyer, staircases, pool area and common areas. The rooms were cleaned everyday to a very high standard. Aphrodite was extremely friendly also and made us feel like we were at home. She would offer us home made sweets and savoury nibblies. The pool area was a safe and relaxing place for families with young children to lounge around. The beach was a 10 second walk from the swimming pool, where you could relax on a sun lounge chair and under an umbrella. Kissamos is a quiet town with friendly locals. About a 10 minute walk west of the hotel is a taverna called Stimadori Taverna. It is a large taverna which is obviously used for weddings and other large functions. They have a balcony at the back of the taverna that overlooks the ocean. The food is excellent and they offer a large variety from fish and other seafood to souvlakia and greek salad. Highly recommend this taverna.
Our hosts, Dimitri, Aphrodite and sons provided everything that we needed and any time we needed it. The hotel is a great hotel in a perfect location. Paradise in Kissamos! We loved it so much that we ae returning this year and extending our stay longer than the last time.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartment great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Having read several reviews on this, and other sites, we confidently booked this hotel, sure of a friendly welcome and comfortable surroundings. In addition to this, we have been to Western Crete previously at the end of October, so we thought we knew what to expect.

However, it seemed that Western Crete was basically closed down- some places were hanging on until the end of the month, but most had thrown in the towel, which I think is what the owners should have done sooner. We were looking forward to hiking in the morning for a few hours, followed by a couple of hours in the mid-afternoon having a swim in the pool.

But I would not have touched the pool with a barge pole as it had long lost its appeal, being bright green with debris on the surface and on the floor. I understand only too well, that maintaining a pool is a costly and time consuming process and that fishing out blown- in leaves for the umpteenth time is tiring, but if the hotel is still in business, and has not notified potential customers that a facility is out of use, then surely it is in the hotel's own interest to maintain it. In Kissamos there were plenty of hotels and apartments with similarly green pools, but they had closed down for the winter. We only booked this hotel very shortly before travelling, so it's not as if we had a long-standing booking for them to fulfil.

Breakfast was an optional extra (E7 each per morning) and as we had arrived on Oxi day (a Sunday too) shopping for catering provisions was limited, so we asked for breakfast for our first morning. As supplies had obviously been run down too, the owners needed to buy them in specially for us. I can't say it was the best ever continental breakfast I'd had- glass of juice, bread, scrambled eggs, a sliced tomato, a sliced avocado and some pan au chocolat, but it sufficed as a one off. Perhaps it is better in the main season with a full fridge.

On the other hand, the hotel was in a fantastic beach side location, the owners were friendly (but tired) and helpful and our room was spacious and comfortable. The T.V had a range of channels in a variety of languages and the shower room was very generously sized- really good (non-leaking!) shower too. As our room had a small kitchen area (fridge and 2 cooking rings) a kettle would have been a useful addition.

All in all, a stay in the main season would most likely have been great, but I could not, unfortunately recommend it for late season.

Room Tip: Our corner room on the first had a large balcony with great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyCatCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Aphrodite Beach has the perfect location, right on the beach in a small quiet bay. The family are really welcoming and so friendly and helpful. They work very hard to keep everyone happy. They organised our taxi to and from the airpport, and can arrange trips too. The hotel itself is clean and very pleasant. It has a nice pool, with bar serving drinks and snacks all day. They will come and serve you on the beach too. The room was great, plently of space and cleaning service every day.
It's a10 minute walk into the town, which you can do along the beach. There are some nice restaurants there, but mostly we ate nearby at the taverna directly behind the hotel which serves great food and was very friendly too. There is a supermarket nearby which is handy plus several little tourist shops.
We cannot recommend the Aphrodite Beach hotel highly enough.
We had a wonderful relaxing holiday and hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SooLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This beautifully located family run hotel in Kissamos is a perfect getaway for a couples retreat...

Situated right on the beach, with a good sized swimming pool and spacious outdoor seating areas, I have never felt so relaxed in the quite surroundings of Kissamos and making the most of their free wi-fi whilst lazing on the Aphrodite beach in the gorgeous sunshine. :-)

Upon arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the awesome couple who run the show, Aphrodite and her husband Dimitri. They were SO welcoming and quickly showed us to our room on the second floor which was very clean, cool and had a lovely view of the sea from the balcony.

During our stay the owners would go out of their way to make us feel at ease, and were extremely helpful when asking about local restaurants in town, best beaches to visit along the western coast etc.

In fact, so helpful were they that they would even offer us lifts to places as my girlfriend and I do not have a driving license, sadly for us! Although we did not have a car we still found it pretty easy to get local buses to MUST VISIT beaches such as Fallassarna. Also, a day trip by boat to the STUNNING Balos beach (blue lagoon). Again, Aphrodite kindly gave us a lift to the harbor to catch the boat in time! She even booked the Balos day trip for us from the hotel which also saved us 4 euros per ticket, with their special deal. Result!

We loved Aphrodite hotel SO much that although we were initially booked for just the two nights stay, we extended to 5 nights stay before heading back to Chania. Reason being because we just felt that we were not going to get this same level of customer service, family peaceful atmosphere and relaxing experience...all on the budget we had!

Aphrodite even gave us a free t-shirt each from our stay when leaving, which I will now forever wear with pride!

I will be recommending this hotel to all my friends from London thinking of visiting this magnificent country, and for those of you looking for a good value for money accommodation in Crete... Aphrodite Hotel is the place to be!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
0.9 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Bay Hotel
Nautilus Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maria Beach
Maria Beach
#4 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#6 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Beach Hotel

Property: Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Address: 49 Agamemnonos, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kissamos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aphrodite Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APHRODITE BEACH HOTEL is located on the exquisite beach of Mavros Molos, in Kissamos, province of prefecture of Chania. APHRODITE BEACH HOTEL is located: • 800m from the town center • 800m from the Health Center • 50km from the Airport of Chania • 40km from the Port of Chania (Souda) • 1km from the Port of Kissamos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aphrodite Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodite Beach Hotel Crete/Kissamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing